We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown)
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #69 of 149 Hotels in Denver
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Jacblack Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    151
    112
    36
    23
See reviews for
44
126
36
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (409)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our second stay here and it was even better than the first. They had a big renovation and the rooms were awesome. The staff and valet were friendly and helpful. We loved that we could walk right to 16th street and have a nice dinner and people watch. Will stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montrose, Colorado
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel a lot when it was the Comfort Inn because we had access to the Brown Palace and could charge meals there to our room. You can still do that, but since Holiday Inn took this place over, it has gone downhill. We arrived with a lot of luggage only to find no luggage carts anywhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear FrequentGuest444, We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are excited to announce our renovations are rapidly coming to an end. We hope you are able to see the new product we are offering and the dream behind the construction. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience this caused during your time with us. We hope for the opportunity to make... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival I spoke to David who told me about the hotel and he treated me as if he were my next door neighbor, he called me by my last name but explained please call me by my first. I met him upon check in and was very pleasant to me, even shook my hand. At check in, I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Josh, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I was thrilled to learn that Tucker, David, and Sarah gave you exceptional service during your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This visit was bad from start to finish. The hotel is difficult to get to, parking is bad, even the valet. While under construction the front desk is in a hallway and the elevators were not working well. The room was tiny and had the feel of a cruise ship or RV. No hot water and pressure in the shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear KlSunny, Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We always strive to provide a flawless hotel experience I regret that we were not able to provide that for you during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the construction and I am truly sorry you were inconvenienced. Please be... More 

Parker
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our "give them another chance" stay and it was much better. The room was very clean, the front desk and the valet people were very nice. The breakfast was decent, of course not as good as a "breakfast" joint but was edible. Coffee was delicious. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kiticat, Thank you so much for taking the time to join us again and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your return stay. Feedback is one of the best ways for us to improve upon our services, so we are always thankful to those that let us know about their time with us. Regards, Front Office Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 19th floor. The room was amazing although there were no coffee cups provided. It was clean and there was a great view. We asked the lady at the front desk (Christina) if she knew of a good bar and restaurant. She said "Head across the street to the Ship Tavern, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear J. Wendland, Thank you for your candid review. I apologize that your recent stay did not meet your expectations and that you had issues with the payments for your stay. I appreciate your comments and I will share them with our associates to improve upon our training. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in... More 

Evanston, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Of course there are other better hotels in the area, but this hotel was WAY cheaper and was quite comfortable. the Internet has worked flawlessly for free in my room and I have stayed here for 4 days. the breakfast was good the room was clean. the staff is very nice. the only thing that I can really complain about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ashi, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff where able to make your stay memorable and easy. It's something our associates take great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Front Office Manager More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is fantastic - close to everything. Room was so so. Carpet had stains, room felt a little cramped, but had a great view (from the 20th floor). Hotel was under some sort of renovation (March '15), so had to use service elevator. As always, Holiday Inns free breakfast was awesome. Two things to know about this location - if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BPManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Aaron, Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our guests. I thrilled that you enjoyed the breakfast. We hope for the opportunity to make this up to you the next time you are in... More 

Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First let me start off that I booked this hotel and used my reward points. We stayed in room 1868. The room itself was very small, I could not believe it when we walked in. The white pillow cases had red lipstick on them, hair on the bathroom floor, not counter space, even for a curling iron, we pulled the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Usmcwife926, I was dismayed to learn of the shortcomings you encountered with your housekeeping service. Please be assured that your feedback is most valuable and will be used for retraining purposes of our associates. I am truly sorry your stay was impacted. Regards, Front Office Manager More 

Janesville, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friends and I came to the downtown Denver HIE for an extended weekend. I wish they would have been a little more informative, getting a straight answer was like pulling teeth. We were never told that their double bed rooms were actually 2 FULL size beds, what a disaster. No adults I know sleep 2 people to a full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dana, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions and the uninformed valet staff. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question