We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

2.5 of 5 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    127
    56
    25
    17
See reviews for
140
147
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (442)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (164)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (139)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
58 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location, location, location... that's what they always say... and this Inn has it.... And bigger rooms and affordability than most of the nicer Durango hotels in walking distance to the train depot and downtown area. The other Best Western's in town have good ratings as well but unfortunately for them not the location for downtown. That being said the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review. We would have been happy to move you to a different room even if you were staying on points. We want you to be happy with your stay. I was confused as well by the reviews about the condition of the hotel. We have been working hard to keep it nice. We... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We live in the area and frequently stay in durango for mini-vacations. After several stays in the past few years we have moved on. While there's no denying the location and overall design are wonderful, it IS an old building and needs to be refurbished and the design updated to stay competitive. I just hope they don't wait too long.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have been refurbishing over the past 4 years. We have added new case goods, new linens, new mattresses, new room carpeting,new a/c's, new 42" flat screen tv's and new tub surrounds. We have also added new granite counter tops in our breakfast room... More 

phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed at the Rio Grande over the last 20 winters skiing at Purg. Hasn't aged at all. Staff is always polite and professional, breakfast is hot and fresh Rooms are always kept clean the maid service is thorough. Everything is always in good working order. Hotel is convenient to downtown and all the great restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy that you keep coming back and are pleased with the changes that we have made. We do have a great staff and housekeeping does an outstanding job. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon. Mary Kay Dobson 970-385-4980 marykay@bwriograndeinn.com More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our room was clean and neat. The free breakfast was great. Plenty to choose from. This hotel is a wonderful choice for your family! We parked close to our room and check in was a breeze. Just wish the pool was open later than 9pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the outstanding review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that the hotel has to offer. I am sorry about the pool hours. Since we have an indoor pool in an atrium setting the noise does tend to echo a bit and we do have guests that retire early.... More 

n.m.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Best Western Rio Grande for about the last 18 years ,twice a year. Winter holidays and summer. It was great when the Kids were little and now with a grown family and a grandchild, it's still great. Always a great staff, reliable accommodations. Great service and amenities. and the best location in town. Still our... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the outstanding review. We are so happy that your family has made our hotel your lodging choice while you are visiting Durango. We all hope that your holidays were great and look forward to seeing you in the spring. Mary Kay Dobson 970-385-4980 marykay@bwriograndeinn.com More 

Frierson, La
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had rented a room at Durango Lodge for our daughters family while we were visiting. We have a condo in Durango and this was very close. The first two might at the Durango Lodge were a nightmare. My daughter called the BEST WESTERN and they were wonderful. They gave her a great discount because she didn't want their stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We were happy to help your daughter out and glad that she had a good time with us! We hope that we will see her again someday soon. Have a great 2015!! Mary Kay Dobson 970-385-4980 marykay@bwriograndeinn.com More 

The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is not inexpensive for Durango and it is not new, but it is in a good location, has free parking, free internet, free nightly reception(2 drinks pp), and a pretty good free breakfast buffet. After an RV trip in October, we came back right after Christmas to see Durango in winter. From the hotel you can easily walk the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We do have a lot of families during Polar Express days and I am glad that you enjoyed watching all the activity. We do have an older property but we try and make it as comfortable as possible. We hope that your holidays were fun and that the New Year brings you... More 

Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall the hotel is not in good condition and not well maintained. Marginally clean. The room setup was cramped and poorly arranged and furnished. The evening drink was a bonus. Lobby was one tiny room. Hot tub looked like someone had used it for a bubble bath. Would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your accommodations. As you can see from other guests that have posted on this site we generally have very positive reviews. We do have larger rooms that we would have been happy to move you to had we known that you were unhappy. I am glad that you enjoyed the evening... More 

Westminster, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay at this hotel every week for business. The entire staff is excellent and treats me as a member of my second family. I love the location(walking distance to the best of Durango), the rooms and did I mention the staff? I could stay anywhere in Durango but I choose the Best Western Rio Grande.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very kindly for this outstanding review. We sincerely appreciate you taking your time to provide us with such kind words. All of us here at The Best Western Rio Grande thank you for your continued support. Happy Holidays! Michael Vice 970-385-4980 michael@bwriograndeinn.com More 

New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We recently stayed at this hotel during a short trip to Durango in December 2014. The room was very large and comfortable, though we were right by the pool area, so it was a bit loud. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and even went so far as to check road conditions for us upon checkout. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We have a lot of kids for the Polar Express and they love the pool! I do apologize for the noise. The breakfast room can get crowded when everyone hits it at the same time but we do have trays available for you to take it back to your room and there... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay