We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget Host Royal Gorge Inn

217 North Raynolds, Canon City, CO 81212-2756 (Formerly Days Inn)
Hotel amenities
Budget Host Royal Gorge Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Canon City
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015
LHelker Golden, Colorado
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We didn't have a reservation, we were just coming through to take the Royal Gorge Train. The room was clean and a good size. The bath fixtures were outdated, but worked well. Pool and hot tub were good (especially the hot tub) but sauna was not working. Also, A/C was noisy. For a one-night stay, this was a good deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We arrived in Canon City to experience the Royal George train and suspension bridge only to arrive in the town and find most hotels were booked out (labour Day weekend). We arrived at the Budget and they had a room and at a good price! No breakfast or coffee but it did have television, microwave and a fridge. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Staci G, Front desk at Budget Host Royal Gorge Inn, responded to this review

We wanted to thank you Darren W. for you nice review of the Budget Host Royal Gorge Inn. We hope if you are ever in our area again you will choose to stay with us again. More 

Carthage, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were told at another hotel we wouldn't be able to get a room for under $100 in Canon City, but decided to try the Budget Host. We paid $70 and were happy with our stay. The pool and hot tub area were nice and clean. The room was basic, but clean. There was no breakfast, just weak coffee in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Staci G, Front Desk at Budget Host Royal Gorge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much Janendtx for such a nice review. We at the Budget Host understand how expensive it can be to travel and also pay for lodging. We are happy that your stay with us was in your budget and hope to see you again if you come back to our area. More 

Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights here on a family visit. This was our second time staying here. The price is good, the front desk staff friendly and the room always clean. Everything worked just fine in the room and the water got as hot as you could want it. If you expect a 5 star resort experience, go to one.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hammond, Louisiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

They're the ones on a budget, no continental breakfast, no in-room coffee makers, a sign in the lobby, "One cup of coffee per guest." It wasn't cheaper than other area hotels either. Will consider other hotels on our next trip to Canon City.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boardman, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had reservations from May until our trip in July. I wondered why this hotel was cheaper than the others in the area. Now I know!! When we arrived at 2 pm it was 98 degrees outside. We entered to a hot lobby and we were shown to a room that was very hot. We figured that the air conditioning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6

Travelers are raving about these Canon City hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

When I arrived, my front desk experience was the most professional I've ever encountered. A young man named Bren helped me with every aspect of checking in and even offered to help with my luggage. My request for a quiet room was met with a discussion of the fact that there were neighbors behind the property with loud dogs and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very clean, very economical stopover. We stayed here a couple of nights during a much longer Colorado trip mixing a little business and a lot of pleasure. This motel looks like your average motor lodge, but the proprietors here work hard to keep the place clean and in good repair. Make no mistake, this is not a luxury vacation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canon City, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

When arriving after booking through Expedia, the clerk was extremely rude. After this experience, we decided not to stay there. After calling back to speak with management, she hung up on me and refused to connect me to management.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed at the Royal Gorge Budget Inn based on the posted reviews. I can safely say we will never stay there again. You couldn't adjust the water temp in the bath, the wi fi didn't work though the manager. who is hard to find, insisted that it did, the "breakfast was only a muffin, and left over muffins came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay