We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Durango hotels

Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20 Stewart Street, Durango, CO 81301
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
36%
Ranked #22 of 30 hotels in Durango
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
James P Sedona, Arizona
  • Overview
  • Reviews (179)
  • Photos (11)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    55
    38
    27
See reviews for
50
64
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I like staying in Super 8's and this one was fine in all respects except one. First though, special appreciation to night desk person Leslie for an outstandingly arranged lobby breakfast items layout and keeping it clean and well managed while people came and went. Best I've seen at Super 8's. Her other customer service was superb. The problem: I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, responded to this review

Dear John, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We train our staff to provide outstanding service and go above and beyond guest expectation. Our policy for housekeeping is to not open any drawers or fridge for our stay over guest, as we would like to respect... More

Waseca, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They had rooms available, unfortunately. Ours featured mystery odors, small, lumpy pillows, terrible lighting, filthy carpet, and a bathroom fan that operated at unsafe decibel levels. Breakfast not worth mentioning. Really nice front desk people, anyway!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, responded to this review

Dear Shgsdtos, Thank you for taking time to review Super 8 located in Durango Colorado. I am so sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We have just finished with complete renovation two months ago, that included brand new carpets, beds, furniture, bed, bed tops, pillow and lights in all the rooms. Our Super Star... More

Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel was they had rooms for our whole family which took 4 rooms, the hold funds on debit cards plus some extra which bounced my checking account, made a point to ask the guy at the desk and he was o no mame we don't do that, when u got back home went to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, responded to this review

Dear Grneyes1503, I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience while staying with us. We do not charge the credit card or debit card until you check out. The system however does put a hold on the the card for the total amount of stay, to verify there are sufficient funds at check in. The system only authorizes... More

Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights - front desk was exceptional, room was clean, comfortable, and value-priced for the season. Quick drivable access to the RR, downtown, and nearby grocery store. Will definitively lodge here again next time we visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, responded to this review

Dear TMan60, Thank you for taking time to review Super 8 located in Durango Colorado. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff exceptional, our staff works very hard to insure all our guest are comfortable and enjoying their stay with us. We look forward to see you again in very near future.... More

Lone Tree, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a good hotel at a good price relative to tourist season in Durango. The breakfast room was good but needed more seating. Everyone arrives at once if they are riding the DSNG RR. All the Super 8's have waffle makers and a sign saying one needs to flip it to start the timer might be good. Someone will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, responded to this review

Dear Roger, Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to write us a review for Super 8 in Durango. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Super 8 in Durango. We realize that not all our guest might have used the waffle maker on their previous stays, therefore for guest's convenience there are... More

michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We first stayed at another hotel the day before and we switched the next night to the Super 8. Everything was nice the hotel , But did not try the breakfast so I can not comment on that! Check in and out is easy! You can also washing machine and dryer if you need it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, responded to this review

Dear 07escape, Thank you for writing a review for Super 8 located in Durango Colorado. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We want all our guest to enjoy their and explore Durango to its fullest potential. We hope to see you again in near future. Thank you. More

Gallup
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here and thought it couldn't be too bad to manage for one night. We were surprised over the spacious, clean, quiet room. Free wifi in room and refrigerator and coffee maker!!! Great stay and comfy bed. No complaints. Oh and free breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, responded to this review

Dear gkhe1980, Thank you for reviewing Super 8 in Durango, I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully next time you will have more days to spend with us, and would get to truly enjoy the surrounding areas and the best of Durango has to offer. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory

Address: 20 Stewart Street, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory Hotel Durango
Super 8 Durango
Super Eight Durango
Durango Super Eight
Durango Super 8

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Durango with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
85

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer