We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Shelton

3.0 of 5 780 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Courtyard by Marriott Shelton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Shelton
Courtyard by Marriott Shelton
Courtyard by Marriott Shelton
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
10
2
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Brookfield, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my second time staying at this Courtyard Marriott, the first was for a wedding a few months ago and the most recent for Valentine's Day. We had a room with a king size bed and pull-out couch, bed was very comfortable and room decorated beautifully! I was able to get the weekend rate which was $89, not bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie B, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to share your experience about the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton. Our hotel prides itself on comfortable rooms and has all the amenities of a full service hotel for weekend guests like you to enjoy. We are addressing the ice machine that was not working during your... More 

Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 5 nights here while visiting family. There simply wasn't enough the staff could do for us during our stay. A blizzard came in and staff was outside cleaning cars, constantly cleaning walkways, etc. Many of them spent the night to be at work the day of the blizzard. Jenny at the Bistro was extremely attentive as were the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton and had time to visit your family. We will be sure to let our staff know all the nice compliments your gave them. We hope to see you again soon. Thank You! More 

Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I stay here 4 to 5 times a year. As a consultant I stay where my client books me. The Good : Very attractive lobby. The staff at any level is very professional and efficent. The Bad: The elevators are completly worn out. They take for ever and the inside is simply dirty/worn. The Ugly: The TV picture is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie B, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you stay with us 4 to 5 times a year and enjoyed our hotel décor. Our team here at the Courtyard is always here for our guests and here to take care of any requests as you mention. We do offer Starbucks coffee and although there is a cost, it enables us to offer a... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

The Good - Nice lobby, clean and large room The Bad - When I got to my room the thermostat was broken and the room was pumping A/C and was 59 degrees, they had to send a tech at 11:00 to fix both the thermostat and the wall unit The Ugly - Unfortunately this hotel failed at the only thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie B, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review

My sincere apologies for your recent experience. We have addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments and will be addressing the challenges that occurred during your stay. Our hope is that you give us another opportunity should you return to the area. We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity you have given us to resolve these issues for future guests.... More 

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Clean hotel, friendly, courteous, and helpful staff. The rooms are spacious and exactly what you would expect at any Marriott property. The only complaint I would have is the bath towels are cheap, worn and paper thin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review

We are glad to read you found our hotel clean and friendly during you stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton. Thank you for such a good review. More 

Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Had to be in the Trumbull area last week and instead of our usual stay at the Trumbull Marriott we chose the Courtyard since we were going to be out of our room all day.Big mistake. In the first 5 days our room was not cleaned twice. No clean towels ,beds not made, no toilet paper etc. No manager on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. The problems you mentioned were brought to the attention of our housekeeping department and have been addressed. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused. More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We were in town for my cousins wedding. The rooms actually look like the pictures on the website. They are updated with nice wallpaper and accents. Bathroom was clean and very nice and new. King bed was comfortable. Walking down the hall we heard a very loud tv and were worried because it was coming from the room next to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and hope to be seeing you again in the near future. More 

Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I visit Shelton on a semi-regular basis from Europe on business and always stay at this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and very spacious, you get HD TV channels and the beds are really comfortable and I very rarely have a poor nights sleep. The bar and restaurant / bistro are good with quick service and reasonably priced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review

Thank you for being a return visitor to our hotel the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton and for the nice comments about our staff. We look forward to your next visit and hope it is soon. More 

Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

In general for a one night stay, it's not bad. The recent up grade on furnishing gives a good look. But, the elevator appears to be about worn out, the TV picture is fuzzy and very grainey. The breakfast...it's "wait in line.. " for some dumb reason they discontinued the buffet and now have thus deli like bar. It's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of evaluating opportunities for improvement and appreciate your input! More 

NJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Had to go to Yale for a tournament, and this was the most reasonably price in the 20-30 min. radius. Nice lobby and room. Continental breakfast was included, but we didn't get to try that because we had to leave before 7am when breakfast starts. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton and thought we were reasonable price. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shelton

Address: 780 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shelton Hotel Shelton
Marriott Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
Shelton Courtyard
Shelton Marriott

33 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay