We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Sterling hotels

BEST WESTERN Sundowner

125 Overland Trail Street, Route 1, Sterling, CO 80751
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sundowner to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sundowner
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
89%
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Sam G Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • Overview
  • Reviews (149)
  • Photos (63)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    59
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
41
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Best Western Sundowner hotel was the best hotel in Sterling, Colorado. We have tried other hotels in the area and none of them compare to Best Western Sundowner. We went to the Logan County fair during this trip and made sure to book ahead because this hotel is very popular.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Sam, Thank you for your great compliments! We pride ourselves on our clean, comfortable rooms and friendly service. You are right, we do stay really busy and always recommend advance reservations. I hope you had a good time at the fair! We hope you will come see us again soon. Angel Ramos Front Office Manager More

Provo, UT, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great room for restful night between two 12 hour days of driving. Disappointed in pools. Indoor pool is only 3 feet deep. Outdoor pool is odd shape so not good for swimming laps. No hot tub at this hotel. Wonderful breakfast choices. Homemade cookies at check-in.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you had a couple of long days of traveling and I'm glad we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay and a great breakfast in the middle of it! Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again! Angel Ramos Front... More

Lincoln, Nebraska, Usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here many times as I travel to Denver a lot. Stopped here again on my way to Denver with my kids on vacation. Like previous visits, rooms were clean, up to date, and the employees were great. The outdoor pool was being re-done but they gave a lot if notification of that on the web-site so it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Kevin, Thank you for your wonderful comments! We believe that good customer service does not end at checkout and I am glad that it showed when your daughters' swimsuits were left behind. We have completed the renovations to the outdoor pool so it is open once again. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you next... More

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night in a family suite - loved having a separate room for our two teenagers. Cookies at the front desk, great recommendation of a restaurant for dinner and a good breakfast in the morning.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Leanne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review; I'm glad that your stay went well! Our family suite is a nice option for people with children. I'm glad my staff treated you right and that you were happy with your dinner options as well as breakfast. Thanks again for your feedback, I will make sure that my... More

Burlington, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a nice Hotel. they had nice staff, but not worth 200 dollars a night. the local fair was going on and the rooms were on a demand for people to stay. I have stayed at motels very similar for 70 dollars a night. If I had the choice to stay somewhere else to save money I would have.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Lloyd, Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry, but our rates are based on occupancy and so understandably as the hotel gets fuller the rates do get higher. The best cost savings can be realized when making reservations as far in advance as possible. We usually recommend to our guests that stay on a regular basis to book (if... More

Peru, IL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were lucky enough to be able to stay at the Best Western Sundowner in Sterling, CO in July and were greeted with warmth and friendliness!!!! The young lady at the front desk even made a call for us to the local Village Inn to have a late dinner and it was great also!! I had reservations about this stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Sandy, Thank you so much for coming to stay with us. You and your entire group were all so great! Everyone was so enthusiastic about your trip and it was a joy to talk to them. I'm glad they had a good night and please let us know if you come this way again! Thanks again Sandy! Michelle Flinn General... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent hotel, comfortable, very clean, wonderful and friendly staff. It did not a very good breakfast without many options. Usually Best Westerns are known for their amazing breakfasts! Also the internet did not work well and kept getting disconnected.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Carmena, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that our breakfast was not appealing to you, but we are working on some new breakfast items. I'm glad everything went well with your room. We hope to see you back again soon! Thank you, Michelle Flinn General Manager More

Lincoln, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a great place to stay in the area! Excellent breakfast in a big spacious room. Our room was newly remodeled and was fabulous. The outdoor pool was being remodeled but I can't wait to see it, especially with the poolside rooms they are putting in.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you Kristine for your review! I'm glad that your stay went well. Our outdoor pool is now up and running and so we hope to see you again soon! Thanks again for your review. Michelle Flinn General Manager More

Sterling CO, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The bill was dropped under the door at 8:30 a.m. with 4 sharp knocks that awakened us 2 1/2 hrs. before check-out time. I asked the manager if he thought it would take us 2 1/2 hours to get out of the motel. Room was arranged poorly - air conditioner blew right across the beds. We even piled up all... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Joseph, I'm so sorry about your experience at our hotel. Normally receipts get put under the doors at 4AM, as a convenience for you. I'm sorry that it became an inconvenience for you. I'm not sure what happened on the day you were here but I am investigating and will make sure that this is corrected. I hope that you... More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We couldn't of asked for a better stay Angel at the front desk was amazing! I have a service dog and they were very accommodating to that fact. The room was beautiful and above all clean! The location couldn't be better it is close to the museum and the Overland Trail. The breakfast was really nice everything was fresh, hot,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review

Mary, Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I'm glad that everything worked well for you during your stay. We hope you are able to stay with us again. I will pass your comments along to Angel, and yes she is an awesome person. Thank you, Michelle Flinn General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sundowner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sundowner

Address: 125 Overland Trail Street, Route 1, Sterling, CO 80751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sundowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sundowner Hotel Sterling
Best Western Sterling
Sterling Best Western

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sterling with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Number of rooms
58

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Sundowner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer