We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gateway Inn & Suites Salida

1310 East US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    38
    24
    8
    17
See reviews for
74
55
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (225)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Hellifield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

This was one of our last bookings on a trip around Colorado and Utah. There were three of us and so we booked an economy suite at a very reasonable price. Gosh what a surprise when we saw the suite with it's 2 bedrooms, bathroom, large lounge area and large kitchen! It was spotless and it seemed a shame that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We had the pleasure of going to the Gateway Inn and Suites in Salida Co. The desk staff person Tina took excellent care of us. She was very helpful and sharing in giving all sorts of information about the town. She told us where shops we were.looking for were as well as climate etc. The inn is very lucky to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We made our reservation months in advance for our son's wedding and when we arrived at check-in they asked us if we got "the message" that they had left on our home answering machine less than two hours before we arrived. They lied to us and told us that a pipe had broke in our suite and that they had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review

Malinda, Sorry that you didn't have a great stay here. We can't control when pipes break, that is why the message was sent when it was. We also don't know when a guest gives us a cell number or home number, we do the best we can with what we are given. As far as the carpet cleaning goes, service... More 

Kenilworth, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

While traveling around Colorado I went in Salida. Fabulous town but best of all I decided to stay at the Gateway. What a wonderful inviting atmosphere. The staff is very courteous cheerful and full of area information. The breakfast room in the morning is filled with pastries,waffles coffee juices cereal and fresh fruit. The hot tub was icing on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review

Barbara, Thank you very much for your review. I'm happy to hear that everything was great for your stay, and we hope to see you again. Tina More 

Durango, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Totally overpriced for super old room, takes at least 5 minutes to get hot water then there is no pressure. Would never stay here again. Also they showed a microwave and fridge for the standard room but our room did not have one. Camping would have been much cleaner, quieter and saved me $120/night

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review

Molly, sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. It sounds like you requested a room away from the highway, this is a quieter area, but is further away from the water heater. Roughly 250 feet away, which is why it takes a minute to get hot water. I've yet to find instant hot water, no matter where it... More 

Lakewood, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, and priced well! This was the last stop on our long road trip, and by far, this was the most comfortable stay. The desk employees are very accommodating and efficiant. Breakfast has nice selections, too. We will be staying here on our future stops. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad that everything was to your satisfaction. We really appreciate our repeat guests, and look forward to seeing you again! Tina More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed 1 night booking via Expedia. Upon booking via the Expedia Mobile App it states $79.99 WITH taxes & fees(NO fine print about taxes). I arrive at the motel only to wait 20+ minutes with nobody in the office. I along with other guest rang the bell & also called. Finally I get a lady to answer the phone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The room was basic, relatively clean, no complaints with the room. HOWEVER, the stay was booked through Travelocity which advertised the room rate with 'Taxes Included' in the rate (highlighted in color). Upon checking in, we discovered that was not the case and Gateway charged us an additional $10.59 for taxes. I don't know it the deception is from Travelocity... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayInnSalida, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review

It seems you were pleased with the room itself, but your complaint lies with the third party booking company, Travelocity. We should not be held responsible for deception on the part of Travelocity, or the fact that you didn't notice the fine print at the bottom of the e-mail they sent you stating that the price they quoted didn't include... More 

Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the noise coming from the room above. The rooms are far from sound insulated. I could hear every step and the folks above me were up until midnight. Otherwise a nice property.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GatewayInnSalida, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad you found the room clean and comfortable, and that our staff was pleasant. I apologize for the noise coming from the room above. Please feel free to call the front desk for any complaints (even other guests) and we will do all we can to resolve the... More 

Saint Louis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We loved our stay here!! Rooms was nice and clean, lots of big soft towels and the little extras (soap, shapoo, etc) came in handy. The breakfasy was good - my 9 yo son loved that he could make his own waffle. The only negative I had... and it wasn't the Hotels fault - there were some bikers staying at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayInnSalida, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! In the summer in Salida, it's sometimes difficult with all the bikers out enjoying our amazing summers. Nonetheless, thank you for being understanding. A visit in the fall or spring is always great as well! Hope to see you again, Tina More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites Salida

Address: 1310 East US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Salida
Gateway Motel Salida

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay