We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wapiti Lodge

Hotel website
21625 Hwy 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wapiti Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wapiti Lodge
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
There are newer reviews for Wapiti Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Los Ranchos, NM
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were staying just one night to have dinner with a friend, but I was ashamed to invite him into the room. Overall, the Wapiti Lodge is modest - and that is giving it a great deal of credit. The towels were approximately half-size of what is normal, the soap is miniscule, and the room was very noisy (which could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We continue to do many upgrades to the rooms and most are quite pleased with their stay. The soda machine and snack machine are now fixed. I hope you give us another chance in the near future. Sincerely, Management More 

Carrollton, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great place to stay with children or grandchildren as we did. It was very nice to have a place the grandkids could play on a lswingset on a private lawn. We enjoyed eating at the picnic table too. Unfortunately it is located close to a very busy intersection so it is a bit noisy when you're outdoors but inside is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to your return stay. Management More 

Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We chose Wapiti Lodge because we were on a fishing trip and did not want to schlep our gear through the lobby of a nice hotel. This is an old facility that has been upgraded, to some extent. First, the room was very clean, the beds comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. . On the downside, we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope you will return again. Sincerely, Management More 

Chico, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We decided to make Durango our summer vacation destination after passing thru last summer. Staying at Wapiti Lodge again and the stay was just as enjoyable the second stay. The new owners are just as friendly and welcoming. This may be an older motel but the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. There is so much to explore in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope you will return again soon! Sincerely, Management More 

Buena Vista, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I booked a room here by calling in and the front desk lady was super sweet. Her friendliness over the phone made me feel at home before we even arrived. She even called me to make sure we were okay and still coming since we had not arrived at the time I had told her and it was getting late.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

FYI: Be aware that interior deadbolt locks are not provided in these rooms. Nor are peepholes or "Do Not Disturb" door hangers provided. There is no way to eliminate the possibility of being interrupted by housekeeping or anyone with a key while you shower or are otherwise indisposed, as happened to me, due to a major miscommunication within the office... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Wrightwood, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Smaller older property. Parking in front of rooms. Right on highway 160, so if traffic noise bothers you this is not the best choice in Durango. The motel has a lovely lawn in front with big shade trees and even barbecues for guest use. Also playground equipment for kids. Sleeping area of rooms is large. Bathrooms are small. It's clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clinton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff was very accommodating, nice and easy to deal with. The room was clean, comfortable, well maintained and a good value. Also a short walk to downtown. I will certainly stay there in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My significant other and I stayed here my last evening in Colorado so I'd be closer to the airport for my 6am flight. The staff was friendly and it was a cute little motel, but there wasn't anything super spectacular about it. The rates were rather high considering the lack of accommodations (no mini-fridge, microwave, limited tv channels, etc) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Just needed a bed and shower and that is what it lodge offered. Very clean, room bed and bathroom, very clean. Excellent place to spend a night, free wifi, no frills, drop you key in the slot next Morning and your checked out. It's not a resort, was not meant to be. Just a clean place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Other (59)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities