We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Summerstrand B&Bs / inns

Algoa Guest House

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   87 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Algoa Guest House to your Saves list
Algoa Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
97%
Ranked #5 of 37 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Elevelyn Monterey, CA
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
26
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely stay at Algoa. Not only was the room clean and comfortable, but the grounds were charming. When our arrival was delayed not only did the owner wait for us, but called when we were 10 minuets later than we had expected to ensure we hadn't run into trouble. The owner was more than happy to chat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review! It was only a pleasure to host you, Matt and your little one. It was a pity that you could not stay for longer! Jessica would have certainly said "woof please woof"! Hopefully you will come to visit us again one day. Until then, I hope your journey through Africa is going to... More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Service at the Guesthouse was awesome. We arrived late and the owner was still there to greet us. The room was spacious and all the amenities required were there. The only problem I had was that I did not book a longer stay with them. I would highly recommend this place to travelers and would go there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sheldon, Thank you for writing your great review. I am really sorry that you did not get to stay longer in PE, I really enjoyed our chats and your interest in the South African way of life. I hope that you will come past Algoa Guest House again some day and that you will chose to stay for a... More

Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a short but lovely stay at Algoa, with their warm hospitality you are sure to enjoy your stay. Our family room 2 single beds and 1 king, was perfect for us. Breakfast the following morning was delicious!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! We were glad to have you staying at AGH. Hopefully you will be able to stay for a longer visit next time - then you can experience more of the good things that PE has to offer! Kind regards, Lisa and Roger More

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

A lovely quiet, neat & well located guesthouse with very great service... They are very accommodating and even though I arrived a lot earlier than expected, I was welcomed with open arms. Will definitely be staying here again and recommend to anyone coming to PE for business or holiday!!! Thank you Lisa :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Cacia, We really enjoyed having you and Shireen staying with us - you were lots of fun! Thanks for your great review - we always appreciate positive feedback! We look forward to your future visits! Kind regards, Lisa, Roger & Jessie xxx More

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our room was lovely and extremely comfortable. Had a very relaxing bath too! We had a very welcoming arrival and were sad that we were only there for one night. Easy, quick walk to the beach and restaurants. One unfortunate thing was that next door were quite noisy very early in the morning but this cannot be helped and therefore... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Kind regards Lisa & Roger More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

What a lovely and comfortable room-well appointed with outside barbeque area-friendly and great hosts . Thus guesthouse is well situated within easy range of shops and RestaUrants. I rate them high wand will recommend to all trasvellers

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Kobus, Thank you for choosing to stay at AGH - we were really glad that we were able to accommodate you. Thank you for your great feedback - it is always so nice to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay! We look forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Lisa and Roger More

Midrand, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent accommodation, very clean facilities, great breakfast, excellent service from Roger and Lisa. The establishment is very close to the beach, great value for money. I recommend this accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for you Awesome review! We really appreciate getting such positive feedback! Until next time, Kind regards, Lisa and Roger More

Knysna, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I booked in with my girlfriend for a surprise evening for her birthday. I asked Lisa if she wouldn't mind putting a bottle of Champagne in the room for me for when we arrived. Not only was there champagne, but strawberries, red roses and chocolates too. We had a lovely evening, got a great recommendation from Roger on where to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thank you very much for giving us such a great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Lisa and Roger More

Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very good place.. room 4 "kitchenette" no hot water power point not working. We enjoyed the breakfast good value for money. Would certainly recommend it to family and friends. We enjoyed the serenity and secure parking

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for sending us your review. As we strive for excellence in everything we can offer as a 3 star bed and breakfast we appreciate instant feedback of any "problematic" issues that may arise from time to time. The "sticky tap" you were kind enough to point out in your review has since been resolved. More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lovely place to stay. Service was excellent, close to the beach and all amenities. We were made to feel at home. We will definately be back as well as recommend Aloga Guest House to our family, friends and colleagues. Chantal & Marc

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Chantal & Marc, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Hopefully you can stay longer next time! See you then! Kind regards, Roger & Lisa More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Algoa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Algoa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoa Guest House

Address: 87 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Algoa Guest House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Algoa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoa Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Summerstrand with
any amenities