We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Junction Palomino Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
2400 North Avenue, Grand Junction, CO 81501
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Junction Palomino Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Junction Palomino Inn
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    85
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
54
99
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I saw the pictures of the location I was a bit unsuew of the place, however they don't do justice... and thankfully it had so many god reviews. if you are an European travelling through Colorado, Utah and Arizona by car you will realise that most of the hotels and motels are located on large streets... so no much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Palomino inn for one night - 2 adults & 2kids. The hostess was very nice and friendly - although we came to check in after 9pm without notifying. The room was clean, the beds great and the breakfast way above our expectations! With scrambled eggs, yogurts, and waffles in addition to the cereal, boiled eggs, juice, jam... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

This is one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in. Yes it is an old motel, but has been tastefully redone. Couple of little tweaks, shelf in the bathroom would be nice and towel racks. Did I mention , so clean. Looked for dirt and couldn't find any. Best value ever for 50.00 dollars. Yes, would stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
156 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This was my third time staying at Palomino Inn in Junction City. Rooms are clean, everything in the room works perfectly. Strong water pressure and plenty of hot water. Breakfast is typical and the scrambled eggs taste like they are made from real eggs and not the powdery, tasty junk they have in almost every other hotel. The owners have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alamosa, Colorado
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

As another reviewer suggested, this is a throwback to Mom & Pop motels. Our room had been completely remodeled but done right; no hiding worn or rusty spots. A fridge and microwave were included, along with a flat screen TV. The King bed had a nice soft mattress and sheets. The breakfast had as much variety as some chains, including... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I keepers were rude and unhappy. They were very nosy watching us from other rooms as we came and went through the and night. They treated us like criminals. I don't know what there problem is but I will never go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iwona K, Owner at Grand Junction Palomino Inn, responded to this review

This review is entirely false. The reservation was made on Booking.com and our no pet policy is clearly posted prior to making a reservation. These customers broke this rule and brought a dog on our property anyway. After we saw the dog, we refunded the second night's payment and asked them to leave. We are a family friendly business and... More 

Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

The room was comfortable and clean. The mattresses were very comfortbale (I like firm). The staff was fine- not overly friendly, but not rude either. The rate was very reasonable. The breakfast was not very good. Very few choices, and what was there was old and stale (cheerios, and I took a bit of a pastry that was going bad-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

So the palomino website states "The El Palomino is a friendly family owned business and operated to the highest standards of hospitality". Here's the story to the contrary... I paid for my room and left to go eat food. I saw a homeless man saying he was hungry on my way back to the motel, so I bought him food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Owner very friendly and room was spotless if a little on the small size. Free breakfast was quie good. There is an outdoor pool but it was closed when we visited in October. Bathroom clean but quite small.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
55 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Once again, Tripadvisor steered us in the right direction and was quite accurate. Fit our desire as a small, very reasonable, independent, updated 1960's era motel. The owner was very friendly and helpful, the room was as expected, a bit small (especially the bathroom) but not cramped. Equipped with a fridge and microwave. Everything was very clean and very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question