We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2260 Whitney Avenue, Hamden, CT 06518 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Share an Experience

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    21
    13
    4
See reviews for
31
12
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in a pet room. So the look was expected I suppose. But our room was freezing cold. We went to the front desk to see if they could fix our room they sent out Someone to look and he did exactly what my husband was doing only after Staring at the thermostat for ten minutes then looked at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very "well-worn" and looks like it was updated decades ago...the property could REALLY use a make-over. Hotel employees are very nice and try to accomodate. Convenient location to I-91 and near university.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meadows Of Dan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
113 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this Clarion in February, 2015. Staff was nice, my room was very clean, so was the bathroom. Clean sheets and towels. TV, heat, lights - everything worked like it was supposed to. I would stay again and would recommend to my family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We stayed overnight for a concert at the oakdale. Service was friendly. Hotel is dated. Parking is available on site but spots are VERY tight. Continental breakfast was not staffed so ran out of items often. Room was very clean, had everything we needed. Not a horrible choice for an overnight stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kjwtjc, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel, and regret we did not provide a level of service that anticipated and responded to your needs. I apologize for the issues that you reported, and hope to have a future opportunity to regain your confidence and goodwill. More 

Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

My husband and I booked and paid for a three night stay during the Blizzard in January of this year. We called before to make sure that a Microwave and Refrigerator would be in our room. We were told yes that we would have them both. When we arrived the room was terribly cold and only a refrigerator was there,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kjwtjc, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

I appreciate your review about your experience with us and I apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced with your reservation. I understand you requested microwave and refrigerator, of which we could only provide the refrigerator. We strive to make sure all guests receive the room they are expecting but occasionally we can’t meet every room request on the busiest... More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

Wedding guests used this hotel where parking and access to Merritt Parkway is easy. Not a destination in itself, limited services, but serves the purpose for 1 or 2-night family or business accommodations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This place is not great at all, and there are much better options nearby - people at front desk were indifferent, the fitness center was not great at all - Also, the Wifi is laughably bad The most embarrassing thing about this place is they charge you for a cup of coffee in the morning - I wont be going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kjwtjc, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Southern New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

First, I would have given this place 2 stars, but because the room was very clean and seemed updated within the last 5 years, I gave it 3 stars. That said, there were a few problems and a few good points. 1. Parking. This is not an inner city motel - it's in Hamden, outside of New Haven, so I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmct067, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments during your stay. We are in the process of ordering and replacing carpet along with painting the building. We look forward to you staying with us in the future. More 

Plattsburgh, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Stayed one night while traveling to NH. Outside is a bit dated but the lobby is very large and nice. Service at the desk was excellent. Hallways need new carpeting. Room was large and bed was very nice as were the linens. Plenty of lighting throughout. Bathroom was spacious and clean but the tile was fairly old. It's obvious that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmct067, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments during your stay. We are in the process of ordering and replacing carpet along with painting the building. We look forward to you staying with us in the future. More 

Goshen, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect at this hotel. The reviews were so mixed. I figured if it turned out to be as bad as some of the reviews I read, I'd flee the scene. Fortunately, I found a clean, bright lobby. It is a tad dated but with Christopher behind the desk, you can over look it as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kjwtjc, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question