We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 South Fork B&Bs / inns

Spruce Lodge

29431 W. Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154
Hotel amenities
Spruce Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Spruce Lodge to your Saves list
83%
Ranked #2 of 3 South Fork B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
patticarr Denver, Colorado
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    26
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
49
40
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've been staying at the spruce lodg every year for the past 5 years. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is great. There are good restaurants within walking distance, although once you've Robs breakfast, you'll never want to eat anywhere else! Rob and Dee are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. I'm so glad I found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good location before our drive up to Creede, lovely views from our room (we had a room at the back) across the mountains. Very clean and comfortable beds with lovely fresh bedding, bathroom was quite small. Some of the outside areas still need renovating - the wooden balcony rail was well worn, some outside chairs were rusty or broken, tho'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I happened upon the Spruce Lodge late one night while wandering home from Denver to Mesa AZ. They left a room key available for me and I self checked and was in my comfortable room. The room was nicely decorated with a Great Log Cabin vibe, the bathroom was clean and the shower had plenty of hot water.i slept Great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed at the spruce several times throughout my visits to south fork and love every minute of my time spent there. The staff has a great personality and very inviting! It's a very "homey" atmosphere and very family oriented! My rooms have always been very clean and if I ever needed anything staff was more than willing to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Don't know where the last reviewer was coming from but she must have been the one doing all the insulting, what a bad temper. We loved the Spruce Lodge and always will. Great rooms and we had very good service. Thank You to everyone there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thought that it would be a cute room - but it was dirty and disgusting. Everyone who worked there was less than hospitable. The sheets had holes in them and the carpet was "well worn". The breakfast restaurant at the lodge was tiny, depressing and very slow service without any hospitality. There was another restaurant where you could eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

...Revenge review - we wouldn't let her out of her pre-paid, non refundable online reservation.... This guest was disappointed in our local quilt show and tried to check out of her room two days early. She reserved through an online, non-refundable booking site and was angry when we would not refund her $59. She then claimed she had a family... More

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were large, the beds were comfortable, the staff was helpful, and there are beautiful cats that enjoy attention. The prices were very fair, even though it was a holiday weekend. The wifi was strong and always functioning. The continental breakfast (included with the room) is just ok, but the restaurant serves an extraordinarily good meal for breakfast (not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is such a great find. I had heard about this place from a friend, so I thought I should check it out myself. This place has an awesome history. The owners of this lodge, Rob and Dee, are very knowledgeable about the place they own and the surrounding area. All the rooms have been remodeled, granted there are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moore, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I believe the proprietors are trying to upgrade the lodging. I was not impressed with the room we had. The track lighting was unique (cob webs and all). No closet to hang your clothes and hide your suite case. The bathroom is functional for medium to small framed people. Outside is unique with crushed rock and islands of grass. Lots... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I was there too early for the check-in (my mistake) and so no-one was at the fron-desk at about 1:30pm. They had left a nice message on the front door, though, so that one can simply call them. Very nicely written and very charming. Room was amazing, clean, newly renovated, rustic but clearly greatly hand-carved furniture, fast internet, overall very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Do you own or manage Spruce Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Spruce Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Address: 29431 W. Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154
Location: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Spruce Lodge Colorado/South Fork

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Spruce Lodge

Enlarge Map