We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    262
    153
    67
    25
    17
See reviews for
163
187
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (524)
  • Mar-May only
    (131)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (190)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (139)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed another nice stay at this hotel. Excellent downtown location within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and train. Very nice breakfast and Happy Hour! Great indoor pool area and hot tub.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review of our property. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as it gives our future guests an experience before they step into the door. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your return visit and I hope you got to have some fun while visiting Durango. If there is anything we can do for you... More 

Spanaway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Would stay here again. Staff was courteous and friendly and everything within in walking distance. No need to drive anywhere for us. You get a free drink for each night you stay. Breakfast buffet was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued response. Your feedback is important to us and it helps us better serve our future guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back to see us again. If we may be of assistance please let us know. Have a nice day! Michael Vice 970-385-4980 michael@bwriograndeinn.com More 

Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights - very pleasant stay with a great daily breakfast and friendly staff. The room was very nice with good beds, good in-room coffee, a refrigerator and a safe. Hotel is only a short walk to the Durango-Silverton train and local restaurants, yet off the "main drag." I would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review of our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back to see us again. If we may be of any assistance please contact us and again thank you for your feedback. Michael Vice 970-385-4980 michael@bwriograndeinn.com More 

Waukee, IA., United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We found this Best Western to be a good value for the dollar. The room was up to date and very clean. It was nice to come back to our room with no surprises after a long, hot day. A very enjoyable stay in all regards.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate your continued support of our hotel. We do have a great location and a great staff. Thank you for coming back and staying with us. Enjoy your holiday! Mary Kay Dobson 970-385-4980 marykay@bwriograndeinn.com More 

Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were grateful to get a hotel room at the Best Western. We love our AAA discount and we have traveled to many Best Westerns over the last 10 years. The young lady that helped us at the desk was very professional and helpful. But when we got up to our room door we were shocked. The door was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our most sincere apologies. It was not our intention to make you unhappy. We strive to make your stay enjoyable and we always welcome feedback and criticism. We do have many visitors during our summer months and motor coach tours are a large portion of our summer business. Most tour groups have... More 

Springfield, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful experience at this hotel. Walking distance to all shops and restaurants. Rooms were clean, bed was comfortable. My favorite part of this hotel was the balconies. I am a smoker and the balcony was a perfect spot for me. Yes, if you are "concerned" I did shut the door when I was outside. The staff is very helpful. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing us this outstanding review. We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back to see us again as there are many fun activities to do in Durango. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with this review. Have a nice day! Michael Vice 970-385-4980 michael@bwriograndeinn.com More 

Charlestown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decent place to stay in Durango, within short walk to the train and downtown. Stayed for 3 nights. Room was clean and bed comfortable. The breakfast was good; food options were kept replenished. 2 cocktails were made available per guest in the early evenings. Nice touch. As someone else said the parking is somewhat limited close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel on this site. We do have a great hotel with an excellent location. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the amenities that the hotel has to offer. We do have 2 different parking areas and I apologize that you were unable to find a spot that was convenient to... More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here last weekend after being unable to get enough cell service to research hotels in the area. It was getting late and I had work to do so I walked in and reserved a room here. Nice looking hotel, terrible parking. The price of the room blew me away. The government rate was $188/night which I thought was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Again, I do apologize for the problems that you had during your stay. We did have some wifi issues due to a cable that was cut and we have since repaired that line. My staff usually goes above and beyond for our guests. Everyone of our guests is a preferred customer and that response is totally unacceptable to me. I... More 

Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived the staff that work at this hotel were excellent, hard working, and wonderful to us. My son thoroughly enjoyed the indoor pool. We found the beds to be very comfortable, and we really liked the bedding. I am a light sleeper and I had no problems with noise at all. The room was very clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We have replaced all the furnishings, the mattresses, the carpet and the tub surrounds in the rooms over the past 3 years. I believe that we will be updating again starting in the fall. We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback about the hotel and our staff. We hope that you... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is near the downtown action, but feels a little secluded on a side street. We walked downtown easily for dinner, then again for breakfast. No complaints about the room, which was very clean and well presented. Two drink tickets for cocktail hour - a nice touch. Only complaint is that the hotel is pricey, but I guess that's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Durango. We definitely love our little town and pride our staff to present the most clean rooms. It's nice when our guests acknowledge their effort and say so publicly. The demand for hotel rooms in the summer time increases... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay