We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Litchfield Inn

432 Bantam Road Rt 202, P. O. Box 798, Litchfield, CT 06759
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Litchfield Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    55
    19
    14
    16
See reviews for
44
69
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (163)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The main building itself feels a bit bland and dated, but the room was a different story altogether. Stayed in a luxury king room and found the decor very tasteful and trendy. I'll attach photos rather than waste words. The staff were friendly, and while we arrived early before the room was ready the agent behind the desk ran to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a spur of the moment getaway to the hills of Litchfield. The Litchfield Inn is a lovely property situated near the center of town. The building is older but the owners are clearly putting a lot of work and renovations into the inn. Personally I would opt for one of the suites. The upgrades are very warm and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

OVERPRICED!! never paid that much to stay in such a bad room...our room was...just terrible we should have driven a little longer and pick one of the tons of motels around there (cheaper and definitely nicer!!) service? well..even worse...considering we paid about $400 per night we expected at least a nice breakfast...NOT AT ALL...the jam was so hard there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback and I am not sure that which room you have mentioned as bad. All the rooms at the Inn are remodeled and have the latest amenities, so I would not accept the fact of a bad room unless there was a particular issue. It is surprising to read weather it was the price or... More 

New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a terrible place. The breakfast (worst of any inn we've stayed at in the world) says it all: cereal dispensers that don't work, with little other choice for breakfast. Staff stuck a cereal spoon in dispenser to try to release and said they're "new" and will tell management AGAIN; dishwater coffee and no low fat milk available and industrial... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback and we apologize for the discomfort. Firstly the cereal did not dispense because of some lock issue on the dispenser and I think as smart of the server to help you get some with a spoon and not with her hand, I think you should appreciated the troubleshoot. Accidents happen and she was only... More 

Milford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 4 nights this past July as part of a birthday gift from my girlfriend.Very comfortable rooms which made me feel right at home.The bathrooms truly made me want to shower and were quite pleasant. Not only were the rooms amazing but the dining was on par with all top restaurants. The epitome of an hidden gem when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback and we are all so glad to be able to make your trip a great one. We look forward to have you again. Thanks More 

Cobleskill, New York
Level Contributor
285 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fortunately, we got a great price for our stay. Unfortunately, that's because most of Litchfield County appears to be closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. Fortunately, we arrived just in time for happy hour at the bar. Unfortunately, we misunderstood the rules and our drinks weren't included in the discount. Fortunately, our room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the beds required... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback but we feel sorry to read that all was not fortunate enough. Firstly please accept my apology for the inconvenience but I would like to clarify certain misconceptions. One side of the Inn has a paved parking lot and the other is not, only because of the wetland around and if the town permits,... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checked...nice clerk...ok. Opened room...worst smell, like 10 day old football pads in a locker room. Didn't bother with other rooms (why would I?) Didn't want to make scene in lobby 3 other poor souls checking in at the time, informed clerk had to be in Boston and had done nothing but open the door and walked right out and that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback and it is unfortunate that your plans changed at the last minute within our cancellation policy frame and you had to leave. That's what the initial feedback at our desk was but we are quite surprised that since you were charged for the night as per the Inn's policy, you had all the problems... More 

Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

While the room was new, it was supposed to be a junior suite. It was just a longer regular hotel room with no room. Also, we needed a sofa bed for our kids (why we went for the more expensive junior suite). The sofa bed way TINY and so incredibly UNCOMFORTABLE. We actually asked for an extra comforter to but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for the inconvenience that you had on your visit to the Inn and it is unfortunate that you did not like our Junior deluxe room which is one of the preferred choices of our guest. You were informed by our front desk about a pull out sofa which cannot be compared to the comfort of a... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

This was a perfect getaway from Manhattan in beautiful Litchfield County. Being a New England native it was easy for me to appreciate the charm and tranquility this hotel provides. The hotel staff was kind and attentive to all requests. Additionally, I would dine at this restaurant if I was in the area regardless of staying at the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for writing about your wonderful experience. We definitely look forward for more visits of yours and make you feel at home. I am sure our future projects for the property will surprise you on your next visit. Thanks More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I stayed here with my husband for a relaxing night away from the hustle and bustle that we are used to in the city. Tucked away in a quaint town of Connecticut, it was a true hidden gem. Every staff member we came across was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are huge and the bathrooms are beautiful. Not only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback. We look forward to have you again with us. Thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (91)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield
8.8 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
6.7 mi away
Yankee Pedlar Inn
Yankee Pedlar Inn
#2 of 4 in Torrington
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
16.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Winvian
Winvian
#1 of 1 in Morris
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tollgate Hill Inn and Restaurant
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Torrington
Days Inn Torrington
#1 of 4 in Torrington
3.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay