We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
269 N Frontage Rd, New London, CT 06320 (Formerly Holiday Inn New London)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    45
    58
    30
    35
See reviews for
52
67
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (186)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Don't do business with this hotel. They charged me for a room months before I checked in, told me that was impossible when I called, then lied about putting the money back on my card. They blamed "new management", and it took me calling multiple times before I finally received my refund. Was considering just staying there anyway, but then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My hotel room was pre-paid so the gentleman who checked us in was pretty fast. The room was a little smaller than expected but it did the job. It was clean, had enough supplies and the bed was comfortable. We had a smoking room and you couldn't even tell. It was about 20 minutes from our destination of Foxwoods and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and we were able to provide you with a relaxing time. Next time you are in town, maybe try Mohegan and take advantage of our free shuttle back and forth. More 

Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

hotel slightly hard to find. check in was quick and easy. chris at the front desk was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable and fixed a rate issue we had. He was a key highlight as was tracey who worked at night. pool was closed which was slightly dissappointing however it was close to the beach so that wasnt too bad. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, and thank you for your kind words regarding Chris and Tracey. I will definitely pass those along. I do apologize however about our pool not being available as I know how important this amenity is to our guests. However due to safty reasons we did have to... More 

Shanghai
Level Contributor
94 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall a reasonable basic hotel. Check-In was simple and fast. The rooms were large yet the cleanliness could be better. The view from the window was basically a wall standing about a yard distant from the window. Breakfast was not much to talk about, the typical kind of unhealthy breakfast provided in such places. Missing was a cart to bring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am currently looking into possibly dealing with another food vendor in order to offer a better quality of breakfast items to our guests. I am also in the process of retraining our housekeeping staff in order to prevent any issues in the future. We look forward... More 

Travelers are raving about these New London hotels

NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Computer problems...check in took more than 1/2 hour. Toilet not working...man with no tools came to fix it...and it stayed fixed for about a half an hour. Got ready for the pool...pool out of order. Rooms were musty smelling. No elevator. We left and stayed down the road at another hotel without all these problems for less than the Clarion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Hello CB We are sorry we did not meet your expectations while you were here. Unfortunately the computer issue was out of our hands as it was a nationwide outage with our main network. We are also under new management and ownership as of couple weeks ago and are working very hard to fix some of the problem you have... More 

Mantua, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You basically trip over the driveway to get into the facility. It is a weird exit off of I-95. It is not labeled well once you get off the exit. They decided in the middle of August to change their pool over from chlorine to salt and didn't notify anyone. The rooms were nice and clean and had the usual... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Hello Henry H Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and our staff. We are now under new ownership and management as of a couple of weeks ago and are currently in the process of making many changes to the property. We are... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is originally from 2013, the site won't let me go back that far Wow! What a difference a few months makes. I just came back from this place (spent the new year at the Casinos up there) and my experience couldn't have been more different. From the time we checked in, we were laughing and joking around with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
127 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If price is the only criteria this might work but you can probably do better elsewhere. First, it's awkwardly located off 95 on a one way service road. Second, it is in need of an almost complete update. Our room had that musty smell. When was the last time you saw one of those 200 pound, 2 foot deep televisions.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay at the Clarion Inn. The only comment I have is that in my room, I could not close the drapes for privacy. Otherwise, it was a nice stay. I would recommend this to a friend. I would most definitely come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. I will see what we can do about possibly ordering... More 

Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was just ok. Great location to Mystic- 15 minute drive Lobby lovely Room ok- bathroom ok- linens decent Nice chairs, desk, and refrigerator Only 1 garbage can Pool- disappointing Parking - need more so this hotel was filled... need to trim trees to open more spaces Breakfast - decent... selection of breads. Bagel, English muffins, and prewrapped Hostess pastries.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn New London
Holiday Inn New London
#1 of 5 in New London
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Mystic Waterford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay