We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Newington

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2553 Berlin Turnpike, Newington, CT 06111
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Newington
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    24
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
7
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Akron, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was clean and nice. Beds were very comfortable and air conditioner worked great. Despite being a busier weekend for the hotel, our room was nice and quiet- we weren't disturbed by the other customers whatsoever. Staff was very friendly, knowledgable, and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was pretty good, a nice selection, and the pancake maker was cool. All day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

If there is a need to travel north to NYC, this off road hotel can serve beautifully your requirement to cut the travel to intervals. The facility is quite old, it can be observed from the condition of the carpets at the corridors. The room is big enough to accommodate another person (we took a king size bed room). One... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

We stayed for about a week, and loved it here. The room we had was clean and the front desk and housekeeping employees were really nice and helpful. The linens were really nice. The hotel provided us with a crib for our child. We liked that it was an actual crib and not a pack-n-play like some other hotels provide.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

Very clean, well maintained property, tastefully decorated. Only about 10 minutes to downtown Hartford with several restaurants very nearby. Large guest rooms with high quality furnishings and large comfortable beds. Decent fitness center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

This hotel is very clean and well maintained. The only thing I found that I would change is the one young man at the front desk should be more informed about what the town has to offer for sight seeing and restaurant choices. He said there were gaming places and fast food around the area. The next day and rest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southport CT
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

The staff at this hotel is outstanding. The pool was a welcome surprise for a last minute booking. The kids couldn't stop talking about the fabulous breakfast buffet. and the cookies in the lobby! Our room 214 was quiet and calm, well appointed with hard and soft pillows: something for everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We stayed here in the beginning of January as we were in town for a funeral. Everyone here was so kind and helpful. What an amazing staff. The pool area was nice but would love a hot tub. Would also have loved a bar area as there is not a ton within walking distance. However, I highly recommend this hotel!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Both morning and evening staff were great. Disappointed there was no hot tub in the pool area but other than that the gym and breakfast options were great. My only complaint is that the wifi was extremely poor. I work from my room often and the wireless connection limited my ability to work significantly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason B, Management Team at Holiday Inn Express Newington, responded to this review

Hello tina91, Thank you for your feedback! We are glad your stay was pleasant and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Due to a snow storm, we had to stay at HIE, to be near to the doctor's office, for the next day's appointment. We were given a quiet, clean room, with good temp control, near the rear of the building. They do give a AAA discount, as well. I'd forgotten that I could have had a swim in the pool,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason B, The Management t at Holiday Inn Express Newington, responded to this review

Hi 275edwardl, We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us- feedback is always appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We booked 2 rooms while visiting family over the Christmas Holidays there were 5 of us, my mother-in-law, my 2 kids, my husband and I. We left our rooms at 9:50 AM after a lovely breakfast to spend the day with family. Upon returning at 9:00 PM we found nothing had been done to the rooms. Very odd my husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newington, responded to this review

Dear Marie1961717; Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I apologize that your experience wasn't up your expectations of the Holiday Inn Express brand regarding our Housekeeping Service. Our hotel policy when there are rooms with the Do Not Disturb sign on the room door is that the Housekeeper notes that on their daily... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay