We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Niantic / East Lyme

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
256 Flanders Road, Niantic, CT 06357
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn - Niantic \/ East Lyme
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    1
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
2
5
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I booked this room through a booking site, and I understood the rating was low but I was not expecting what I waled into. The hotel was disgusting. Upon checking in, the exterior was run down, I was able to check in with no problems, the owners seemed to be training their young son on the business, which was fine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alpineinn-vt, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn - Niantic / East Lyme, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. I’m very sorry we couldn’t meet your needs or expectations. We take great pride in being a pleasant, friendly and accommodating place to stay, and we obviously let you down. I apologize for any booking and refund confusion caused by your third-party booking site. We always recommend booking directly with us because booking through... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

I can safely say this is the worst, dirtiest place I've ever stayed...EVER. 2 of the 3 lamps in the room didn't work, nor did the TV, but that was livable. The ceiling had major water damage to include about 30-40 sq ft of stains plus what looked like rusty debris hanging down between ceiling panels. Luckily that was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alpineinn-vt, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn - Niantic / East Lyme, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re always working to make the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Niantic hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

I was actually very pleased with this travel experience finding my accommodations to be very clean and comfortable. Upon chec-in, management was very pleasant/personable and the process was short to complete. The room as I request was non-smoking (due to health issues) and looked to be newly renovated, inclusive of bathroom fixtures. No smoke smell was detected and the linens... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Had to stay here, as our car broke down on our way to NYC. When we were checking in, we explained our situation, and said that 2 of us would be leaving around 10pm to try and catch a train into the city, so we only needed a room for 2 (4 of us total). We were told this wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alpineinn-vt, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn - Niantic / East Lyme, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I apologize that you experienced a lapse in our usually excellent customer service and that there were some misunderstandings about the rules at our hotel. Nothing means more to us than a pleasant guest experience, and I’m sincerely sorry that you had a bad experience. Still, if you have car trouble in this area... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I were going to a concert at foxwoods & didn't want to drive back home after so we looked around the area for a decent hotel at avoid rate, since we weren't actually going to use the room other than to change & sleep, we found a Hilton for $144, motel 6 for $69/person & this one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alpineinn-vt, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn - Niantic / East Lyme, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you found the pleasant experience for which you were looking at our clean, comfortable hotel. I apologize for the small issue involving the clogged since and for any confusion regarding the checkout time. When you visit Foxwoods again, I hope you will always make us your accommodations of choice. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More 

Merrimac, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Been trying to get my money refunded from the worse motel experience of my life. I went down to Niantic from Massachusetts to have an anniversary weekend with my boyfriend and it was ruined. We didn't even stay at this place and they won't refund me. Okay here's some of the reasons why I recommend you DONT ever stay there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
alpineinn-vt, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn - Niantic / East Lyme, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed and thorough comments, which will help us in the future. If there is an unresolved billing issue, please contact me directly for a prompt solution. We insist that every guest be completely satisfied. I’m terribly sorry that we failed you in this case. Nothing means more to me than a pleasant experience for... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

this place was the greatest so far..beautiful clean bath tubs and toilets and bed has 3 sets of covers for the price you cant beat it.smoking rooms are not destroyed.and parking was right in front of my door and local store was right across the parking lot,,best yet was its right off the highway and casino is 20 min drive..will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

First we got there at 2 like my reservation said check in was and the room was not ready. I was told it would be another 45 mins to an hour. So I went to visit family. We came back around 10:30 and were told that the hot water heater was broken and we would have no hot water until... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
alpineinn-vt, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn - Niantic / East Lyme, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the feedback. I’m sorry that you visited when there was an unfortunate system failure that impacted the hot water. As you said, we compensated you and other guests with a partial refund, resolving this issue for you. We’re involved in a continuous improvement process and will use your other comments as we change and improve. I... More 

Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

First off, the room was FREEZING when I first walked in. The heater was off, even though it was about 10 degrees outside with a pending snowstorm on its way. It took a while for the heat to permeate the room after I turned it on. The room was clean enough, but the amenities were bare-bones. No closet or coat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alpineinn-vt, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn - Niantic / East Lyme, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments about our hotel. I’m sorry that our efforts to conserve energy in unused rooms resulted in your room being cold when you entered. Making sure we use natural resources responsibility involves compromises. We apologize for the inconvenience. We strive to offer a great combination of value and convenience at a price that anyone can... More 

West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My stay was well worth the $39.99 per night. I was comfortable and safe. There were some cleaninless issues, however the management acknowledged those issues and fixed them. For the money I spent, this was well worth the stay. I will come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niantic
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
2.6 mi away
Niantic Inn
Niantic Inn
#3 of 8 in Niantic
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Waterford
Rodeway Inn Waterford
#3 of 5 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#3 of 5 in New London
3.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay