We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    526
    122
    44
    20
See reviews for
423
456
50
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1385)
  • Mar-May only
    (373)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (338)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (381)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (293)
All months
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

this hotel primarily is best when you get a room facing the pool area. The beautiful flowers and the exquisite view of the city are super! Sometimes the front desk staff gets busy but typically very helpful. i have stayed here a couple of times and for the dollar value for this area of town in LA a good value.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Couldn't fault anything great location , perhaps staff at reception could had been a little more helpful and friendly but overall a good place to stay. Good food across the road , and the Hot Dogs well worth trying , Great for all amenities.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

As the headline states, you are not getting much here for the amount of money you will part with. Comfortable beds but that's about it. Our room view was a wall! Poor desk staff apart from one guy and $18.00 to park the car. You would think that when you are paying the robbing amounts that they ask for, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This beautiful hotel made for such a pleasant stay! The pool area is gorgeous with many flowers and birds, like little Italian villa. The breakfast was filling with some good options for everyone. they also keep tea outside the breakfast room all night which is very convenient! The front desk staff was very polite and Mark the concierge was wonderful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunsetPlaza8400, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy many of our amenities while you were vacationing with us. We look forward to your next visit at the Sunset Plaza. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall, very nice hotel. Not happy with the staff and making our stay comfortable. Had a loud banging noise coming from the refrigerator or piping that woke us up 3 times during the night, two nights in a row. Instead of fixing the problem or at least moving us to another room until the problem was fixed, the manager did... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very overpriced for what you get. Paid almost $300 for a dark room with virtually no windows (one small one that looked out on a concrete wall) and a parking lot that was almost impossible to find (no signs in the front at all to direct you to the parking lot). Staff were less than interested in my frustration about... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunsetPlaza8400, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your frustration in finding our underground parking. Guests are welcome to by-pass our Registration Zone in front of the hotel and proceed directly to our underground parking. The entrance is behind the hotel with a luminated sign that says Best Western. We are sorry you missed it. We hope you will give us another... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a room by the pool which was really enchanting, the view, the possibility of relaxing and jumping into a heated pool at the end of the day. Quiet room by the pool even if Sunset Boulevard is noisy. Efficient staff.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tempe, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Bait and Switch!!! Nothing like the online photos. I will NEVER stay at another Best Western and will ensure all my friends and colleagues know how the online photographs do not represent the actual appearance of the room. The dresser was missing a drawer. The chair and foot rest were both badly stained. The "sofabed" did not exist. No remote... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunsetPlaza8400, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

We are sincerely sorry that you were unhappy during your stay. We offer sofabeds in all our Two-Room Suites and your reservation was for a standard room with Two -Queen beds. I’m happy to hear that my staff provided you with a rollaway bed at no charge. Our hotel has 100mg high speed Wi-fi which is accessible to all our... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great time at the Best Western Sunset, West Hollywood. Great location, close to Sunset strip, eateries, (starbucks also across the road) and attractions. The room was clean and bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was ok and complimentary. I could only get wifi in the hallway and lobby area, but other than that i would definetly stay... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice surprise, great location on sunset boulevard, oppersite a great ranch style pub/bar. Hotel rooms are clean and well presented. The courtyard swimming pool is fantastic especially after a day out sightseeing

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SunsetPlaza8400, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our Housekeeping Staff do try their best and their efforts are recognized. We've just won an award for exemplary cleanliness at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Pool area(19)
  • Saddle Ranch(13)
  • Very clean(7)
  • Would definitely stay(4)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)
  • Great location(3)
  • Room service(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

961 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (439)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (79)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (133)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (476)
Viewed
Amenities (76)
Viewed
Double King Room (70)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (61)
Viewed
Mini Suite (78)
Viewed
Pool (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in West Hollywood

Neighborhood Profile
West Hollywood
For years, West Hollywood has been known as a hub for the LGBT communities in Los Angeles. Today it still maintains the title, but has also become the “it” neighborhood for the entertainment industry’s up-and-comers. Producers, directors, writers and aspiring actors call this area home. Known for great boutique shopping, vintage clothing stores, home décor shops and fitness studios, West Hollywood is a grid of wide boulevards and narrow residential streets. The neighborhood also has a concentration of the most avant-garde restaurants in Los Angeles (rivaled only by the burgeoning restaurant scene Downtown). A trip to the iconic Sunset Strip, with its many clubs, music venues, hotels and flashing lights won’t be forgotten.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay