We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The J House Greenwich

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
1114 E. Putnam Avenue, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The J House Greenwich
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    120
    38
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
33
62
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (194)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was so comfortable and accommodating during our stay. Wonderful central location. Great restaurant. Super comfortable bed. Coffee shop and little helpful things like an ATM in the lobby. Walk across the street to Balduccis, dry cleaners, French bakery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHouseGreenwich, Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review

Karen - Thank you for your review! It sounds like you had a great stay. We really listen to our patrons. Multiple guests had inquired about an ATM in the hotel, so we took action and installed one in the lobby. Riverside, CT is beautiful, and there is so much to do. We're thrilled that you were able to visit... More 

Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were excited to check out this relatively new hotel in Greenwich and were not disappointed. The staff were very well trained in how to make the guest happy. Every single person we encountered was friendly and professional. There are a lot of hotels who could learn something from J House. The rooms were all run with technology that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHouseGreenwich, Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and glad that you had the opportunity to experience our caring staff. The J House team takes pride in doing their absolute best to assist our treasured guests. We hope that you are able to visit again. We do have rooms that do not have... More 

Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had not previously stayed at the J House having chosen the Delamar for occasions as locals when you need a hotel (moves, renovations, guests, etc). We really like the Delamar even though it is in need of an upgrade, so when we found ourselves needing local accomodation during a move, we tried to make reservations at the Delamar on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHouseGreenwich, Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting this review! We are thrilled to hear that the service you received exceeded your expectations! We often receive similar feedback from first time visitors to the J House who live in the community. The 'hip' atmosphere that we've created makes some feel as though we can't possibly be a top notch operation. We are... More 

NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On July 25th I proposed to my now fiance, and I was looking for just a close and quick weekend getaway from NYC. A friend recommended the J House in Greenwich, and I am SOOO glad I listened to him. I obviously wanted to plan something romantic, and I was put in touch with Bernard Augustin. He promptly and professionally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHouseGreenwich, Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the J House Greenwich for such a special occasion! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Congratulations on your engagement! We are pleased that you enjoyed our recommendation and had a great night on the town. Guest service is our top priority. I'm happy... More 

Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

When visiting the Greenwich area we pick the J House Hotel, Trendy,clean and modern. They are doing some interior rennovation on the 3rd floor, so avoid rooms near that (ask the desk which to avoid). There is free parking off the front entrance and additional parking behind the hotel down the narrow driveway. There are usually porters outside the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHouseGreenwich, Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review

Welcome back! Thank you for your amazing review! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your entire experience with us. We’re thrilled that you had such nice things to say about our staff. The fact that you're a seasoned traveler makes this review even more special. Please join us again soon. More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I have visited the J House before, and was excited to come back again. It is hard to find nice places to stay in the Greenwich area, and J House is such a treat. The pool is fabulous, the rooms are exceptionally clean, and the technology in the room is a blast. We also loved sitting around the fireplaces at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHouseGreenwich, Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review

Thank you for returning to the J House! We're delighted that you had such an amazing stay and enjoyed the comfort of our pool and fireplace. We will be sure to pass all of your comments to the entire team. Thank you for your review and please visit again soon! More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We stayed here one night on the way to Nantucket for 4th of July. It is a beautiful property. Checking in after a long drive was easy and entering our room was so pleasant! The rooms are dark and cool and very comfortable. The controls to the room are located entirely on panels - one is located close to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHouseGreenwich, Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review

We are so pleased to read that you had a wonderful time at the J House! It sounds like you took advantage of many of our amenities, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope to see you again soon. Please make sure to check out the restaurant this time. That will literally put the cherry on top.... More 

Flemington, NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Well I didn't love it. Very trendy conversion of an old Howard Johnson's hotel. They made it very modern and there is no question that it is comfortable. But it is very quirky and stark. And the electronic controls are not all that intuitive - which is relevant because everything is controlled by electronic touchpad. Lights, curtains, etc. For example,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHouseGreenwich, Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for your experience. We can assure you that excellent guest service is our top priority. We used to walk all guests to their rooms, but this system received negative feedback. We now have guests explore the technology and assist if there are any questions. Please know we take guest feedback extremely seriously. We wish we had the... More 

Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

I was traveling from New Jersey where I had a terrible experience with another hotel. Then we decided to stay at The J House in Greenwich. The arrival, valet parking, front desk, check in and the interaction with the hotel personnel was great. The grounds of the hotel is super clean, lobby, elevator and hallways. When we got in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHouseGreenwich, Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! We love your photography as well. Guest service is our number one priority. It's great to hear that we lived up to your expectations. We certainly hope we have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. More 

Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

I recently had the pleasurable experience of staying at The J House Greenwich and I think its best to just start at the beginning. The moment you arrive there is someone offering to help with your bags, and while you're checking in, they even take your bags to the room for you. Normally at most places I've stayed, checking in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JHouseGreenwich, Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review

Wow! It sounds like you had a wonderful time with us. Thank you so much for your review. We are overjoyed! I'm glad that you had the chance to experience so many of the different outlets at the J House. The 'Cold Roman' is a big hit. Hopefully we'll see you again soon in one of our newly remodeled Suites! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

686 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (660)
Viewed
Room/suite (152)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (74)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Other (328)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
2.6 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#2 of 3 in Greenwich
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#1 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
16.9 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay