We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wapiti Lodge

2.0 of 5 21625 Hwy 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wapiti Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wapiti Lodge
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I'm a big review reader. I always read the worst first. And of the four I read, I was figuring I was getting what my money paid for. I mean for $60/night I wasn't expecting a mini bar and 1000 thread count sheets. I was expecting a room, bed, bathroom, and possibly a tv. And that is exactly what I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Covina, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent one night. If you like "old school" motel stays, this is your choice in Durango. Right off Hwy 160. room with two queens very comfortable. Heat easy to use. TV is big , bulky, like I have in my garage. Simple, simple, simple. I like my coffee in the morning, but have to cross the highway to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed at the Wapiti Lodge for one night. The rooms are clean, nothing special but it's all we needed for just one night. The owner, Garth, has a great sense of humor and was very nice. It's a quick walk to downtown Durango. There are several big chains hotels right near by, but I would rather give my business... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

LOCATION Easy to find in West Durango, right on highway 160. Restaurant opposite. Amenities such as supermarket and petrol station a short drive away in Durango. MOTEL Traditional, family run motel. Grassy area out front with swings, picnic benches, bbq. Personable front-desk but not too professional. Not forthcoming with info such as what room we were in, or where it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We checked in this past weekend for one night and was not disappointed. The gentlemen at the desk was friendly and helpful. The lodge is within 5 minutes of Main Street and about 10 minutes from Fort Lewis. Gas stations, grocery stores, convenient stores and restaurants very close and convenient. The lodge is older but that is what attracted us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durango, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

For a small business, it's ok. The staff that I encountered were nice. I travel solo, so I require minimal necessities, but WiFi is one of them (Wapiti's WiFi was completely inconsistent). How hard is it to provide consistent WiFi? Apparently the Wapiti has trouble with that. Luckily my room was near the Residence Inn (next door), so I used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feed back of our property. We were in the process of waiting for our new internet service via the cable company. After a lot of untangling for them, we now have our new WIFI set up and it's high quality. I hope you choose to come back again, we are constantly upgrading our rooms... More 

Golden, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We stayed here in late June 2014 for three nights. It was perfect for us! We stayed in the room with two queen beds and and the kitchen option, which we did use just a little - not for full cooking, but it was a great for our minimal needs - better than trying to cut watermelon on a bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We too enjoyed your stay :-) Management More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a great little lodge. As a family of four we stayed comfortably. Walking distance to the Durango, Silverton RR Depot. (Sidewalk along Hwy 160 for 1/4 mile or so before crossing into town). Convenient walk and not look for parking for the train, restaurants or shopping. Our visit was early July, while Durango seemed crowded the Wapiti Lodge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

So happy you enjoyed your stay! Please come again. Management More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place is shabby. That might be overlooked if the service was good: its not. For example We stayed in a room with 2 beds and a foldout but only 2 towels despite our booking well ahead. All attempts to contact reception (quite early in the night) failed. Perhaps we have been a little spoiled by good experiences of other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry you were unhappy with our service. Did you try and ring the bell at the night desk? I hope you give us another chance. Management More 

Los Ranchos, NM
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were staying just one night to have dinner with a friend, but I was ashamed to invite him into the room. Overall, the Wapiti Lodge is modest - and that is giving it a great deal of credit. The towels were approximately half-size of what is normal, the soap is miniscule, and the room was very noisy (which could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We continue to do many upgrades to the rooms and most are quite pleased with their stay. The soda machine and snack machine are now fixed. I hope you give us another chance in the near future. Sincerely, Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wapiti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapiti Lodge

Address: 21625 Hwy 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wapiti Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wapiti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Other (59)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay