We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SunSet Motel

505 Grand Ave., Grand Lake, CO 80447
SunSet Motel
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (10)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Augusta, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

we've stayed at sunset motel several times, its always been freshly painted,clean and comfortable. the rooms are spacious with gas fire places,small refrigerators and microwaves,very convenient.theres a large heated indoor swimming pool. Kim the manager has always been very accommodating with our schedule for vacation dates. Kim goes out of her way to make sure we have everything we need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We found the experience at The Sunset Motel A+ from the initial contact to reserve dates through check out. Kimberly extended her very best to ensure satisfaction asking if there was anything we needed almost every time we encountered her during our stay. She was responsive in timely fashion with every request of which there were few due to her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lindsborg, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Extremely rude service, I wouldn't even call it service, unclean, unfriendly. Never again. My advice is to not waste your time. We left as quickly as we could to check into another motel that had the same rates for a much nicer room and friendlier service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
White Oak, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Had an emergency and left after an hour, talked to owner she was like " I am sorry, but there is no refunds.... hadn't even sat on the bed there ... to top it off left one of my bags there in the rush to leave and called about it the next day.. so sorry says the owner I can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kimberly M, Manager at SunSet Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you had an emergency. You asked too late for me to refund that is how it goes. I would have offered you a free night in off season to help accommodate and I also offered to send your bag to you but I can not be responsible for you leaving your things behind. More 

Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a whim because it was the only place with vacancy in Grand Lake and I didn't want to drive back to Estes Park. I was offered the trailer (read:RV) parked behind the office. No water or toilet, but hey, the pool had a toilet that was just steps away. It seemed ok, and since I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly M, Manager at SunSet Motel, responded to this review

I can not believe there was not a bed in all of town as it was a busy weekend and you did not make any reservations but I offered you the last bed I knew of in all of town and you broke my bed and left! and then leave a bad review? You never even saw a room. More 

Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are clean. The have not been remodeled maybe recently painted.It had 80's decor, uncomfortable beds, pool closed at 8 pm, no breakfast, and No coffee in rooms or in the office except for weekends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Roy, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My last stay here was wonderful!! Our room was nice and clean.Best Deal at Grand Lake. Very friendly.We have stayed at this motel on several different trips and have never been disappointed. Can't wait till July for our next stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OKC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place has been remodeled, new paint, bedding and landscaping. It's not the Ritz but it is clean and Michelle and Josh were great. I had a low tire and Josh had an air compressor and let me fill my tire.. Best value in Grand Lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Loveland, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had pulled into Grand Lake and went to check to see if the motel had any rooms for the night. The man that I talked to said yes and told me the room number and price to go look at it. After returning the lady was at the front and she rang me up after I looked at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Golden, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I booked the room for two nights.I gave her a credit card to hold the room. I was told that check in time was no earlier than 4:00 pm so it was too early to check in when we arrived. I was going up to Grand Lake for the funeral of a dear family friend that has passed away. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Kimberly M, Manager at SunSet Motel, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bad experience. We strive to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. Please allow us to make it up to you with a free night's stay anytime after Aug. 1st. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question