We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel deals
Hotel website
501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    309
    79
    27
    10
See reviews for
309
353
29
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (931)
  • Mar-May only
    (195)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (323)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (262)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (151)
All months
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
See the most recent reviews
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently spent 1 night at the Doubletree in Durango, opting to check out early and into another local hotel rather than enduring the pain of another night at the Doubletree. How this property got to be the Number #1 rated hotel in Durango is mind boggling. The location of the Doubletree is terrible relative to the other downtown hotels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango. We are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation in our future which will include new beds and many other changes to our guest rooms. We apologize that you did not have a good experience staying with us, we wished we had known about... More 

Montrose
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a handful of times to visit family & ride the DSNGRR. Never Again! 3 out of the past 5 stays at Doubletree Durango have been horrifically filthy. This last stay there was dried bodily fluids on the white coverlet with hair stuck to it, brown dried splashes on the wall in plain sight, something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced. This is definitely not up to our standards. Our staff works hard to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and we will work hard in the future to see that this doesnt happen again. It... More 

north billerica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Doubletree Hotel in Durango is next to the Animas River and within easy walking distance to the Silverton Train and downtown Durango.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback and welcome you back anytime you are in our area. More 

Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel is a little older and shows its mature without taking away from a pleasant experience. Actually, unlike so many of the newer hotels that feel corporate chic but lack some soul, this one feels comfortable the moment you walk in it. The front desk staff was excellent; professional, helpful and friendly. The rooms were roomy and had all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor, We appreciate your feedback and welcome you back anytime you are in the area. More 

London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We recently stayed for four nights during a tour of the South West. The service received was excellent, and both breakfast and dinner proved to be both excellent value and quality. Rooms were very spacious and clean, with really good quality beds, although overall furniture was slightly more dated than we expected. The only downside was the restaurant was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased you found our hotel to be excellent. We strive to be the best. We welcome you back anytime you are in our area. More 

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were driving from the Grand Canyon to Denver for our flight home and I chose this hotel as a midway stay over based on the reviews here on trip advisor.Thank you everyone for your reviews. I will try to add what I thought stood out to our family.There was 4 adults in one room,my 2 boys,my husband and myself.The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and we hope that your next visit you'll plan to stay longer. More 

Payson, Utah
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

One of the nices hotels in Durgano. Very easy to find right downtown. Near old town sections of main street. Very clean rooms and a nice staff You do not get a free breakfast though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to being your hosts again soon. More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here between Great Sand Dunes and Mesa Verde for one perfect night. The hotel is located on the very busy junction of the major East-West and North-South streets. Luckily it is a bit set back from both streets and it is located at the river that flows through Durango, with only a running/cycling trail between the hotel and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciated your kind words and thorough review of our hotel. We're pleased that you see the value in our hotel and appreciated all the extras we provide to our guests. We welcome you back when ever you are in the area. More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
97 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed one night while travelling around Colorado State. The Hotel may be one of the best options in Durango as it is just 2 blocks from downtown area where there are many good restaurants like Ore House. We booked a room with the river view and it was worth it. Breakfast was quite good with plenty of choices. Service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the review information. We're pleased you found us a good option, we've got a great location, with the beautiful Animas River out our back doors, close to town, lots of parking, convenient grocery store next door and all the services you could need right... More 

Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

great place to stay. convenient to the town. clean and comfortable. airport shuttle is a bonus

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate the feedback. We're pleased that you found our location to be convenient for getting around the city and for being located on the Animas River just out our back door. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question