We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gateway Inn

Certificate of Excellence
200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gateway Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gateway Inn
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    103
    35
    20
    10
See reviews for
99
140
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (315)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (141)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
There are newer reviews for Gateway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed over Labor Day weekend while rest of family camped. Clean great staff couldn't beat the view. Outside firepits while overlooking the lake. Hot tub outside while looking at the multitude of stars. Would recc to anyone. Rooms decorated to fit the mountains.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and the picture! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. During Labor Day weekend we did have amazing stars out which was very nice to hear you guys got to enjoy them as well. Thanks again for the lovely review and picture and hope you stay with us again! More 

Chicagoland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night on August 7th. We didnt have reservations but got a nice room. From what the owner told me the hotel was built in the early 1990s but looks only a few years old as it is very clean and well maintaied. The room we got was on the second floor and very large. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review and all the pictures! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Our staff is a great staff and we are proud of every single one of them. We try to make every hotel guest have the best stay we can. Again thank you for the amazing review and... More 

New Hope, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I would recommend this INN to anyone. I fell in-love w.Grand lake. Gateway was perfect for us. Location, room everything about it was a GATEWAY to GRAND LAKE. Thanks Gateway Inn! Grand lake is magical. Everywhere you walk is a picture. This is the perfect place to relax. We plan on coming to Grand Lake and staying at the Gateway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisaManager, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate how much you really loved our Inn! Also thank you for the tip! During the busy months (summer) our housekeepers can only clean rooms as fast as they are able to. We appreciate that you understand! Thanks again for the amazing review and hope you get to stay with us again sometime! More 

Burry Port, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed one night as part of a fly drive holiday, and, after a confusing check-in, found the place to be ideal. (At check-in we were told that the mountain view room we had booked wasn't available and that Expedia had been trying to contact us with that info. When I told the receptionist that I had a very recent e-mail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LisaManager, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am sorry you had a confusing check-in! I was not the person who checked you in so I can not explain what happen. I can tell you sometimes when we get internet bookings, our system and the internet get lost in translation and do not assign rooms for a reservation. Usually we are every... More 

Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First of all, I did go through Gateway Inn's website thoroughly before I chose my room; as I had read previous reviews complaining of their rooms' view. I wanted to get a room with a balcony and did not face the parking lot; the room was precisely as I had reserved (though I was surprised that there was so much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful response! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and are understandable about why we have the rates the way they are. If you are looking for cheaper rates it does go down in the winter time. The prices range from $89 - $119! So pretty good deals! Yes, we also wish we could make... More 

Melville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great location and staff. Very comfortable rooms with great log cabin beds. Easy access to Rocky Mountain National Park where we went horseback riding. Rose early that day and saw plenty of moose and elk roadside and on the road just around sun up. Great outdoor deck and cheap beers that were excellent. Only negative is lack of food. Popcorn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry that the popcorn was week the night you stayed with us we could of made more if you would have asked. We don't have very much food because our hotel guest were complaining about the fan that we had to keep on in... More 

Peyton, Colorado
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed 1 night on a Sunday night in August. Perfect time (again) with the clean room, great view of the lake and special was the happy hour and music on the deck. Although the restaurant no longer open, they had burgers on the grill + extras being cooked on the deck that were "great" at a nominal $ with great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled that you came back and had another great experience with our hotel! We strive on having a friendly staff and am very happy to hear that you have notice! Thank you again for the review and hope to see you again soon! More 

Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We chose the Gateway Inn because of reviews on Tripadvisor and they did were right on! This beautiful inn is located just as you enter Grand Lake and the views from my window were of Shadow Mountain Lake. It was delightful. It was a Sunday night and a Jazz band (called Tight Like That) were playing and it was perfect.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Tight like that is an awesome band that plays every other Sunday night...we also have other nights when different bands play and as long as the weather is good we try to do burgers on the grill for music nights. Thank you again for... More 

Woodstock, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We rented the four bedroom cottage to stay for our son's wedding which was at Grand Lake Lodge. The lodge is only minutes away and staying at the Gateway Inn got us away from the hustle & bustle of the crowded lodge. Although the Gateway Inn did not have a restaurant, we had a full kitchen and living/dining room in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review! We are happy you had a good time. Yes our cabin is very nice and this is the first year in a while that we have rented it out. You are correct we are close enough to down town. If is a 10 minute walk and a 5 minute drive...same as the Grand Lake... More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Enjoyed our recent stay at the Gateway Inn. It is nicely located right at the entrance to town, making it easy to get both into town and into the National Park. Room was clean, had a nice view of the mountains. It was quiet at night, no noise. Nice to have the wi-fi and a frig in the room (although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We turn off the fridge so that it does not get moldy. We are truly sorry your sink and the sprinkler head was dripping hopefully you told us so we could take care off it. Thanks again for the review and hope you stay with us again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question