We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Chalet

Certificate of Excellence
1820 E. Colfax Ave., Denver, CO 80218
Hotel amenities
Holiday Chalet
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 9 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
Add Photo

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    64
    34
    16
    14
    8
See reviews for
18
45
27
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is possibly my favorite hotel that I've stayed in yet. I literally want to live in the queen suite with its luxorious comforter, bright sunroom overlooking the enclosed courtyard, and kitchonette stocked with with pots, dishes and cups. It's got the decor of your favorite country inns but is in the Upper Colfax neighborhood by Voodoo Donuts. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

The room was large and the staff was friendly, but the building is very old and everything creaks. The room was facing the street (which was very busy during the night), the walls extremely thin, the adjacent rooms full of insomniacs talking out loud or walking about on creaky floors in the middle of the night (ie. 3am or 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oshkosh, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I wasn't sure what to expect since many of the reviews online were mixed but I love staying at new places and this seemed like a great location. I should have asked when we made the reservation, but we needed to plug in a freezer from our car to an outlet outside. I was sure that we would have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OutDoorGirlDenver_CO, Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are located in the heart of Capital Hill which can be an urban area in parts (aka Colfax Ave) and yes we have our share of vagrants but, with that said, the Denver Business Journal, on April 13, 2015, ranked Capital Hill as one of the top 10 beautiful neighborhoods... More 

Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

The building and location here are excellent. It is within easy walking distance to venues like the Fillmore and Ogden and that general area. The owners/workers were friendly and helpful. The rooms were fairly large and clean with comfortable beds and relative quiet for the downtown area.I definitely recommend giving the Holiday Chalet a try!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
OutDoorGirlDenver_CO, Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so glad that you had a great time! Please come back to visit us when you are back in the Denver area! We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! More 

South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We made a reservation in February for a trip in April for my son and his wife who were visiting their grandmother who lives a few blocks from the hotel. The reservation clerk was very helpful as we explained they had a small infant and would need a pack and play. We were quoted a rate and booking fee was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OutDoorGirlDenver_CO, Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

We are very, very sorry for your experience and want you to know that those people that you were dealing with are no longer a part of this company. We were in the process of leasing to this couple until we found out all of the horrible things that were being done to our guests! This is unacceptable and should... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

This is a neat old house, but issues with our stay. The staff was new (Crystal is gone) and there were several mixups in getting the correct room (which was really big and nice) and wifi code. Also a few problems with the window in the room. The location is on a VERY busy and noisy street, so lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OutDoorGirlDenver_CO, Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review! Just an FYI, Crystal is back and we are now under her management but we do have a whole new staff to make your trip memorable! We apologize for the limited breakfast choices while you were staying with us. We were making some staffing changes and no chef... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Do not I repeat do not stay here. I am not kidding. I am pretty tolerant, but when we tried to check in the owner was asleep. When she woke up at 530 pm she was incoherent. We had been placed in the wrong room. She was going to kick out the people that were in the room we booked,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OutDoorGirlDenver_CO, Manager at Holiday Chalet, responded to this review

First off, let us apologize for your experience here with us. That employee was just coming back from a long trip and catching up on sleep but that is still no excuse for the way things were handled and it is our responsibility to make up for that. We have currently gone through a few changes in policies and well... More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Me, my husband and our friends stayed at the Holiday Chalet this past weekend when we went up to Denver for a night on the town. This hotel is in a wonderful location close to theaters, concert halls and only a $10 cab ride to Denver's nightlife. The décor is completely unique and the elegance is something you can only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I needed a week of quite time and found it at the Holiday Chalet. I rented a car but never really had a need for it, lots of good eats and cool sites all within walking distances. A special thank you to Crystal, the Proprietor of the Holiday Chalet, From check in to check out made me feel welcomed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I am very happy to have stumbled across holiday chalet for my stay in Denver. it is very comfortable and a nice change to stay in an older building. my room is clean, has hardwood floors, small kitchen with stove, comfortable chairs, a desk, and a small breakfast room with windows. the televisions have DVD players and the guests are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay