We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Durango hotels

Econo Lodge Durango

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Durango to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Durango
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
41%
Ranked #20 of 30 hotels in Durango
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
dilouGoldCoast gold coast
  • Overview
  • Reviews (88)
  • Photos (10)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    23
    18
    17
See reviews for
22
28
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After driving all day you would expect a nice cool room to sleep in well not at this hotel! Came in to our room and it was 80 in there and the air was running! Went to the front desk and talked to the person in charge he said he had a couple rooms that I could check out and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The air conditioning didn't work properly in the first room we had so we were moved to another room. The rooms were clean but later we noticed the first room we'd checked into was rented out to another guest even though the a/c didn't work. The rooms are accessed from the outside, therefore, if you are on the second floor,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ehjut, General Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Early in the summer we may have had a few minor issues as we were switching the system over to air conditioning. However, I am surprised to hear of someone having difficulties on a on a recent visit. The system is working great and producing cool air that is 55º... More

Granbury, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stay at a lot of choice hotels and this one is a dump. Breakfast was the worst selection I have seen, there are ashtrays every 10 feet and a motorcycle washing station out front. Place should be about 50 bucks and the rooms are 150 in season. We checked out and left mid stay and changed hotels after complaining... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Our breakfast does far exceed a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things. We do not allow smoking in any of our rooms. However, we do... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I called the hotel in April to book a room for 3 nights starting on 6-23-2014. When I arrived I was surprised by the run down look of the motel and when I tried to check in I was informed that they had booked me for only 1 night and were sold out for the next 2 nights. I did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gold coast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This motel is tired and old fashion - an old TV set, no refrigerator, no microwave, a very basic and unhealthy breakfast and self serve. The bed was very soft covered with creased, non ironed linens. The reception staff were not very welcoming. A car is needed to drive to town....it may have been much better to check in one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

We were very sorry to hear that your recent stay at our hotel did not exceed your expectations. We do offer microwaves and fridges in all of our suites and a microwave is available for all of our guests at the front desk. The sheets are washed, dried and changed daily. It would be extremely uncommon to find sheets being... More

Secaucus, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at 3 Econolodge hotels on this trip. The one in Durango was by far the worst. Pros Friendly front desk staff was very helpful Decent enough bed Cons: Very small room. The king sized bed occupied most of the room. Though there was a large closet, there wasn't a light in it. To find things , you needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that your stay was less than enjoyable. I wish that any or all of these issues would have been brought to my attention during your stay so we could have fixed them for you. We could have possibly moved you into a larger suite with a microwave and fridge as well as a large... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great room. Second floor. View of Main Street and mountains in the distance. Only drawback: you can hear every noise; neighbors, street sweepers at 4 am, garbage truck 6 am, traffic all night, kids (soccer tournament during our visit). Breakfast room was very small, when you enter people actually have to pivot or walk out of area to let you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed there over spring break.Great location, great staff, clean rooms, bed's where very comfortable loved their pillows, .The kids had fun making waffles in the morning. Look forward to next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Our breakfast does far exceed a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things. We look forward to serving you again next spring break! Earl Jack Assistant General Manager EconoLodge - Durango More

Jemez Pueblo, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location, Comfortable beds, super friendly front desk folks, reasonable price. No hot water the first morning of my stay. Plenty the next morning. Traffic noise is pretty loud in the rooms. NO hair dryer, iron, coffee pot...NOTHING in the rooms. Coffee isn't bad in the breakfast room.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your recent experience at with us. We are the closest hotel on the north side to downtown and most guests do enjoy our Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattresses. Hair dyers, irons and coffee makers are standard in all of our suites and for all of our guests hair dryers and irons are available upon request. We are also... More

Worthington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge in Durango Colorado a few weeks ago. Earl was at the front desk and was very helpful. The place is worn and could use some fresh paint and new carpeting, but the price is what attracted us to stay there. As long as the beds are OK, the room quiet and the shower hot,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ehjut, Manager at Econo Lodge Durango, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are please you enjoyed our Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattresses. I am pleased to say that all of our rooms were freshly painted last year and that all of our bathrooms will be newly renovated in time for this years summer season. Again, thank you for your review. Earl Jack... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Durango

Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Durango 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Econo Lodge

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
41

See which rooms travelers prefer