We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven

Hotel website
Hotel deals
309 East Main Street, Branford, CT 06405
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    47
    23
    10
    18
See reviews for
53
25
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Dover, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First night and next morning - no air conditioning. It was obvious before we arrived the air conditioner did not work, so this was not a surprise for staff. Courteous service manager fixed while we were out the next afternoon and we returned to a cool room. My daughter literally discovered RODENT FECES and URINE in her bed when she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEXBranford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review

Dear R R, A wrong assumption was made regarding what was found in your daughter's bed. After having the sheets and the material that was found in the bed analyzed, it was determined that the urine was human and no feces were present, instead it was balled up toilet paper with dried up blood.I assure you that we do not... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a wedding weekend originally reserving 1 room for 1 night. At the last minute, we decided to stay an extra night before so we called a few days ahead to change our reservation. After speaking with the customer representative for 20 minutes we finally got an extra night added to our reservation and asked her to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEXBranford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review

Hello Clarisa Y I am embarrassed and very sorry to hear about all of the miscommunication that occurred during your stay with us. I want to thank you for letting us know. I assure you that I have addressed all of your concerns. Sincerely, Tom Falco, CHA General Manager Holiday Inn Express-Branford-New Haven More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here one night after a wedding. The hotel is very clean and presentable. Comfy bed, and decent amenities. While I ended up being sick all weekend, my boyfriend took advantage of the gym and pool, as well as the continental breakfast. He had no complaints. Our only complaint was that there were three other wedding groups staying there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEXBranford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review

Hello Jaclyn L, Sorry to hear that you were under the weather when you stayed with us. Glad to see your boyfriend enjoyed our amenities. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town. Thank you, Tom Falco, CHA General Manager Holiday Inn Express - Branford-New Haven More 

Proctorsville, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The one place where you cannot save money when building a hotel is the insulation and sound proofing in the walls between rooms. They must have saved a fortune because there is none! Not only could we hear the conversation of the couple in the next room speaking at a normal level, but when the party started at midnight in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review

Dear VTtraveler865, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sincerely sorry for the inconvenience you had with noise from other guests. Rest assured that this will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details of your experience. We would hope that you would... More 

Haworth, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our son goes to school in nearby Madison. When we visit the school, we need a place to stay, but Madison has only a fancy beach hotel and bed-and breakfast. However, there are several hotel in Branford which is between New Haven and Madison on I-95. Our choice is this Holiday Inn Express. We have had pretty good luck with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hebron, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Very happy with our recent stay. The air conditioning was not working and we were credited without even asking. It was clean, quiet and sooo comfortable. We will absolutely stay here again. My husband enjoyed the pool while I read my complimentary USA today and continental breakfast. (which happened to be very yummy and fulfilling) We used to stay in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

I had such a great time here. Rooms are some of the cleanest I have ever been in. I also stayed here for my wedding night, and they had gone above and beyond to make my wife and I very HAPPY. I would highly recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stone Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here to attend a wedding nearby. We were very happy with this hotel. Our room was very clean, the staff was very friendly and the breakfast was the usual buffet of eggs, waffle, etc. All in all, this hotel was what I've come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. Clean, friendly, and reasonable. We would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

This place was clean, and well-located for an overnight stay during Yale graduation weekend. (Everything closer to New Haven was booked.) However, the walls are thin, and we had to put up with hours and hours of noise from a TV blaring in the room next door. I called the front desk, and asked them to call that room to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review

Dear Margaret_M_147 Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We are glad that you found our hotel to be clean. However, we apologize if you found our rooms to be below your standards and we are also sorry if you were bothered by the noise coming from the adjacent room. We value your comments and will communicate... More 

Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Put my family up for the night here again and as in the past this is a great hotel! Very clean and Alex at the front desk was very helpful and personable! The handicap accessible room was humongous !!! Largest I have ever been in- you could have had a small party just in the bathroom ! With two double... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay