We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Summerstrand B&Bs / inns

Algoa Guest House

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   87 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Algoa Guest House to your Saves list
Algoa Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
96%
Ranked #6 of 37 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Annaindoha Doha, Qatar
  • Overview
  • Reviews (67)
  • Photos (33)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
26
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a short but lovely stay at Algoa, with their warm hospitality you are sure to enjoy your stay. Our family room 2 single beds and 1 king, was perfect for us. Breakfast the following morning was delicious!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely quiet, neat & well located guesthouse with very great service... They are very accommodating and even though I arrived a lot earlier than expected, I was welcomed with open arms. Will definitely be staying here again and recommend to anyone coming to PE for business or holiday!!! Thank you Lisa :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Cacia, We really enjoyed having you and Shireen staying with us - you were lots of fun! Thanks for your great review - we always appreciate positive feedback! We look forward to your future visits! Kind regards, Lisa, Roger & Jessie xxx More

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was lovely and extremely comfortable. Had a very relaxing bath too! We had a very welcoming arrival and were sad that we were only there for one night. Easy, quick walk to the beach and restaurants. One unfortunate thing was that next door were quite noisy very early in the morning but this cannot be helped and therefore... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Kind regards Lisa & Roger More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely and comfortable room-well appointed with outside barbeque area-friendly and great hosts . Thus guesthouse is well situated within easy range of shops and RestaUrants. I rate them high wand will recommend to all trasvellers

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Kobus, Thank you for choosing to stay at AGH - we were really glad that we were able to accommodate you. Thank you for your great feedback - it is always so nice to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay! We look forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Lisa and Roger More

Midrand, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent accommodation, very clean facilities, great breakfast, excellent service from Roger and Lisa. The establishment is very close to the beach, great value for money. I recommend this accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for you Awesome review! We really appreciate getting such positive feedback! Until next time, Kind regards, Lisa and Roger More

Knysna, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked in with my girlfriend for a surprise evening for her birthday. I asked Lisa if she wouldn't mind putting a bottle of Champagne in the room for me for when we arrived. Not only was there champagne, but strawberries, red roses and chocolates too. We had a lovely evening, got a great recommendation from Roger on where to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thank you very much for giving us such a great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Lisa and Roger More

Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very good place.. room 4 "kitchenette" no hot water power point not working. We enjoyed the breakfast good value for money. Would certainly recommend it to family and friends. We enjoyed the serenity and secure parking

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for sending us your review. As we strive for excellence in everything we can offer as a 3 star bed and breakfast we appreciate instant feedback of any "problematic" issues that may arise from time to time. The "sticky tap" you were kind enough to point out in your review has since been resolved. More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lovely place to stay. Service was excellent, close to the beach and all amenities. We were made to feel at home. We will definately be back as well as recommend Aloga Guest House to our family, friends and colleagues. Chantal & Marc

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Chantal & Marc, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Hopefully you can stay longer next time! See you then! Kind regards, Roger & Lisa More

Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

well run and efficient. would be ideal for family or business as they cater for all. owners are a great help when it comes to planning for day trips around the town and always willing to offer value added services as required.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Grant, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We always appreciate positive feedback! Until next time! kind regards, Roger and Lisa More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

wonderful place, I'll definitely return on my next break, quiet and private, lovely and understanding patrons and had a lovely breakfast. Rooms were just about perfect and had secure parking, close enough to the beach one could walk

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Themba, We enjoyed having you and your family staying with us - and we are glad that you chose to come back for a 2nd night at such short notice! Now that you have discovered how great Port Elizabeth is, we look forward to your future visits! Kind regards, Lisa & Roger More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Algoa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Algoa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoa Guest House

Address: 87 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Algoa Guest House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Algoa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoa Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Summerstrand with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Algoa Guesthouse is an owner managed 3 star bed and breakfast in Summerstrand Port Elizabeth. If you are here to enjoy all the attractions of our Friendly City or are about to embark on a journey along the beautiful Garden Route, holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy a comfortable stay at this guest house in Port Elizabeth.Algoa B&B offers comfortable, clean and semi self-catering rooms (microwave, bar fridge, tea/coffee making facilities) with air conditioners, flat screen TV's with a selection of satellite channels and Free Wi-Fi. Enjoy a healthy or a full English breakfast in the quaint dining- room which overlooks the swimming pool and attractive garden.This child friendly accommodation is only a mere 200 metre stroll to the beachfront of Pollock Beach. Experience the warm waters of Nelson Mandela Bay (Algoa Bay)at one of beaches (Pollock Beach, Hobie Beach or one of our Blue Flag beaches (Humewood Beach & Kings Beach) which is also a popular destination to swim or surf or to go scuba diving with the dolphins at one of the estimated 400 ship wreckages.Algoa Guest House is ideally positioned in Port Elizabeth to act as your base to experience the Eastern Cape. Grahamstown, Sardinia Bay, Jeffreys Bay and Addo Elephant Park are less than an hour's drive away. Alternatively go and explore the rich cultural heritage of our city centre (do the Donkin Trail). Pack your clubs and enjoy a round of golf at the Humewood Links Golf Course which is only 1,5km's away. The North and South Campus of Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University is also only 1,5km's away. There are several popular restaurants within a 2 km radius from this Algoa Bay bed and breakfast and the Boardwalk Casino is also just 2km's away.Port Elizabeth Airport is just a 10 minutes' drive from Algoa and airport transfers can be organised on your behalf.Secure off street parking is provided for your vehicle behind remote controlled gates. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Algoa Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer