We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wapiti Lodge

2.0 of 5 21625 Hwy 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Hotel website
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wapiti Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wapiti Lodge
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

LOCATION Easy to find in West Durango, right on highway 160. Restaurant opposite. Amenities such as supermarket and petrol station a short drive away in Durango. MOTEL Traditional, family run motel. Grassy area out front with swings, picnic benches, bbq. Personable front-desk but not too professional. Not forthcoming with info such as what room we were in, or where it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We checked in this past weekend for one night and was not disappointed. The gentlemen at the desk was friendly and helpful. The lodge is within 5 minutes of Main Street and about 10 minutes from Fort Lewis. Gas stations, grocery stores, convenient stores and restaurants very close and convenient. The lodge is older but that is what attracted us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durango, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

For a small business, it's ok. The staff that I encountered were nice. I travel solo, so I require minimal necessities, but WiFi is one of them (Wapiti's WiFi was completely inconsistent). How hard is it to provide consistent WiFi? Apparently the Wapiti has trouble with that. Luckily my room was near the Residence Inn (next door), so I used... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feed back of our property. We were in the process of waiting for our new internet service via the cable company. After a lot of untangling for them, we now have our new WIFI set up and it's high quality. I hope you choose to come back again, we are constantly upgrading our rooms... More

Golden, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We stayed here in late June 2014 for three nights. It was perfect for us! We stayed in the room with two queen beds and and the kitchen option, which we did use just a little - not for full cooking, but it was a great for our minimal needs - better than trying to cut watermelon on a bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We too enjoyed your stay :-) Management More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a great little lodge. As a family of four we stayed comfortably. Walking distance to the Durango, Silverton RR Depot. (Sidewalk along Hwy 160 for 1/4 mile or so before crossing into town). Convenient walk and not look for parking for the train, restaurants or shopping. Our visit was early July, while Durango seemed crowded the Wapiti Lodge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

So happy you enjoyed your stay! Please come again. Management More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place is shabby. That might be overlooked if the service was good: its not. For example We stayed in a room with 2 beds and a foldout but only 2 towels despite our booking well ahead. All attempts to contact reception (quite early in the night) failed. Perhaps we have been a little spoiled by good experiences of other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry you were unhappy with our service. Did you try and ring the bell at the night desk? I hope you give us another chance. Management More

Los Ranchos, NM
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were staying just one night to have dinner with a friend, but I was ashamed to invite him into the room. Overall, the Wapiti Lodge is modest - and that is giving it a great deal of credit. The towels were approximately half-size of what is normal, the soap is miniscule, and the room was very noisy (which could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We continue to do many upgrades to the rooms and most are quite pleased with their stay. The soda machine and snack machine are now fixed. I hope you give us another chance in the near future. Sincerely, Management More

Carrollton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great place to stay with children or grandchildren as we did. It was very nice to have a place the grandkids could play on a lswingset on a private lawn. We enjoyed eating at the picnic table too. Unfortunately it is located close to a very busy intersection so it is a bit noisy when you're outdoors but inside is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to your return stay. Management More

Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We chose Wapiti Lodge because we were on a fishing trip and did not want to schlep our gear through the lobby of a nice hotel. This is an old facility that has been upgraded, to some extent. First, the room was very clean, the beds comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. . On the downside, we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope you will return again. Sincerely, Management More

Chico, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We decided to make Durango our summer vacation destination after passing thru last summer. Staying at Wapiti Lodge again and the stay was just as enjoyable the second stay. The new owners are just as friendly and welcoming. This may be an older motel but the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. There is so much to explore in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garth S, Manager at Wapiti Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope you will return again soon! Sincerely, Management More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wapiti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapiti Lodge

Address: 21625 Hwy 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wapiti Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wapiti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Other (59)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay