We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Newington

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2553 Berlin Turnpike, Newington, CT 06111
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Newington
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
28
6
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Southport CT
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff at this hotel is outstanding. The pool was a welcome surprise for a last minute booking. The kids couldn't stop talking about the fabulous breakfast buffet. and the cookies in the lobby! Our room 214 was quiet and calm, well appointed with hard and soft pillows: something for everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We stayed here in the beginning of January as we were in town for a funeral. Everyone here was so kind and helpful. What an amazing staff. The pool area was nice but would love a hot tub. Would also have loved a bar area as there is not a ton within walking distance. However, I highly recommend this hotel!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Both morning and evening staff were great. Disappointed there was no hot tub in the pool area but other than that the gym and breakfast options were great. My only complaint is that the wifi was extremely poor. I work from my room often and the wireless connection limited my ability to work significantly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason B, Management Team at Holiday Inn Express Newington, responded to this review

Hello tina91, Thank you for your feedback! We are glad your stay was pleasant and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Due to a snow storm, we had to stay at HIE, to be near to the doctor's office, for the next day's appointment. We were given a quiet, clean room, with good temp control, near the rear of the building. They do give a AAA discount, as well. I'd forgotten that I could have had a swim in the pool,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason B, The Management t at Holiday Inn Express Newington, responded to this review

Hi 275edwardl, We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us- feedback is always appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We booked 2 rooms while visiting family over the Christmas Holidays there were 5 of us, my mother-in-law, my 2 kids, my husband and I. We left our rooms at 9:50 AM after a lovely breakfast to spend the day with family. Upon returning at 9:00 PM we found nothing had been done to the rooms. Very odd my husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newington, responded to this review

Dear Marie1961717; Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I apologize that your experience wasn't up your expectations of the Holiday Inn Express brand regarding our Housekeeping Service. Our hotel policy when there are rooms with the Do Not Disturb sign on the room door is that the Housekeeper notes that on their daily... More 

Milton, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I stayed at the HIE Newington for 3 nights during Thanksgiving while visiting family. I had to change plans due to a pending snow storm. I called the front desk and Cassandra (with a C), the front desk manager, was super accommodating to my coming a day earlier. Thank you. Having arrived at 2am, I had to get my "beauty"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

After a last minute change to my business trip to the area, we decided to stay at the HIE Newington. It ended up being a very good choice. The front desk staff was friendly, and when I got to the room, only to find the latch was locked, they got someone to the room right away to get me in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forked River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Stayed at this location the weekend of Nov 15th.,while visiting family. The staff, especially Cassandra at the front desk, were friendly and accommodating. We asked for and received an early check-in due to scheduling of a family event. The hotel is well located near restaurants etc, and easy to find. The room was well appointed and comfortable. Not up to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We recently stayed at this HI Express while catching a show in Hartford. Very nice property with an excellent and friendly staff. Breakfast was great and the breakfast room staff was friendly and helpful also. My only complaint--inadequate lighting in the bedroom and bathroom. We would stay again if we're in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I was not impressed with this hotels staff although I have stayed at an array of holiday Inns and never had an issue...I was gutting out of the shower and housekeeping had walked in the room without knocking it was 9 am checkout is 11..However the hotel was clean and the breakfast was good..front desk was less then helpful with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newington, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Tabitha, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, and I am truly sorry that you and your family experienced a not so pleasant stay while with us. I can assure you that's not how our employees are trained to act while working at our property. This will be used as a training exercise for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question