We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites

2.5 of 5 185 Brainard Road, Hartford, CT 06114 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    47
    24
    14
    8
See reviews for
35
29
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Cornwall, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on August 6, 2010. We were very impressed with the location as it is just outside of the very busy neighborhoods of Hartford. There was a listing of restaurants that were close by with a short description of each! We felt that this was a great touch. Staff was very friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear JennsTrips, Thank you for such a nice response about the Hotel but more importantly about the people who work here. I am glad the agent did take the iniative and honored the lower rate and I do apologize that we were not able to sell a package as a walkin. I thought I had a booking window online for... More 

Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Hotel is "nice". Not great, but decent. Rooms a basic with tube tv and nice comfortable bed. Location is not great unless you are flying into the small airport which would be unusual. Loses major points for the hot water system. This is a major annoyance for me. Try to take a shower where the water temperarure varies from cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear avgjoetraveler; Thank you for completing the survey. I wish I had an opportunity to speak with you before you checked out. If you would like to email me to discuss further you at hartfordgm@wnwhospitality.com. We did recently install a temperature control but from your repsonse I need to follow up and I shall. By the end of 2011 all... More 

boston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I stayed at the Holiday Inn express following a long hot day at a lacrosse tournament. We chose this hotel as a halfway point on our journey home, knowing that we would want to relax, shower and recharge. The hotel proved to be the perfect choice – easily found off the highway, large room, comfy bedding, good AC and nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear where2gonexttime, I am so glad we did the trick! Thank you for giving the Holiday Inn Express and Suites a great review. I know today as a traveler we have many choices and the staff and I are glad you chose us. We do not offer fresh fruit cups but we do offer fresh bananas and apples daily along... More 

North American
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I flew into Hartford to attend a funeral in Springfield, MA. the following day. It was a difficult day and I decided at the last minutes to get a room at the Holiday Inn and rest because I was upset and didn't want to drive. The staff were very quick to check a availability for me, and to get me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear MKUltra3340, I am sorry for your personal loss. It makes it even more difficult being away from home. I thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. I am glad we were able to accomodate you so last minute and that the staff made your stay pleasant as possible under the circumstances. The beds are plush--a great... More 

New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Spent two nights here with a friend. Hotel is about two to three miles from Hartford city center, directly across street from the city's smaller airport. Surprisingly, aircraft noise was non-existent, though. Very quiet neighborhood. Check-in slightly delayed as the one clerk at front desk had to deal with multiple phone calls, but proceeded without hassles otherwise. Our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Teach1947, Thank you for writing such a nice response. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and what the property has to offer such as shuttle to the restaurants; if needed and of course the Chowder Pot is a local favorite. Another great amenity guest love is the free parking as you have to pay for parking downtown and... More 

Lake City, Florida
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
122 hotel reviews
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We were in town for a symposium my husband was attending at the convention center. We chose this hotel because it was billed as being close to the convention center. They do have a shuttle that will take you to the convention center and pick you up. In fact they offered to take me anywhere I wanted to go, shopping,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hartfordgm, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Travellingal51, Thank you for writing a review. Unfortunately, hoteliers cannot choose our guests but I do appreciate you acknowledging how hard the staff worked that weekend. I am fortunate to have a caring staff and it was overhwelming. We get many compliments on the complimentary shuttle and we try to accomodate as much as possible. Rates are based on... More 

USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

The front desk staff need to take a basic course in hospitality. Rude responses to normal requests. It was surprising, because we have stayed here before and had no problems with the staff. They just couldn't be bothered. Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Traveling Matt77 I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. I cannot retrieve your stay information to contact you personally but Please know I take your feedback seriously. Please email me at hartfordgm@wnwhospitality personally so I can obtain details and try to make ammends. It is my hope that... More 

Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

My son and I spent 1 night. A college visit was scheduled at a nearby college for the next morning. Originally when I made the reservation I was nervous because the hotel allows dogs and both my son and I are allergic. I was assured our room would be pet free and we wouldn't have a problem. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Dian, I am so happy that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed your stay! Currently, many high school students are touring the local colleges with their parents and the convenience of the complimentary shuttle to and fro is one less concern for parents. I do apologize about the water temperature and will look into that. Thank you,... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Good Location. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable room. Friendly staff. Also worth mentioning is that the seafood restaurant next door is delicious (very fresh seafood), just a bit pricey. Great stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Alexchan88, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. The staff and I take pride in our hotel and strive to exceed guest expectations! Thank you for acknowledging your great stay! Today we know you have many choices and we are glad you chose to stay with us! Lisa Bublitz GM More 

South Shore,Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed here while in Hartford for an event at the Convention center. It was close, only a few minutes by car, and the room was clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was very good, eggs, sausage, biscuits, chipped beef, coffee, juice, etc....and the cinnamon buns were delicious. The staff was very nice, also. Overall a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Bryanp56, Thank you for taking the time to complete the TripAdvisor review. I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the breakfast! I had to make a promise to myself to never eat those delicious cinnamon buns while working. They are so good and can be dangerous to my waistline! I know today travellers have many... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites

Address: 185 Brainard Road, Hartford, CT 06114 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Express Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hartford

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay