We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tidewater Inn

Hotel website
949 Boston Post Road, Madison, CT 06443
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tidewater Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Tidewater Inn is an old-fashioned, cozy, inviting inn. We were there for two nights just before Christmas. A beautiful tree was up with a fun game to try to find certain ornaments amidst the myriad of loved and special ones that covered the tree. Wine was served in front of a fire in the dining room. Chocolates filled bowls... More 

Helpful?
Thank jclperipatetic47
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

We recently spent two nights in the Madison suite, which we highly recommend. Lots of lovely details like monogrammed sheets, a Tidewater Inn brochure in the room, and innkeeper's "Happy Hour" each evening. Victoria is hospitable and knowledgeable of the area and loves to share her knowledge with guests and to help guests get acquainted. Breakfast the first morning was... More 

Helpful?
Thank neroseepa
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

The Madison suite is definitely a favorite here, so it's great to see you had a wonderful time. I'm already looking forward to hosting you next time. Thanks again for this great review! Best, Victoria More 

NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a far-too-short overnight stay in Madison on the way home from a weekend in the Berkshires. Madison is a really neat little area and Tidewater is a short walk from downtown and the water…great location. Some of the furnishings, carpeting, etc. shows some wear or are dated, but when you're staying at a B&B, you... More 

Helpful?
Thank shorenuff
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

This absolutely made my day to read -- thank you! It's so great to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked everything from the breakfast to the four-poster king bed to the town itself. I certainly do hope you'll be back soon! Until then, Victoria More 

charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

First off, just to be straight with all - I do not like staying at B&B. I have never had a good experience with one. They are like having to stay at your grandma's, but grandma isn't there, and they gave you the worst room. Ok. I had to stay here because every hotel near Yale was sold out, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

Eddie, I know not everyone will love the B&B style, but you can bet we'll always do our best to make sure everyone has a great stay! Don't hesitate to reach out to any staff member if we can improve your stay in any way. Hope you had safe travels home. Best, Victoria More 

Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

We were staying here for a friends wedding that was in the area. The out of towners for the wedding were all staying here so it was very fun! The Inn itself is a bit dated but this was my first experience with a place of this type. The grounds were beautiful and the food for breakfast was incredible. the... More 

Helpful?
Thank crouellette
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a great time at the wedding, and I'm glad we had a chance to host you for your first ever B&B experience, too! Comfort and deliciousness are our hallmarks. All our staff work hard to keep Tidewater Inn clean and welcoming to every guest who walks through the door. I hope we have the chance... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

My company put 8-9 of us up here instead of getting hotel rooms during a company meeting. I wish that our stay was longer and that we had more time to check the place out. The only thing that was a negative was the noise from the road early in the morning. Partly my fault, I had purposely left the... More 

Helpful?
Thank traveling_fiber_guy
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

I'm very glad that you enjoyed your stay, though it was short! I'd love to welcome you back -- Madison is a town worth exploring. :) 'Til next time, Victoria More 

Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

My wife and I were visiting family nearby and stayed for two nights. Our night was comfortable but a problem in the room above us interrupted our sleep and, the very next thing in the morning, Victoria fixed everything! Attentive and helpful barely begin to describe the treatment we received. Breakfast the first day was Gran Marnier french toast... so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

Paul, this was so wonderful to read! I love knowing that you enjoyed your stay so much, from breakfast to the grounds. I can't wait to welcome you back when you're next visiting Madison. 'Til then, take good care, Victoria More 

New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

My husband and I spent one night here and would return again. The inn keeper/owner, Victoria greeted us upon arrival and invited us in for a glass of wine and cheese that afternoon we arrived. Nice touch, on the house between 5&7 nightly. She asked us if we had any food allergies regarding her homemade breakfast plans for the next... More 

Helpful?
Thank islandbreezer
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

I absolutely loved reading this! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Madison, and your kind words about breakfast really made me smile. :) It would be wonderful to welcome you back when you're next in the area! 'Til then, take care, Victoria More 

Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

We did enjoy our two night stay at the Tidewater Inn in Madison, CT. The location was so central to everything: it is walking distance to many of the shops and restaurants in the center of Madison. Also, there are beaches nearby and the host and owner, Victoria, gives you a permit to use the town beaches. We loved the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pinkcadillac123
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words! I'm so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay so much, especially your breakfasts and visits to the beaches. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts on the rooms, too. This home has been around for decades, and I believe that some of the wear that you describe adds a unique... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

I've stopped at Tidewater on my way up to CapeCod and really enjoyed it. The room and bath was in perfect shape. The innkeeper Victoria is very friendly and was very nice about getting me an early breakfast when I needed an early start to beat the traffic. The inn is about 1 block out of town so its easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank myywocents
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much! I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay - it was my pleasure to have you, and I'd love to welcome you back when you're next in town or passing through! Take good care, Victoria More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
1.3 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel
Madison Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
12.2 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Guilford
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Guilford
3.8 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Guilford
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scranton Seahorse Inn
Scranton Seahorse Inn
#1 of 5 in Madison
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay