We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

#1 of 10 Hotels in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2645 South Melrose Drive, Vista, CA 92081
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    50
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
89
23
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Lodi, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked our stay here for our family Legoland/San Diego zoo trip. The hotel is secluded from the main Vista/Carlsbad areas so it's pretty quiet. Parking is plentiful and free. The rooms need some updating though. It is not as nice as the other Hyatts we have stayed at and we are members of the Hyatt. It's older looking on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review

Dear Tiffgilrls, Thank you for spending your spring break with us this year! I am delighted that Brittany exceeded your expectations and I have discussed your comments with her. Further, I have discussed your return experience with our team as we should have been understanding and apologetic regarding the reservations issue. It's great you availed yourselves of our breakfast. It... More 

Lodi, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Usually I don't like to write bad reviews, this is a must. I had booked a night through my American Express Travel service for 1 night stay so we can leave the next morning for Legoland. I booked it because I thought the hotel was newly built and decent reviews. I had booked and requested for a " KING" bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review

Dear Tonyphan23, I am so very disappointed with your experience at our hotel! We should have found a way to accommodate you and your family when we became oversold in king rooms. I have discussed your comments and how to handle these issues in the future with our team so we will not have this reoccur. I have also noted... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place upheld Hyatt quality with its large, spacious rooms. Our room had a nice sized living space with a sleeper sofa bed and two queen beds. The decor was standard and business-like. The place was clean and the room was made up everyday and fully restocked with plenty of fresh towels. My only complaint regarding the room would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review

Dear alymj, I am delighted that you chose our hotel to meet you and your family's needs during your recent trip to Carlsbad! I appreciate your candid comments regarding your experience. I have discussed your comments regarding the motion sensor light in the bathroom of the room you occupied as well as your experience with the engineer in the elevator... More 

Concord, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed three nights in this hotel while visiting Legoland and the Safari Park on an extended weekend. The bed was comfortable, and the kids did not complain about the sofa bed. The room was a nice size and clean. Breakfast was excellent for being included at this price point. I don't think I've had waffles anywhere less than $100/nt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review

Dear megananna22, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time with us during your recent LEGOLAND family vacation! Thank you for your kind words regarding the service, room size and breakfast! I have discussed your comments regarding the motion sensor lighting in the room you occupied as well as the day we didn't honor your do not disturb request. I appreciate... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family has stayed at this hotel on a previous visit to Legoland. It is convenient and reasonably priced. However on this visit 2/26/14 and 2/28/14 it was somewhat disappointing. Upon arrival we opened the mini fridge and saw the previous guests take out food and pudding. My two little boys needed a bath and the drain was broke and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review

Dear Momof2fabboys, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your recent weekend trip from Tucson! I sincerely apologize that you experience wasn't excellent. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Finding evidence of a previous guest is a cardinal sin for a hotel, a guest should have a pristine room upon arrival. I can assure... More 

SAN FRANCISCO
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The majority of my stays for business here in Carlsbad (Vista) are at this hotel. I enjoyed both good and bad stays at a lot of hotels during my business trips; Hyatt Place is one of those hotels. I checked in very late after many delays getting to San Diego which were weather related. After 1:15AM, another guest and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review

Dear TONEYTUNE, I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced after what was a frustrating and long travel day for you. I can assure you that your experience is certainly not acceptable and we value you as a loyal patron of our hotel, and I appreciate you bringing your experience to my attention. These matters concern me significantly and I... More 

Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This hotel is excellent. The rooms are nice and quite large for the price you pay. There are plenty of amenities including free breakfast. The hotel is convenient to many local attractions and the staff even make this a better place. Its probably one of the best spots especially if you have kids staying with you. There are also hiking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review

Dear Rick M, I'm delighted you picked our hotel to meet you and your family's needs during your trip to Carlsbad! I appreciate your comments and recommendation regarding our amenities and the level of service offered by our personable hosts! We do have hiking/running trails just to the west of our hotel in the open space that has myriad wildlife... More 

Palmdale, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

This Hyatt property is quite a special place. The staff is professional, personable and eager to accommodate the guests every need. Sarah and Devon were very welcoming and skilfull at the front desk. The dining room and bartending staff are also very helpful. The breakfast is good and the use of real dinnerware is a classy touch. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review

Dear Johnny R, Thank you for selecting our hotel to play host to you and your significant other during your recent trip to Carlsbad! I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us, and will pass along your compliments to Devon, Sarah, and the rest of our team! I appreciate your recognition of our eco-friendly feature of the in-room energy... More 

Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Got this as a "mystery" hotel on Hotwire and was extremely pleased. Brand new hotel. Great location. Spacious and clean room. Breakfast was great. Nice pool and spa. Couldn't have been more pleased with our experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review

Dear CA_TOFFEE_FAN, I too love the brittle goodness of toffee! Congratulations on your "win" of our hotel on Hotwire! I am delighted you and your family were excited by the value of your experience! I hope to see you again soon! Wes Lavender More 

San Francisco, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

This was a better experience. On my second visit, a host did not want to be bothered in helping me to cancel a reservation; she said just to call the reservations number myself. Back in the day, it was all about service, as I interned at a Hyatt Hotel long ago in Palo Alto. Now, it is about convenience. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review

Dear Vegaztony, It's great to hear that our team was able to turnaround your previous experience! We take service very seriously as we know that our customers chose us not based on our location or amenities as much as how our service level meets their needs. I will discuss your comments regarding cleanliness and service with our team so they... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question