We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Summerstrand accommodations

Island Vibe Port Elizabeth

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   4 Jenvey Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Island Vibe Port Elizabeth to your Saves list
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
75%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Lijnos Utrecht
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
13
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our private room was very clean and spacious. Even a blow dryer was provided, a luxury when backpacking! The shower was great. We would like to thank Eve for perfectly arranging our stay and our transfer! When the taxi broke down and we were running a little late, she even called to make sure we were ok! The only downside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Good day!! Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed the luxury backpacking experience! We deeply apologize for the noise problem. We had to ask those guests to leave and stay in a different place, because we are in a residential area and try to keep the noise levels down. We are so sorry if they disturbed... More

Port elizabeth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Well what can I say.. We visited Addo elephant national park and we saw 6 male lions (yes I know I couldn't believe it either) dozens of herds of elephants, buffalo, zebra, warthogs and so many more! Fantastic reserve, with a great restaurant which is reasonably priced! But I don't think we would of had a brilliant day, without our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Good day! We are so glad that you had a good stay with us and had an awesome Addo experience!! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Island Vibe More

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The experience I had I mean still enjoying because I am not checked out yet, is the best. Back packing is the future especially if it's done the Island Vibes PE way. The lady at front desk (Eve) she is helpful, knowledgeable about the surrounding and very pleasant. I doubt anyone leave without being friends with her. Keep up the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Good day! We are so glad you had a good stay with us! We will pass on your praise to Eve and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Island Vibe More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spend there 4 nights at En suite room. The place is very nice and clean, Big kitchen with all the machines you might need, games room, jacussi and swiming pool. Staff was very nice and helpful. Five minutes walking to the beach and about 15 minutes to the nearest market(Pick'n'Pay).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Good day, Shai! Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Island Vibe More

München, Deutschland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We just stay one night at the Island Vibe Backpackers after a flight from Durban . Backpacker is close by the airport and close by the Beach in a nice and save area . Staff was very friendly , backpacker was clean and cool with the Whirlpool and the Big Pool outside in the Garden . Everything was good and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Good day! Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed the Jacuzzi and swimming pool, and that our staff treated you well. See you again soon! Kind regards, Island Vibe More

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Enjoyed my stay here a lot and the staff were really nice and helpful in booking me on the addo trip at the last minute! Very clean and spacious with a big pool and snooker table as well as dstv which enabled me to watch the football in the evening. Would reccomend to anyone staying in port elizabeth

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Hi Chris We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Island Vibe in Port Elizabeth and Jeffreys Bay! We hope the Addo trip was great. See you again soon. Kind regards, Island Vibe More

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I REALLY don't want to leave This place but i have to GREAT location in a very nice neighborhood, 3 minutes walk from the sand dunes esplanade along the beach front. Very specious and clean place. Nice Jacuzzi area to relax the sore muscles, of long hours sitting in a car. Beautiful big swimming pool in a very nice back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Hi Yoshi! Thank you for your review! We are sorry you had to leave, but the jacuzzi and swimming pool await your return! Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Island Vibe More

Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were looking to spend the night in Port Elizabeth as we traveled on to Addo. This property suited our needs exactly. The location was quiet and private, the facilities are quite spacious and the kitchen area is large enough for several people to work in the space without being on top of each other. The children loved the pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Good day! Thank you for your valuable review! We are glad your family enjoyed their stay - it is a great location for people wanting to visit Addo. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Island Vibe More

Durban, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in a private ensuite room with a double bed. Room was hot and only a noisy, portable fan provided. Our room was near reception & tv area, and was therefore noisy. Insufficient parking, therefore our car was parked in when we wanted to leave at 7am. Toilet was filthy! Otherwise room was clean, hot shower & good sleep.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Good day, Sharnay! We apologise for you being parked in - unfortunately our secure parking gets full during peak season. We have spoken to the cleaning staff and provided a check list to ensure the bathrooms stay clean at all times. We are also putting ceiling fans in all our rooms to combat the heat - we are so sorry... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We, 4 german volunteers, had a really good time at the island vibe. The staff is amazing. Especially Eve was incredibly helpful, caring and nice. She did everything she could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. When i got sick, she rebooked all our tours at addo and scotchia and really cared for me. We must say that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Good day! Thank you for your special review! Eve is a great employee and we value her very much! We hope you will come back to visit her (and stay with us) again soon! Kind regards, Island Vibe More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Island Vibe Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Port Elizabeth

Address: 4 Jenvey Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Vibe Port Elizabeth 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Island Vibe Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Summerstrand with
any amenities