We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Salida hotels

Gateway Inn & Suites Salida

1310 East US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201
Hotel amenities
Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gateway Inn & Suites Salida to your Saves list
79%
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014
Barbara M Kenilworth, New Jersey, United States
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    37
    24
    8
    17
See reviews for
73
55
31
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (223)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We made our reservation months in advance for our son's wedding and when we arrived at check-in they asked us if we got "the message" that they had left on our home answering machine less than two hours before we arrived. They lied to us and told us that a pipe had broke in our suite and that they had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kenilworth, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

While traveling around Colorado I went in Salida. Fabulous town but best of all I decided to stay at the Gateway. What a wonderful inviting atmosphere. The staff is very courteous cheerful and full of area information. The breakfast room in the morning is filled with pastries,waffles coffee juices cereal and fresh fruit. The hot tub was icing on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durango, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Totally overpriced for super old room, takes at least 5 minutes to get hot water then there is no pressure. Would never stay here again. Also they showed a microwave and fridge for the standard room but our room did not have one. Camping would have been much cleaner, quieter and saved me $120/night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakewood, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, and priced well! This was the last stop on our long road trip, and by far, this was the most comfortable stay. The desk employees are very accommodating and efficiant. Breakfast has nice selections, too. We will be staying here on our future stops. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed 1 night booking via Expedia. Upon booking via the Expedia Mobile App it states $79.99 WITH taxes & fees(NO fine print about taxes). I arrive at the motel only to wait 20+ minutes with nobody in the office. I along with other guest rang the bell & also called. Finally I get a lady to answer the phone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The room was basic, relatively clean, no complaints with the room. HOWEVER, the stay was booked through Travelocity which advertised the room rate with 'Taxes Included' in the rate (highlighted in color). Upon checking in, we discovered that was not the case and Gateway charged us an additional $10.59 for taxes. I don't know it the deception is from Travelocity... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayInnSalida, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review

It seems you were pleased with the room itself, but your complaint lies with the third party booking company, Travelocity. We should not be held responsible for deception on the part of Travelocity, or the fact that you didn't notice the fine print at the bottom of the e-mail they sent you stating that the price they quoted didn't include... More

Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the noise coming from the room above. The rooms are far from sound insulated. I could hear every step and the folks above me were up until midnight. Otherwise a nice property.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GatewayInnSalida, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad you found the room clean and comfortable, and that our staff was pleasant. I apologize for the noise coming from the room above. Please feel free to call the front desk for any complaints (even other guests) and we will do all we can to resolve the... More

Saint Louis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We loved our stay here!! Rooms was nice and clean, lots of big soft towels and the little extras (soap, shapoo, etc) came in handy. The breakfasy was good - my 9 yo son loved that he could make his own waffle. The only negative I had... and it wasn't the Hotels fault - there were some bikers staying at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayInnSalida, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! In the summer in Salida, it's sometimes difficult with all the bikers out enjoying our amazing summers. Nonetheless, thank you for being understanding. A visit in the fall or spring is always great as well! Hope to see you again, Tina More

Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Gateway Inn has a beautiful lobby that is a bit misleading. The room itself was very dated with a blue and mauve decor. It was clean, but very basic. The bed was okay but a little too firm. The breakfast was pretty good and the breakfast area was very nice. We were first quoted a price that was much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, Montana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

On a business trip to Salida, I chose this motel because of the price and a couple of good reviews. I saw a couple of not so good reviews, but took the chance. I'm glad I did. The staff was welcoming, helpful and courteous. The room was very clean, the beds were just right and the amenities were very good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayInnSalida, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All of us at the Gateway love our job, and we are happy to know it shows! I've always said "You couldn't pry me from this job with a crowbar!" I'm glad you found (almost) everything satisfactory. Thank you, Tina More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites Salida

Address: 1310 East US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201
Location: United States > Colorado > Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Salida
Gateway Motel Salida

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay