We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2260 Whitney Avenue, Hamden, CT 06518 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    23
    15
    5
See reviews for
34
14
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Under renovation, location appealing, and that is it. Place needs overhaul, including some employees. Not heavy lifters to make the stay comfortable. For those that need a required certainty for ease, this is not your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Astatula, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is under construction. They do not mention this on website. Many of their conveniences are not available. No cafe, lounge, room service or store. Vending machines were empty. Beds are minimum of comfort.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Hamden hotels

Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clarions are usually at the nicer end of the Choice options. This was not inexpensive, but the hotel did not seem up-to-date. The rooms were fine and the beds comfortable, but again, just not top notch. I took them up on saving the planet by requesting not to change linens and towels, but they ended up just not even coming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Greetings, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that your stay was not totally up to your expectations, your opinion means alot to us here; guest satisfaction is our number one goal at the Clarion. We are actually in the middle of rennovations at this very moment. Please come back and stay with us... More 

Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Not many hotels to choose from in the Hamden area so I selected this one based on reviews. The hotel is on the street but oddly enough I drove past it twice. Next to entrance of the highway- that's great for business travelers but not for a leisure stay. When checking in they were friendly and welcoming but then I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am truly sorry that your stay was not a good one; the hotel has recently been purchased and the remodeling phase of our facility has begun. The Cafe will also be re opening soon, we could not keep it open under the old ownerships licensing and we... More 

Staten Island, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We selected the Claroin Hotel & suites in Hamden Ct because it was close to where we needed to be and it was quite a find. The hotel was VERY well run. They even let us check in several hours early. The front desk staff wwas very accomodating ( thanks Nicole) and the room was immaculate

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thanks you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room! Guest satisfaction is very important, it is always great to hear that we have done a great job. I look froward to see you and your family again next time you visit the area. Best Wishes, Nicole... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Right from arrival, you are greeted with calm, efficient, prompt and friendly service. Staying at the hotel was another great experience . Not only comfortable, great cleanliness.Nice customer service .The rooms are large and comfortable. I will recommend this hotel as a cozy place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal. Please come again and see the renovations when your in the area again. Best Wishes, Nicole B More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Location is awesome & easily accessible. Rooms are very well designed, clean and comfortable. It is also equipped well with latest entertainment set and refreshment beverages. Check-Inn & Check-Out procedure was easy & done well with the friendly staff. The Front desk also assisted with eating joints around and a few areas that we wanted to explore. The swimming pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that your stay was great with us. We aim to satisfy each and every guest that walks through our doors. Please come back and stay with us when you can. We value and appreciate you. Nicole B. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Booked a suite at the Clarion in Hamden Connecticut as part of our spring vacation plans. We have 2 small children one 5 and the other just turned 3. After arriving in our room we noticed the floor was dirty and the room smelled. The mattresses were also noticeably sunken as if someone dropped a bowling ball right in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; I am very sorry to hear that you had an unplesant stay. We aim to satisfy our guest in every way possible. I am very surprised to hear that there where wine bottles in the pool area since we do not allow any food or beverages in that... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed in a pet room. So the look was expected I suppose. But our room was freezing cold. We went to the front desk to see if they could fix our room they sent out Someone to look and he did exactly what my husband was doing only after Staring at the thermostat for ten minutes then looked at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am very sorry to learn that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we aim for it to have been. This winter was extremely difficult for us here in New England, the freezing tempatures made it very hard to keep even or own homes as warm. We... More 

Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The hotel is very "well-worn" and looks like it was updated decades ago...the property could REALLY use a make-over. Hotel employees are very nice and try to accomodate. Convenient location to I-91 and near university.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feeback is critical to us assuring we meet our number one goal which is guest satisfaction. We are under new ownership and renovations have already begun. We are very excited about the makeover. Please come and visit us again and see the changes we have made that will also... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities