We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brighton Lodge Guest House

21 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Brighton Lodge Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
17
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love the personal touch, excellent service, very good presentation of breakfast. Friendly staff. The only challenge is that I come to south Africa for work and the internet service needs to be greatly improved. If you are coming for fun and don't need the internet then A+

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
East London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I had a good stay at Brighton lodge in Port Elizabeth, the only problem I experienced was the none availability of the basic tv channels, which was a bit disappointing for me, but my overall stay was good none the less.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ashmat, Manager at Brighton Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review for Brighton Lodge, it is much appreciated. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay at the Lodge and apologise for the inconvenience of not having the local 3 channels available due to a faulty main aerial. Bad weather during the previous night had damaged our main aerial and... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

As usual all was good and comfortable. I did not enjoy the night manager and would definitely deter me from returning. Everything was an argument and she has a no can do attitude (like not being able to do plunger coffee at breakfast).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ashmat, Owner at Brighton Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good Day , Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear that a staff member let us down. We strive to deliver outstanding service at all times, and it appears from other TripAdvisor reviews that we are largely successful. However, we realize that lapses can occur and we thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. The... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I had never been to Port Elizabeth before and had no personal recommendations and so I found a guest house (always a good idea in South Africa) and I could not have been luckier. The rooms are wonderful, comfortable, generous with everything you could need and the staff cannot do enough for you. A short stroll from the beach and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ashmat, Manager at Brighton Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Greetings from Brighton Lodge! Thank you for your travelers review. We appreciate the kind words and will endeavor to keep up the good work. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brighton Lodge on your next visit to South Africa & Port Elizabeth . Warm Regards Claudette More 

Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We were attending a funeral in PE and were looking for anything but a hotel. We found Brighton Lodge ideal for business and holidays. Close to airport, beach and restaurants. Private, quiet, very neat and excellent service. Spacious rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ashmat, Manager at Brighton Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good Morning , Many thanks for the review. We appreciate your feedback and kind words. I am glad that we could make your stay as comfortable as possible and I hope to welcome you back to Brighton Lodge on your next visit to Port Elizabeth. Looking forward to seeing you again , Warm Regards Claudette More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

I have stayed in this lodge a number of times now and never been disappointed. The staff are very friendly and service orientated. The rooms are large and clean and the area is quiet. Breakfast is included and is very hearty. I would recommend this whenever you visit PE.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bonn, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We arrived at the lodge after a long flight from Europe. The stay was Relaxing, wonderful, all proper, spacy room with private terrace , good kingsize bed, very good Restaurant in walking distance .Delicious breakfast, nice pool, all green in the garden around and proper.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ashmat, Manager at Brighton Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good Afternoon , Thank you for taking the time to write this delightful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that the rest of your journey along the Garden Route was just as relaxing and enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back to Brighton lodge on your next visit to South Africa.... More 

Amanzimtoti, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

An exelent place to stay. Deserves 5 stars. Staff attentive without being a nusance. Forgot an expensive cellphone on the breakfast table and the staff put it safely away untill my return much later that day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ashmat, Manager at Brighton Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good Afternoon , Greetings from Brighton Lodge! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Brighton Lodge and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Just remember that we are only a phone call away if you are looking for accommodation in Port Elizabeth. Warm Regards Claudette More 

Durbanville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

From the owner down to maintenance. ....The staff are amazing and make you feel like old friends. Rooms are luxurious and those big pillows and fluffy towels.....pure indulgence. The stocked up snack bar and bar fridge is a definate + I will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

All went well. Room quality and space were very good. Lack of bathroom door was annoying. Also, the internet connection in the room was not reliable and often extremely weak. A real pain. This must be addressed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ashmat, Manager at Brighton Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, it was a pleasure accommodating you at Brighton Lodge. The safety glass door for the bathroom has arrived from Cape Town and we are also addressing the problem with the WiFi internet connection . We look forward to your next visit, Warm Regards Claudette More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#1 of 11 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#4 of 11 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 40 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Africa Beach Bed and Breakfast
Africa Beach Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 40 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay