We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel

#9 of 150 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
1717 Champa St. at 17th, Denver, CO 80202
Special Offer
Swing Batter Batter
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    624
    252
    76
    24
    20
See reviews for
148
345
79
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (996)
  • Mar-May only
    (251)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (311)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (226)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (208)
All months
columbia, missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the accommodating staff to the gorgeous lobby, the wine reception, the lush king bed, and the lovely goldfish that was my roommate during this short stay I loved this property. I highly recommend a room with a jetted tub, but you may have to bring your own bubble bath.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I can only say great things about this hotel. It's in a great location. It's beautiful. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. We arrived shortly before the wine reception was ending in the lobby, so Eric at the front desk, gave us a couple of coupons for some wine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi ritsriii, We are only great because of great guests like you! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay, from the welcome beers to Eric to your great suite! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Denver! Cheers, Melissa Deacon Director of Guest Services More 

New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Impeccable service as always! The location is PERFECT, right in the heart of downtown. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Mediterranean Spa Suite, and the room was a nice size, able to accommodate a friend and ginormous dog! Though not a fan of the room decor, the biggest issue was the temperature. The a/c was definitely not cool enough.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello SuzieQtee, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! I am sorry to hear that the room temp was an issue... I am like you, I prefer my room ice cold! Thank you for being a Kimpton fan, even if we're not your favorite :) We do hope you visit us again soon! Kind regards, Melissa... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I love the Kimpton chain. Excellent restaurant. Rooms smallish but well-equipped (even yoga mats!) and bed was comfortable and service excellent, Loved the free bike in nice flat Denver downtown area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon DrKacieCrisp, We are so happy to hear you had another great experience at one of our Kimpton Hotels! We look forward to seeing you again to offer you a different room type (as the square footage can definitely vary from one room to the next). Come back and see us again! Kind regards, Melissa Deacon Director of Guest... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing but positive things to say about this hotel and as long as Kendal Young's there I'll keep going back. Helped my group out with an early check in so many thanks. From check in to out the value of this hotel is fantastic. Loads of great shopping in the area and 5 minute walk from a Fogo de Chao.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello CimmyP, Thank you so much for the awesome review! I am so happy to hear that Kendal helped make your experience flawless from check-in to check-out. We can't wait to have you and your group back! Cheers, Melissa Deacon Director of Guest Services More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So we were there for a Red Rocks three day music event. We arrived at 3pm which is check in time and they said they had let so many people in early that our room wasn't going to be ready. Umm not our problem. Then they said we could go wait in the bar. They didn't offer to take our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello teresa n, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your experience. I am truly sorry that you received inconsistent service amongst our hotel staff. Most of all, I am sorry that you learned of the water situation by the guest letter rather than by a team member. I will certainly be sharing your feedback... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the front desk to the bellman to the maintenance workers everyone is extremely friendly and personable. Even the managers break the mold. The staff turned my vacation around and I plan to return. Great boutique hotel and awesome restaurant. You have to try the Roasted Brussel Spouts! Wine Hour isn't to be missed, and definitely join their FREE rewards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello cbwing, Your review gave me goosebumps! I am so excited to hear that you tried the Brussel Sprouts... they are truly delicious! Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff, our amenities and the little extra special touches that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Denver. Cheers,... More 

Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the opportunity to stay at the Monaco this past weekend with my son and my dog. Knowing this was a Kimpton property, I had high expectations based on previous stays in other Kimpton hotels, and the Monaco did not disappoint. The property is in a great location. This was important for us, as we needed to exercise our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FishDurango, What a lovely review! We are so thrilled to see that your experience was amazing, even with the hot water issue throughout the city. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and we can't wait to welcome you back! Kind regards, Melissa Deacon Director of Guest Services More 

Avon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a funky little hotel. We were told (by friends) we got a goldfish for our room and were a little disappointed that we did not get one. However, it was a great stay after a wild night out in Denver. Great staff too! We would recommend a stay at the hotel Monaco!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Julia O, Thank you so much for your review. Your friends told you right... we deliver goldfish upon request for all of our guests! It's called our Guppy Love program. I am so sorry to hear that a goldfish never swam it's way to your room. We look forward to welcoming you back! Cheers, Melissa Deacon Director of Guest... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was an amazing stay during our Denver adventure. It is in a great location downtown that is walkable to everything. The rooms are VERY comfortable and the staff very nice. The only thing they lack is coffee in the room and room views. But, otherwise, this is a very classy place without being pretentious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melissa D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ryan M, Thank you for staying with us and writing a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, our staff and our great downtown location. The next time you stay with us, feel free to reach out to me directly so we can offer a room with a better view as well as provide you a coffee... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

700 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (243)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (79)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (375)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
Mediterranean Suite (73)
Viewed
Monte Carlo Suite (65)
Viewed
Premier Guestroom (56)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (82)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#7 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#32 of 150 in Denver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Downtown
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay