We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
269 N Frontage Rd, New London, CT 06320 (Formerly Holiday Inn New London)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarion Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bozrah, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

From the Start my girlfriend and myself were greeted by Mike the manager. He was super helpful and his personality was upmost prof. and caring. The place has just been gone thru and is looking great. I grew up in area and its nice to see it back to where it was years ago. There was a fountain in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words Frank. I am so happy to hear that you have noticed all of the positive changes we are doing to the property and we are so excited for the changes still to come. We look forward to seeing you two again on your next visit. More 

Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

My girlfriend and I have stayed here a number of times. The hotel was remodeled recently and looks nice. While you may not get the amenities and comforts of some of the higher star hotels, it gets the job done well for a budget hotel. It's definitely recommended if you're going to the casino for a night. The shuttle to... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidm1223
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you noticed all of our new upgrades and renovations. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to town, More 

Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

I have read hundreds of reviews about the clarion inn at this particular location my girl and I stayed an overnight at this location I read all the reviews and I was skeptical on staying there but there was one review saying that they were renovating so I said to myself how bad could it be so we decided to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hjnoonan
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile

The place is a working improvement, looking great. Quite and close to everything one needs. Right off 95 so not hard to locate. Check it out for yourself. As for negative reviews by others, I saw no problems or issues with security and the management was always helpful.

Helpful?
Thank NLCT75
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you have noticed all of the hard work we have been doing during our renovation process. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to town so we can show off our finished product and hard work More 

Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
244 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

We booked this because it was close to the beach and things we wanted to do and also had a pool. They should have posted on web site pool was closed for construction since it was summer. The poor girl doing the breakfast the first day was alone and over whelmed. Someone called in sick and nothing was prepared, ran... More 

Helpful?
Thank IBJosey
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us over the summer. We are very sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations. Our pool was closed for a short amount of time over the summer for some minor renovations, and all websites were notified in advance and placed it on their websites. We have also upgraded our... More 

libertyville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

We were greeted by a young man, acting very professionally but wearing a hoodie. The room was fine until we turned on the A/C which filled the room with odor of urine. The bath had toothpaste spit spots on the mirror. The second day, there was hair left on the bathroom floor and toothpaste spit on the mirror from a... More 

Helpful?
Thank larksmit
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet all of your expectations while you were here. I will be speaking with the housekeeping supervisor to see what happened with the room and why there were no towels delivered. We do also have towels available at... More 

Travelers are raving about these New London hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

The stay started with the receptionist loosing our reservation and not even being able to log into her computer. We had to wait over 20 minutes to get a room at 12:30 in the morning! Not to mention we called earlier in the day and said we would be there at 12:30am! The beds will give you back problems. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barby A
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. All of us here are very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. We are aware of some peeling wallpaper and torn curtains around the building which is why we are in the process of renovating all 140 of our guestrooms as well as the entire... More 

Wethersfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015

Awful experience, sticky and stinky carpet, patched walls, disfigure mattress, wrinkled sheets, some TV channels do not work in the old TV Very poor security in the assigned building and parking lot. Wifi do not work.Way overprice

Helpful?
Thank Miguel A B
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. All of us here are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We recently just bought the property and the end of July and are currently in the process of renovating our entire hotel both inside and out. We hope that you... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

Old, smelly, tv from the 1980's, terrible beds, breakfast, what breakfast pastries old, dispenser for belgum waffles empty, no eggs (was told would be a hour for more) coffee bad. When I approached person taking care of breakfast she could care less (I think she was not able to do any thing, this is just the way in is every... More 

Helpful?
Thank dennis a
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. As I mentioned to you while you were here, our entire hotel is in the process of being remodeled, which means replacing the old T.V's, removing dated wallpaper, etc... All renovations should be complete within the next month. Thank You' Michael Casey General Manager More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

When we searched the internet we put in AAA and when we arrived we were not given our 10%. Needless to say we asked 4 times and never did receive our discount. Very disappointing. However, even though under remodel our room was quite nice, clean and well stocked. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was not that great, and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jacygem
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn New London
Holiday Inn New London
#1 of 5 in New London
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
7.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Mystic Waterford
8.0 mi away
Cristata Inn
Cristata Inn
#4 of 4 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay