We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

I was in a group and we stayed for 3 weeks. The costumer care they have i really bad, i think the only exception are the guys in the restaurant but besides that the worst hotel i have stayed in. Just try it yourself and you will see.

Helpful?
1 Thank VictorOrt
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear VictorOrt, Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am sincerely sorry for the unsatisfactory service you encountered during your stay. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. Despite your disappointment we do hope that... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

In a lousy area not convenient at all to downtown. Management at desk unfriendly and dismissive to young adult guests. Room ok, but not worth the cost. Next door to a seedier hotel that has bad reputation for some of the activities there-think some spillover into here.

Helpful?
6 Thank Jim t
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jim t, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hartford hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I made reservations in april 2014. When we showed up on the 16th 2014, a note on the door says they are closed due to vandalism. No email or phone call was ever sent. I also paid in advance for two nights. Trying to get a refund back. I have been calling holiday inn express and just get the runaround.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank chris6869
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear chris6869, Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

Once again I would like to thank the staff at ur facility? But I would really like to thank the bartender TERRY for excellent service for me and my colleague for the time period of our stay our drinks where perfect as well as her attention to our needs

Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Booked through Expedia, turned up on 17/09/2014 to find a note on the door that the hotel is closed due to vandalism/water damage. We had no prior notification from Expediar nor Holiday Inn nor were we re-booked. Went to the neighbouring hotel to call Holiday Inn Reservations to have us re-booked. Could have done without this stress on the day.

Helpful?
5 Thank J F
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear J F, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I apologize for the lack of information regarding the ongoing renovation during your stay. We take comments such as... More 

Amityville, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here after attending a concert in area. It was descent, fair price, housekeeping could use improvement with bathroom. Parking area small,spaces tight. Scary individuals hanging around front enterance. After dark did notice security stayed inside lobby doors, watching to make guests feel safe. Front desk personal where exceptional. They went above to meet all guest needs .

Helpful?
Thank Junestar622
HIEHDWTN, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Junestar622, Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing the positives and negatives from our customers. It shows us what we're doing wrong, what we are doing right and how we can improve our guest experiences. I am delighted in hearing that my Guest Service Agents made you feel welcomed and appreciated; this is definitely the goal we have... More 

traceys landing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The staff were very professional and treated me like one of the family. I felt like I was here last week! Specific recognition to Iyaunna for her very friendly attitude. I come to this area annually and this is my first time here. I wish I had stayed here in the past and will definitely be back here next year.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike_rfiservices
HIEHDWTN, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your last stay with us. I am happy that you were pleased with your accommodation and that my team made you feel welcomed and appreciated. I printed your comment and post it to our employee board so Iyaunna can receive the recognition she has earned. Thank you again and we look... More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and got a great deal. We had an amazing view of the Capitol building from our room which was great. The room wasn't huge but it was comfy and all we needed. The front desk staff were nice. The breakfast was included and had lots of choices! Only bad comment was there was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meggan M
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for a concert at the Meadows (Xfinity Center). While it was a long walk to the show, it was manageable at about 1/2 hour each way. The rooms were rather small and the parking garage was tiny, but the room was clean and comfortable. It was pretty crowded at breakfast and this caused the selection to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank NH_Dave25
HIEHDWTN, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to comment on your past stay with us. Your review shows us what we're doing wrong and how we can do better. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced while staying with us. I am the new Front Office Manager for this property and is working vigorously with my... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I chose this hotel because it was located next to the Amtrak's Hartford train station. Don't misinterpret the word train thinking noise. There is no noise from the railroad, rooms do not face the tracks directly anyway. The line is only used by Amtrak every couple of hours, but nothing overnight! The hotel is a fair sized building, older in... More 

Helpful?
Thank RailfanMotels
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.3 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#3 of 10 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 10 in Hartford
3.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay