We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for one week and I found it not appropriate for long stay. Heating system not working well; wind came in as there were no double windows. Good location. Not much to see around however. Yard house and brown hotel restaurants were the only places I could go after 7pm.

Helpful?
Thank Irene F
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First, location is great, near shops, restaurants, etc. Rooms are clean, but VERY small, and the bathrooms are probably the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel. The parking valets are beyond obnoxious. On two occasions I had my Uber driver pull into the covered "breezeway" area to drop me off, because Denver had just had about 12 inches of... More 

Helpful?
Thank GumshoeOK
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

DearDear GumshoeOK, Thank you for joining us at the Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown. We are saddened that your visit fell far from not only your expectations but ours as well. Please be advised that our Valets goal is to decrease congestion and increase our guest safety. With so many cars coming into and out of the underway you mentioned... More 

Travelers are raving about these Denver hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a great location and easy to get to. Unlike the Crowne Plaza down the street they do not offer parking discounts for IHG members. You have to pay full Valet fee. The front desk staff was pleasant and while they welcomed me as a rewards member they did not offer me points vs welcome bag. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tinade41
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location to downtown bars, easy to walk to after a night on the town. It's a very simple room, but that's all you need, if you are going to go out then crash for the night. The beds were very comfortable and the check in/check out times were very accommodating to my schedule. It's always a good idea to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valerie L, Thank you for joining us at the Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Denver. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the bed, check in/out times, as well as the breakfast. We look forward to you next visit to the Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown. Warm regards,... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms leave quite a bit to be desired, and the glass doors on the bathroom make this a poor choice if you're not comfortable sharing a bathroom with your travel companions. Room size and parking rates are probably comparable to other downtown hotels. Overall, a fine place to stay for a quick night in downtown Denver.

Helpful?
Thank Christina M
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Christina M, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the glass doors not meeting your expectations. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Warm regards, Front Office Management More 

Brigantine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Clean, good service, convenient to downtown & full breakfast. No safe, no fridge & intermittent wi-fi. $4.00 for a bottle of water at the hotel. Walking distance to 16th Street Mall and Capital building.

Helpful?
Thank Henry E
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Henry E, Although we are pleased that you enjoyed the location of Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, we do regret that you were disappointed with the overall pricing. All the aspects of the hotel including the bottled are benchmarked against similar properties in the Denver area. In this way, we can ensure we are offering fair prices to our... More 

Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Pro's: Breakfast is free and with enough healthy variety to prepare you for a full morning of work, if you're off to a meeting or a conference. Eating area is spacious and airy, and the hotel provides a variety of free newspapers (readable ones! not just USA Today). The hotel is fine - aesthetics are fine, overall fine. Also, I'm... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shmamy
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear shmamy, Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered with the thermostat, desk lamp, and curtains. We are truly sorry that you were inconvenienced by these issues and that your stay was impacted. Please be assured that your feedback is most valuable to us and will help ensure that your future experiences with us, as well as... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

I've stayed at this property in the past. The location is wonderful. Your in the heart of the city and lots to do nearby. This visit was not do great. Front desk was nice room was clean. Bed however was one of the worst I ever slept in. Very uncomfortable. Pillows you have 2 choices, firm or soft. The air... More 

Helpful?
Thank AWexford
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear AWexford, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely,... More 

Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

Stayed for only one night during a convention, but were treated like their best customer. From the desk clerks to the parking attendants, the service was top notch. We had a nice corner room with a beautiful view. The only possible negative is a small bathroom, but it wasn't a problem at all. Highly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank ilovesincity
BPManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ilovesincity, We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. Thank you for your kind words regarding our associates. We hope to visit with you again soon. Warm regards, Front Office Management More 

Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

Checked in on a Thursday night for a 3 night weekend stay. We were placed in a room with 2 doubles on the 15th floor. The desk clerk who checked us in was really nice, cheerful and helpful. As the hotel is downtown the rooms are not very big, but anyone who expects a big room downtown doesn't travel very... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacketsman
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

354 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Corner King Room (25)
Viewed
Double-Double Room (24)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Suite (29)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Denver
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Downtown
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#31 of 150 in Denver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay