We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2260 Whitney Avenue, Hamden, CT 06518 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
34
13
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not many hotels to choose from in the Hamden area so I selected this one based on reviews. The hotel is on the street but oddly enough I drove past it twice. Next to entrance of the highway- that's great for business travelers but not for a leisure stay. When checking in they were friendly and welcoming but then I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am truly sorry that your stay was not a good one; the hotel has recently been purchased and the remodeling phase of our facility has begun. The Cafe will also be re opening soon, we could not keep it open under the old ownerships licensing and we... More 

Staten Island, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We selected the Claroin Hotel & suites in Hamden Ct because it was close to where we needed to be and it was quite a find. The hotel was VERY well run. They even let us check in several hours early. The front desk staff wwas very accomodating ( thanks Nicole) and the room was immaculate

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thanks you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room! Guest satisfaction is very important, it is always great to hear that we have done a great job. I look froward to see you and your family again next time you visit the area. Best Wishes, Nicole... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right from arrival, you are greeted with calm, efficient, prompt and friendly service. Staying at the hotel was another great experience . Not only comfortable, great cleanliness.Nice customer service .The rooms are large and comfortable. I will recommend this hotel as a cozy place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal. Please come again and see the renovations when your in the area again. Best Wishes, Nicole B More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is awesome & easily accessible. Rooms are very well designed, clean and comfortable. It is also equipped well with latest entertainment set and refreshment beverages. Check-Inn & Check-Out procedure was easy & done well with the friendly staff. The Front desk also assisted with eating joints around and a few areas that we wanted to explore. The swimming pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that your stay was great with us. We aim to satisfy each and every guest that walks through our doors. Please come back and stay with us when you can. We value and appreciate you. Nicole B. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a suite at the Clarion in Hamden Connecticut as part of our spring vacation plans. We have 2 small children one 5 and the other just turned 3. After arriving in our room we noticed the floor was dirty and the room smelled. The mattresses were also noticeably sunken as if someone dropped a bowling ball right in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; I am very sorry to hear that you had an unplesant stay. We aim to satisfy our guest in every way possible. I am very surprised to hear that there where wine bottles in the pool area since we do not allow any food or beverages in that... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a pet room. So the look was expected I suppose. But our room was freezing cold. We went to the front desk to see if they could fix our room they sent out Someone to look and he did exactly what my husband was doing only after Staring at the thermostat for ten minutes then looked at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am very sorry to learn that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we aim for it to have been. This winter was extremely difficult for us here in New England, the freezing tempatures made it very hard to keep even or own homes as warm. We... More 

Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The hotel is very "well-worn" and looks like it was updated decades ago...the property could REALLY use a make-over. Hotel employees are very nice and try to accomodate. Convenient location to I-91 and near university.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feeback is critical to us assuring we meet our number one goal which is guest satisfaction. We are under new ownership and renovations have already begun. We are very excited about the makeover. Please come and visit us again and see the changes we have made that will also... More 

Meadows Of Dan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
116 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Stayed at this Clarion in February, 2015. Staff was nice, my room was very clean, so was the bathroom. Clean sheets and towels. TV, heat, lights - everything worked like it was supposed to. I would stay again and would recommend to my family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ritu K, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that to see that you had a good stay with us. We have recently started renovations so we are hoping that when your in the area again you come and visit us so that you can see our changes. Also we are changing the Breakfast to include... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We stayed overnight for a concert at the oakdale. Service was friendly. Hotel is dated. Parking is available on site but spots are VERY tight. Continental breakfast was not staffed so ran out of items often. Room was very clean, had everything we needed. Not a horrible choice for an overnight stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kjwtjc, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel, and regret we did not provide a level of service that anticipated and responded to your needs. I apologize for the issues that you reported, and hope to have a future opportunity to regain your confidence and goodwill. More 

Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

My husband and I booked and paid for a three night stay during the Blizzard in January of this year. We called before to make sure that a Microwave and Refrigerator would be in our room. We were told yes that we would have them both. When we arrived the room was terribly cold and only a refrigerator was there,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kjwtjc, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden, responded to this review

I appreciate your review about your experience with us and I apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced with your reservation. I understand you requested microwave and refrigerator, of which we could only provide the refrigerator. We strive to make sure all guests receive the room they are expecting but occasionally we can’t meet every room request on the busiest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question