We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Deep River B&Bs / inns

The Riverwind Inn

209 Main Street, Deep River, CT 06417
Hotel amenities
The Riverwind Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Riverwind Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Deep River B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012
CaitKing
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
26
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Riverwind Inn
See the most recent reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We loved our stay at the Riverwind Inn. Everything was perfectly clean, beautifully decorated. The innkeepers attention to detail is so sweet - the whole place even smells lovely. Breakfast was delicious, the bed was comfortable. We truly enjoyed staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in the Moonlight Suite, and our stay was amazing. Fabulous LARGE suite with a Jacuzzi. The room was impeccably clean and very cozy. Breakfast was to die for, and our innkeepers very kind and attentive! Peaceful and relaxing~ we loved it!! THANK YOU Elaine and Leo!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the lovely Riverwind Inn 3 times a year for several years since we have subscription tickets to the nearby Goodspeed Theater. We truly look forward to seeing Elaine and Leo each time because they are such warm, welcoming people and wonderful hosts. We really admire their dedication to making their guests feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We found the perfect place to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary! From the minute we pulled into the driveway and were greeted by the owners, Elaine and Leo, we knew we made the right choice. They both made us feel right at home and made great suggestions for dining out and day trips. Our room was amazing and breakfast this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

What a quintessential New England experience we had at the Riverwind Inn. Our room was cozy, elegant and sparkling clean. The hosts greeted us at 3 in the morning (olur plane was late) and even carried our luggage. We awakened to Elaine's delectable french toast, oven baked with tasty apple filling (recipe please). The setting in Deep River Connecticut affords... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Like a recent reviewer hereunder, our experience at the Riverwind Inn was disappointingly poor. As seasoned travellers we chose to stay in B&Bs across New England on our first ever trip there so that we could experience warm hospitality, have hearty breakfasts and get unique insights into each area. The Riverwind was to be our last stop after four wonderful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Riverwindinn, Owner at The Riverwind Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that "sineadj81" had a disappointing experience at our Inn. In response to his comments, I find that taking care of credit card payments upon arrival frees me from checking guests out during the breakfast time, where I need to focus on my other guest's needs. I do not understand which inn he was staying at since we... More 

Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We are sisters and cousins. We stayed the October SNOW weekend. The hosts were informative, attentive and very kind. We had 2 rooms across the hall from each other on the 2nd floor. It was perfect...and there is a sitting room right near our rooms with a fireplace! This was perfect given we were "snowed in" on Saturday night. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Having seen the good reviews we were looking forward to staying here but the experience turned out to be disappointing. We arrived on a hot day and had to pay the minute we walked in the door and were not offered even a glass of water. Our room was beautifully decorated but very small and even smaller with our suitcases... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Riverwindinn, Owner at The Riverwind Inn, responded to this review

We are very concerned that we got our first disappointing review from our guest from Australia. In our defense, all our rooms have full descriptions and prices on our website. This particular guest picked this room himself, I think because it was one of our lower priced rooms. The room he chose was in the 1854 section of the house... More 

Manhattan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This part of the Connecticut River Valley is gorgeous and hotels/inns price up accordingly. We chose the Riverwind because it offers rooms in the $125-$150 range; a good price for the area. While not smack dab in the middle of historic Essex or next to a landmark, the Riverwind is within 5-6 miles of such destinations and its laid-back atmosphere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed overnight at this delightful Inn during a motoring holiday of Connecticut and surrounding states in June this year. Our room was furnished in a most charming and tasteful way and the beds were very comfortable. The guest lounge room was suitably furnished with relaxing lounges, most welcome after a day's driving. The innkeepers, Elaine and Leo, were most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Riverwind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverwind Inn

Address: 209 Main Street, Deep River, CT 06417
Location: United States > Connecticut > Deep River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Riverwind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Deep River
Deep River Country Inn

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay