We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown)
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #68 of 149 Hotels in Denver
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Halle B Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    152
    113
    36
    23
See reviews for
44
127
37
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (413)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in the downtown holiday in express for the last few nights of our honeymoon. Staff were very friendly and helpful. the hotel is clean and bright but it's very strange that the bathrooms have glass doors! Something's are too much to share! Otherwise a lovely stay in a great central location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first time visiting Denver, and I had a wonderful time. The hotel is nice, clean, and modern. The location is near several restaurants and other places within walking distance. The staff at the front desk were some of the friendliest I have encountered in a long time (particularly Sarah and Christina). These girls always had a smile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What great little hotel! It's one block away from the 16th Street Mall, close to the capital, close to great restaurants, and theatres. The free WIFI was excellent and so was the staff. They even have free breakfast! Overall a great stay. Oh...be ready to pay $35 a night for valet parking. It's a deal cause there's no other affordable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel because we were doing an event at the Brown Palace, which is across the street and a sister property to the Holiday inn Express. The HIE was under renovation and getting into the front entrance was a bit like maneuvering through an obstacle course. Only one elevator was working during the majority of our stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ChipCoffey, Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown. We appreciate your candid review regarding the water, breakfast and thermostat. We apologize that you were not comfortable during your recent stay and your expectations were not met. Please know we will share your feedback with our Engineering team, as well as our management team... More 

Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

This was our second stay here and it was even better than the first. They had a big renovation and the rooms were awesome. The staff and valet were friendly and helpful. We loved that we could walk right to 16th street and have a nice dinner and people watch. Will stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montrose, Colorado
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We stayed at this hotel a lot when it was the Comfort Inn because we had access to the Brown Palace and could charge meals there to our room. You can still do that, but since Holiday Inn took this place over, it has gone downhill. We arrived with a lot of luggage only to find no luggage carts anywhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear FrequentGuest444, We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are excited to announce our renovations are rapidly coming to an end. We hope you are able to see the new product we are offering and the dream behind the construction. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience this caused during your time with us. We hope for the opportunity to make... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Upon arrival I spoke to David who told me about the hotel and he treated me as if he were my next door neighbor, he called me by my last name but explained please call me by my first. I met him upon check in and was very pleasant to me, even shook my hand. At check in, I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Josh, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I was thrilled to learn that Tucker, David, and Sarah gave you exceptional service during your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

This visit was bad from start to finish. The hotel is difficult to get to, parking is bad, even the valet. While under construction the front desk is in a hallway and the elevators were not working well. The room was tiny and had the feel of a cruise ship or RV. No hot water and pressure in the shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear KlSunny, Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We always strive to provide a flawless hotel experience I regret that we were not able to provide that for you during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the construction and I am truly sorry you were inconvenienced. Please be... More 

Parker
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

This was our "give them another chance" stay and it was much better. The room was very clean, the front desk and the valet people were very nice. The breakfast was decent, of course not as good as a "breakfast" joint but was edible. Coffee was delicious. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kiticat, Thank you so much for taking the time to join us again and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your return stay. Feedback is one of the best ways for us to improve upon our services, so we are always thankful to those that let us know about their time with us. Regards, Front Office Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 19th floor. The room was amazing although there were no coffee cups provided. It was clean and there was a great view. We asked the lady at the front desk (Christina) if she knew of a good bar and restaurant. She said "Head across the street to the Ship Tavern, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear J. Wendland, Thank you for your candid review. I apologize that your recent stay did not meet your expectations and that you had issues with the payments for your stay. I appreciate your comments and I will share them with our associates to improve upon our training. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities