We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Durango hotels

Econo Lodge Durango

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Durango to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Durango
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
39%
Ranked #20 of 30 hotels in Durango
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
David M Taylorsville, Kentucky
  • Overview
  • Reviews (92)
  • Photos (10)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    24
    19
    17
See reviews for
23
29
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every year for the last 10 years, a group of us have gone out on a summer motorcycle adventure. Three times we have spent the night in Durango and three times stayed at this hotel. The first time was by accident, but after the first experience, this is now our hotel of choice. This is not a fancy hotel, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ehjut, General Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review. I am so glad that you found our simple wash station to be a benefit to you. I am also pleased to hear your found our staff to be so accommodating. We look forward to assisting you again on your next visit to Durango! Earl Jack General Manager EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango More

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped in after spending the day at Chaco Canyon didn't have a reservation. Went to a couple of places near downtown that wanted over twice as much for two double beds. Got cleaned up, headed downtown for dinner and relaxing. The rooms face the main drag and you can hear the road noise in the room, more during the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ehjut, General Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be so helpful. We do pride ourselves on providing an excellent value for our guests. Sincerely, Earl Jack General Manager EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango More

Sedona, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On returning home to Sedona we noticed that Econo Lodge had left us a message that we had left our lap top in the room. We returned that night to pick it up. We were very grateful to the staff and management for their honesty. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ehjut, General Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

We are delighted that we were able to reunite you with your laptop!!! We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Durango. Earl Jack General Manager EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango More

Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was traveling to Utah and had to find a stop for the night. This was a last minute decision Figured I'd stop in Durango since I had never been there and wanted to buy some Recreational Marijuana too. Durango doesnt sell Rec MJ yet, so my bad. , Only Econolodge and one other place had rooms, This place is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ehjut, General Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

Durango is truly a destination for motorcycle enthusiasts. Like every hotel in town we are visited by a number of motorcyclists during the summer season. Mostly middle aged professionals from around the globe, here to enjoy the beauty of the southwest. I just wish we had been given the opportunity to address his concerns, during his stay.. We are always... More

michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After driving all day you would expect a nice cool room to sleep in well not at this hotel! Came in to our room and it was 80 in there and the air was running! Went to the front desk and talked to the person in charge he said he had a couple rooms that I could check out and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ehjut, General Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

I am pleased to say that central air is up and working well. I do apologize that the room was not as cool as needed on your visit. If you booked with the hotel directly, on Choicehotels.com or 800-4choice and you did not receive a discount from the front desk, please give me a call and I would be happy... More

Charleston, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The air conditioning didn't work properly in the first room we had so we were moved to another room. The rooms were clean but later we noticed the first room we'd checked into was rented out to another guest even though the a/c didn't work. The rooms are accessed from the outside, therefore, if you are on the second floor,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ehjut, General Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Early in the summer we may have had a few minor issues as we were switching the system over to air conditioning. However, I am surprised to hear of someone having difficulties on a on a recent visit. The system is working great and producing cool air that is 55º... More

Granbury, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I stay at a lot of choice hotels and this one is a dump. Breakfast was the worst selection I have seen, there are ashtrays every 10 feet and a motorcycle washing station out front. Place should be about 50 bucks and the rooms are 150 in season. We checked out and left mid stay and changed hotels after complaining... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Our breakfast does far exceed a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things. We do not allow smoking in any of our rooms. However, we do... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I called the hotel in April to book a room for 3 nights starting on 6-23-2014. When I arrived I was surprised by the run down look of the motel and when I tried to check in I was informed that they had booked me for only 1 night and were sold out for the next 2 nights. I did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gold coast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This motel is tired and old fashion - an old TV set, no refrigerator, no microwave, a very basic and unhealthy breakfast and self serve. The bed was very soft covered with creased, non ironed linens. The reception staff were not very welcoming. A car is needed to drive to town....it may have been much better to check in one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

We were very sorry to hear that your recent stay at our hotel did not exceed your expectations. We do offer microwaves and fridges in all of our suites and a microwave is available for all of our guests at the front desk. The sheets are washed, dried and changed daily. It would be extremely uncommon to find sheets being... More

Secaucus, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at 3 Econolodge hotels on this trip. The one in Durango was by far the worst. Pros Friendly front desk staff was very helpful Decent enough bed Cons: Very small room. The king sized bed occupied most of the room. Though there was a large closet, there wasn't a light in it. To find things , you needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that your stay was less than enjoyable. I wish that any or all of these issues would have been brought to my attention during your stay so we could have fixed them for you. We could have possibly moved you into a larger suite with a microwave and fridge as well as a large... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Durango

Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Durango 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Econo Lodge

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Durango with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
41

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Durango staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer