We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Crested Butte B&Bs / inns

Elk Mountain Lodge

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Elk Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Elk Mountain Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com Priceline.com
and 6 more sites!
94%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014
Dennis P Long Neck, Delaware
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    37
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
90
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Neck, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

What an awesome stay! Lori, our innkeeper couldn't have been more inviting! We liked the history and local flavor. The fresh breakfast was a bonus. Lori provided many insights to what made the town interesting. The room was large and furnished well. Best said, if we return to Crested Butte, we will stay at Elk Mountain Lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durango, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I had an amazing stay at the Elks Mountain Lodge in Crested Butte, CO this past week. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a great view of the 7 ft of fresh snow right outside our window! Each morning we had a complimentary breakfast of coffee, tea, OJ, fresh fruit, assortment of breads, yogurt and granola.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

in trying to make a reservation i was so turned off, we went elsewhere even though friends were staying there. i spoke with a gentleman over the phone after researching online - perhaps someone was having a bad day, but felt like it didn't need to be shifted to anyone else. then again maybe it wasn't meant to be but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nolan72, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

I'm sorry your phone experience did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately we have policies that do not accommodate your needs. Our lodge is Historic and we do not allow 4 young kids in one room out of courtesy to our other guests. Our rooms only hold 2 people and it's more of an adult atmosphere at the Elk Mtn Lodge. More

Miami
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our second stay at the lodge solidified why we love this town. The owner and staff make you feel like home. The breakfast is excellent as the food is always fresh and delicious. We loved that the breakfast time was flexible and we did not have to be at a table for a set eating time. For the skiers out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a recent visit. Originally booking through hotwires low rate guarantee rooms so we didn't know whet the hotel was until after we paid. We were very happy with the location we got. The rooms were cute, beds comfy, and overall even with a packed house it was quiet. I suggest you request a room that isn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've been coming to this treasured B&B for the past 10 years during the winter season. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. We always select the larger rooms to have more space. The breakfast is very good and you'll never go hungry. The staff is the most teasured aspect of our stay. Coming back yearly has enabled us get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Everywhere!
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The rooms are nice, they're warm, nice bed and descent bathroom in what appears to be some sort of early 1900s hotel? Wooden inside, very old school. The breakfast is plentiful, they make snacks and coffee/tea throughout the day. The hot tub seems to never be used, which is great for us! Only 2 blocks from downtown, and a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmond, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We came to Crested Butte just before the Lodge was about to close for the season. Which to me is the best time to go. Along with our traveling companions we had the Lodge to ourselves. The owner was very helpful in getting our luggage up the stairs... we had booked rooms on the 3rd floor but after arriving decided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Elk Mountain was an average B&B. Location was good, 2 blocks from Elk Street, the main street in Crested Butte. Room was very small. Breakfast was OK for a continental breakfast. Nothing special. Wireless internet was not good on the 3rd floor. We had to leave our room to get a connection. Room key did not work properly and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nolan72, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. It's unfortunate because if you mentioned your concerns we could have moved you to a bigger room that is closer to the Wi-fi signal. Our web site is quite clear that 3rd floor rooms are small. Our second floor rooms are much larger. I would like to mention you decided to stay... More

Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our repeat stays at the Elk Mountain Lodge are never disappointing. We love the comfortable lobby and outdoor adirondack chairs. Cookies and hot tea or espresso in the afternoon are a welcome. Very clean rooms with soft bath towels. This small lodge has a delicious and nutritious breakfast to start your day. The main town street is only a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte
Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.