We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown)
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #69 of 149 Hotels in Denver
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Ashi_Evanston Evanston, IL
Rate this Hotel

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    149
    110
    35
    23
See reviews for
44
124
35
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (403)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Evanston, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Of course there are other better hotels in the area, but this hotel was WAY cheaper and was quite comfortable. the Internet has worked flawlessly for free in my room and I have stayed here for 4 days. the breakfast was good the room was clean. the staff is very nice. the only thing that I can really complain about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is fantastic - close to everything. Room was so so. Carpet had stains, room felt a little cramped, but had a great view (from the 20th floor). Hotel was under some sort of renovation (March '15), so had to use service elevator. As always, Holiday Inns free breakfast was awesome. Two things to know about this location - if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BPManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Aaron, Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our guests. I thrilled that you enjoyed the breakfast. We hope for the opportunity to make this up to you the next time you are in... More 

Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First let me start off that I booked this hotel and used my reward points. We stayed in room 1868. The room itself was very small, I could not believe it when we walked in. The white pillow cases had red lipstick on them, hair on the bathroom floor, not counter space, even for a curling iron, we pulled the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Usmcwife926, I was dismayed to learn of the shortcomings you encountered with your housekeeping service. Please be assured that your feedback is most valuable and will be used for retraining purposes of our associates. I am truly sorry your stay was impacted. Regards, Front Office Manager More 

Janesville, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I came to the downtown Denver HIE for an extended weekend. I wish they would have been a little more informative, getting a straight answer was like pulling teeth. We were never told that their double bed rooms were actually 2 FULL size beds, what a disaster. No adults I know sleep 2 people to a full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dana, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions and the uninformed valet staff. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Holiday Inn Express are always a little shy on the airs and graces but that is the business model so keep that in context. Staff excellent, Location excellent (for us at least). Room was great (bumped to suite because we are IHG Platinum). Surprised to see such a large Suite in an Express and it was much more roomy than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Been-n-Done, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the construction of the hotel did not hinder you during your stay. The takes great pride in providing an enjoyable stay and I look forward to sharing your feedback with them. We hope you will visit... More 

St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although there is construction currently, it didn't interfere with our stay. Rooms are updated and clean, beds and pillows and are comfy. DAVID AT THE FRONT DESK IS AN ABSOLUTE ASSET TO THIS COMPANY!!! He went above and beyond and was very helpful with any questions/requests we had. CHARITY at the front desk was also very kind and helpful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BPManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear TravelJunkie037, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I was delighted to hear that David and Charity provided you with exceptional service. It is the greatest pleasure to know their special efforts are appreciated. I look forward to sharing your wonderful comments with them. Regards, General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there with my wife for 2 nights, to attend a convention in Denver. The hotel is conveniently located for shopping, and there are several restaurants around. But it's in reconstruction, and some elevators were not working. The room itself was small, much smaller than I've been used to in other Holiday Inn Express. The bathroom door was kind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Hjourdain, Thank you for taking the time to write us about your recent stay. I was disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you encountered and for in inconvenience caused by our renovation. Please accept my apologies that your stay was impacted. We appreciate your candid feedback and your comments will be shared with the management team. Regards, Holiday Inn... More 

Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although under reconstruction the hotel is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is really good with plenty of choice, but I found the savoury cooked breakfast was cold. However lots of other food to choose including healthy options. Staff very helpful. Very convenient for downtown locations. Unfortunately bedroom walls are thin so you can hear your neighbours!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Julia, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am glad the staff were able to provide you with exceptional service. I apologize that the breakfast items were cold - I will reach out to our breakfast attendants and let them know to check on the temperature so our future... More 

Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for a 3 night Valentines day weekend. I have to say that I was a bit surprised that this HIEX wasn't the typical great experience I usually have. I always try and give the benefit of the doubt, but there were too many little disappointing things added up to get anything other than an average... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear TmRad70, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We always strive hard to meet the needs of our guests and are disappointed when we fail to due so. Please accept my apologies that our staff failed to display the warm and genuine service we are known for. Please be assured that this behavior... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is currently under construction (Feb 2015). The hotel itself is really nice - the breakfast was outstanding - coffee/tea available all day and well stocked - the breakfast staff were great. The location was also great - just a few blocks from the Colorado Convention Center (where we were all weekend for a tournament) and convenient to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Howiegrace, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown. Please accept my apologies for the issues you had during your stay due to construction and noise. I will make sure that I reach out to the engineering and hotel management to make sure they are aware. I appreciate the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question