We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Chalet

Certificate of Excellence
1820 E. Colfax Ave., Denver, CO 80218
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Chalet
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    66
    35
    15
    14
    9
See reviews for
18
49
27
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband was a little dismayed when he saw the Holiday Chalet, since I booked it on line. But once we were inside, he agreed it was a good choice. Not your typical clone of a hotel room, we had a nice little kitchenette where we ate some of the best bourbon chicken take-out (recommended by one of the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bryon P, General Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. The Bourbon Grill where you got your chicken is really, really good. Well worth standing on the street to get it. Next time you come back for the chicken, come in to see us. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at this little gem of a B&B. The breakfasts are fresh and home cooked specifically to your test.there is never a rush to push you out and the conversations with the other guests were always interesting . Timothy the proprietor provided hpelpful hints on local restaurants and on sites to see in Denver and in Colorado. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bryon P, General Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and hope you will return to Holiday Chalet next time you're in Denver. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed one night in Denver while waiting to move into our apartment nearby. A friendly man, perhaps the owner was welcoming and made check-in a breeze at the late hour we arrived after our long trip. The rooms are dated, but fair for the price. The air-conditioning was enough to keep us cool on a hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bryon P, General Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind and honest review. As the new GM of Holiday Chalet I will be working on updating the hotel's decor including the rooms. I apologize if it was not to your standards, but am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

This B&B is NOT for me! Perhaps the room my husband and I stayed in was the lemon of the place, but it was the most overpriced lemon we’ve ever experienced. There is no parking lot so you have to try and park on the busy side streets. Our King Suite had an old, uncomfortable, squeaky Queen sized bed and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bryon P, General Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had with us. I am the new General Manager and will be making quite a few changes over the next few months to improve guest experience. I know that parking is an issue in our neighborhood, and I will be trying to come up with creative solutions to make it easier on... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

This is possibly my favorite hotel that I've stayed in yet. I literally want to live in the queen suite with its luxorious comforter, bright sunroom overlooking the enclosed courtyard, and kitchonette stocked with with pots, dishes and cups. It's got the decor of your favorite country inns but is in the Upper Colfax neighborhood by Voodoo Donuts. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bryon P, General Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. Come back and see us anytime! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

The room was large and the staff was friendly, but the building is very old and everything creaks. The room was facing the street (which was very busy during the night), the walls extremely thin, the adjacent rooms full of insomniacs talking out loud or walking about on creaky floors in the middle of the night (ie. 3am or 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bryon P, General Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your honest response. Holiday Chalet is under new management, and as the new GM I take guest experience very seriously. Please know that I hear your complaints and will be working on fixing many issues over the next few months to ensure that future guests have a better experience... More 

Oshkosh, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I wasn't sure what to expect since many of the reviews online were mixed but I love staying at new places and this seemed like a great location. I should have asked when we made the reservation, but we needed to plug in a freezer from our car to an outlet outside. I was sure that we would have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OutDoorGirlDenver_CO, Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are located in the heart of Capital Hill which can be an urban area in parts (aka Colfax Ave) and yes we have our share of vagrants but, with that said, the Denver Business Journal, on April 13, 2015, ranked Capital Hill as one of the top 10 beautiful neighborhoods... More 

Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

The building and location here are excellent. It is within easy walking distance to venues like the Fillmore and Ogden and that general area. The owners/workers were friendly and helpful. The rooms were fairly large and clean with comfortable beds and relative quiet for the downtown area.I definitely recommend giving the Holiday Chalet a try!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
OutDoorGirlDenver_CO, Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so glad that you had a great time! Please come back to visit us when you are back in the Denver area! We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! More 

South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We made a reservation in February for a trip in April for my son and his wife who were visiting their grandmother who lives a few blocks from the hotel. The reservation clerk was very helpful as we explained they had a small infant and would need a pack and play. We were quoted a rate and booking fee was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OutDoorGirlDenver_CO, Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

We are very, very sorry for your experience and want you to know that those people that you were dealing with are no longer a part of this company. We were in the process of leasing to this couple until we found out all of the horrible things that were being done to our guests! This is unacceptable and should... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

This is a neat old house, but issues with our stay. The staff was new (Crystal is gone) and there were several mixups in getting the correct room (which was really big and nice) and wifi code. Also a few problems with the window in the room. The location is on a VERY busy and noisy street, so lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OutDoorGirlDenver_CO, Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review! Just an FYI, Crystal is back and we are now under her management but we do have a whole new staff to make your trip memorable! We apologize for the limited breakfast choices while you were staying with us. We were making some staffing changes and no chef... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Ramada Denver Downtown
#85 of 150 in Denver
3.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#33 of 150 in Denver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay