We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The J House Greenwich

4.0 of 5 1114 E. Putnam Avenue, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The J House Greenwich
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The J House Greenwich
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    31
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
49
8
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great little hotel...stayed there before and got the email for Valentine's day... Sat dinner, Room and Sunday brunch all for 399. Modern clean hotel...excellent food...what more could you ask for?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Anything less than a 5 star rating for this hotel is just silly. I had the pleasure of staying at the J House two weeks ago and my stay was absolutely perfect and delightful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone as an escape to relax!! From the moment I arrived, I was immediately greeted warmly by the bellman... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I never expected J-house in greenwich, ct to be such a great experience when I made reservations there to attend a business meeting, recently. What an amazing surprise ...it turns put that the renovated mid-century gem is the definitely coolest place in the area. From the lobby and the fireplace, to the restaurant and bar...to the wine cellar private dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The J House was a suggestion from a friend and what a surprise I had when I walked in the door. The overall feeling is very fun, artsy, and warm. Usually when I hear the word artsy I'm concerned that I won't be able to find a comfortable place to sit but, not at the J House. There are many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brewster, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I decided to stay for the Valentines package. The value of the package was untouchable but once we got there we were blown away. Our stay was amazing! The staff we beyond helpful and accommodating. They even surprised us with a bottle of champagne 15 minutes into our stay! The room was AMAZING - a huge, comfy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I stayed at J house for there dinner, room, and brunch valentine's day special. It was a great value, especially with the complimentary salmon toast and pomegranate champagne sorbet we were not expecting. The menu by Chef Connor was absolutely creative, delicious, and fit for the season. The staff worked hard to express a personal approach and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband booked us the Valentine's Day package at J House, which included a one night stay at the hotel, dinner at Eleven 14 and brunch the next morning. In one word it was terrible. Bad service and bad food. I think everyone who took part in this "special package" should be given a full refund. The hotel was OK... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenwich
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Words cannot accurately describe the remarkably poor attitude displayed by the staff. I was staying at the hotel with friends and family for an event. The weekend was soured by the deplorable, self satisfying, insanely rude and continuously aloof staff. Fine wine and high tech gadgets do not in any way lessen the need for excellent service. Please be advised.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JHouseGreenwich, Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, On behalf of The J House team, we thank you for your recent review. Although we appreciate your feedback, we deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations. Our team strives to immediately resolve all guest issues that arise and we apologize if we missed the opportunity to assist you, during your stay. Please visit us again—kindly... More 

Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We always pass this place when going on rt 95 and I look up and say, "Gotta try that." I'd seen a story about it in Time Out magazine and always forget when we're planning to go to CT.. Finally we stayed and it was just lovely. All the hi tech push buttons are fun and it is an attractive,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

First of all I love staying here. Travel to Greenwich 3 - 4 times a year. Decor is very "trendy". The technology requires a little learning, mostly the light switches and shades. Freeway right outside some rooms, but doesn't seem to bother me. Bar and restaurant are nice and the outside patio bar real cool. Staff have always been very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The J House Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The J House Greenwich

Address: 1114 E. Putnam Avenue, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The J House Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The J House Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Riverside

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay