We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Grand Lake accommodations

Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins

604 Marina Dr., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
68%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014
Nean1963 Stockton, Kansas
  • Overview
  • Reviews (54)
  • Photos (29)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
15
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We made a reservation for the restaurant and showed up on time. It took 5 minutes for the host (Dave) to even show up. Another group showed up and he took them before us, telling us it would be a few minutes. He was rude and seemed irritated that we were there. We waited another 10 minutes at the host... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you so much for submitting your review. We really appreciate your opinion, it help us tremendously improving our service in the future. I am sorry you had a bad experience in our restaurant. We always try our best to make our guests welcomed and happy, and we apologize for not meeting your expectations in a busy night. We really... More

Stockton, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed a few nights at one of the cabins. Really nice place, clean and affordable. The one thing that it lacked was a microwave.. everything else was super. Great people and a great place to stay at one of the Colorado Rockies little gem towns.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you so much for submitting you review. Your opinion is very important to us! We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us! We apologize for the microwave, and we will make sure this will not happen again. We are looking forward to your return. Kind regards, Mariana Beard. More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The girl at the front desk was rude and disrespectful. There was no toilet paper in the bathroom and the outside grounds of the resort looked trashy. They were working on renovations but garbage/random items were tossed about. I'd rather camp than stay here again. They boast to be dog friendly but aren't very accomidating. Plus the dog on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate your opinion, it help us tremendously improving our service in the future. I am so sorry you had some bad experiences at the Daven Haven Lodge. At the time of your stay here we were in the middle great renovations in our cabins as well as getting new furniture to... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We were there of season but it was amazing anyway. All shops were not open but the ones that were were amazing. People were so nice and the cabin was exactly what we wanted. Great weekend for us. Definately going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting you review! We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, we do try our best to provide the best service we possibly can. Off season in Grand Lake can be difficult for local business and shops in town so I hope you will be able to come back in the pick season... More

Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I used a Living Social coupon and was pleasantly surprised as the cabin exceeded my expectations. It was immaculate, cozy, and quiet. The receptionist was very friendly. I will definitely return again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Hello Carolyne, thank you for submitting your review. Your opinion is very important to us. We do try our best to provide the best service we possibly can, so it is very rewarding to us to hear you had a great stay with us. We are looking forward to your visit! Kind regards, Mariana Beard. More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We weren't able to get from Denver to GL until about 9:30 pm and check out is 11:00 so our stay was short. We didn't meet or even see anyone who works there- our cabin was open with the key on a table when we got there and that's where we left it. All of that was fine though… the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Hi Melissa, thank you so much for submitting your review. Your opinion is very important to us and we do take it in consideration. so we are happy to announce that we have purchased brand new mattresses for our cabins. I hope you can visit us again, so you can meet our staff and enjoy our improved cabins. Kind regards,... More

Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The properties are very quaint and homey. The staff was friendly and always responded to communication leading up to our trip. We were right next to downtown, so it was an easy walk to restaurants, the water, and a little bowling! The one recommendation I would have, is not to rent a room cabin that includes a pull-out couch if... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavenHavenLodge, Customer Relationships Specialist at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Jeanie More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Spruce cabin in town and it was darling. Clean warm cozy, nice all around. No pets allowed. I visited on an off-season groupon which was a great price, and I was one of maybe two visitors in town at the time. I would definitely go back. A few things: you have to supply your own firewood.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavenHavenLodge, Customer Relationships Specialist at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Jeanie More

Brighton, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The cabin is located in a nice location at the edge of town close to the shops and restaurants. We were disappointed there wasn't firewood for guest use so we had to walk a good distance to the store to buy some and the stores are overpriced on pretty much everything. For some reason, the television kept turning itself on... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavenHavenLodge, Customer Relationships Specialist at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. As you can tell by store pricing on bundles of firewood it is expensive all the way around. Our rates would have to increase substantially now days to provide firewood. We enjoyed being able to provide this during the years when it was affordable. Our guest comment cards suggested the overall replies were a... More

Aurora, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We rented cabin 28. It was spacious, clean and the full kitchen was excellent. The owners are very nice and accommodating. Excellent location to visit the great lakes and the National park. Just one concern, the lodge is a pet friendly environment, we are not. The outside of the lodge needs to cleaned of animal dropping.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavenHavenLodge, Customer Relationships Specialist at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

With the snow melt comes the delights of spring, new grass and flowers, but it also comes with the more unpleasant surprises such as poop buds. We have been working on our spring ground clean up and apologize that you had to experience some unpleasantness while you were here. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins

Address: 604 Marina Dr., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A part of Grand Lake since the 1930's Daven Haven Lodge has only had 3 long-term owners since its conception, beginning with Lester and Cornelia Piper and Mrs. Pipers mother Mrs. Davis. The main road to Grand Lake was the street in front of the present main lodge, originally made up of a gas station and several small tourist cabins. The original tourist cabins still remain on the back of the property and are used as employee housing. The Pipers and Mrs. Davis owned and operated Daven Haven until 1968 when they sold to Tom and Betty Sowell who continued to build up their clientele and great reputation into the 80's when they sold Daven Haven and ended up with it back shortly there after. Leasing the lodge proved not to be a good idea and with new ventures on the horizon Tom and Betty bid farewell. The lodge remained closed for a few years and in 1990 reopened with its present owners Greg & Carey Barnes, their sons Dustin & Patrick and their dog Buddie. Now in their 25th season, the Daven Haven atmosphere is still a comforting place to come back to time and time again. With several familiar faces welcoming back our long time guests and greeting our new ones. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer