We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lamp Liter Inn

3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lamp Liter Inn
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    98
    49
    12
    10
See reviews for
76
104
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (275)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Faro, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great spot to plan your visit to national parks such as visalia and yosemite. Great pool to relax. Rooms were cosy, clean an confortable, Would defenetely return here for another stay. staff was very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Modesto, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First time I stayed here I knew I would be back! At check in, you get a room KEY! An actual key! Do not know the last hotel I got a key at! This is just part of this local Inn's charm. For being right off the freeway, this is a calm, quiet place. The rooms can be a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Medford, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In Visalia for a family member wedding. As reception was to be held at the Lamplighter we decided to book a room there. Disappointed there was no air conditioning, only air available was a sliding glass door which was difficult to open and with so many people staying there and so many cars being parked right outside the doors, opening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was looking for a place that was close to my business appointment and easy to access. Found this motel to be very clean, great location and bonus - beautiful grounds. Left my glass sliding doors overlooking the grounds open until late at night just to feel the breeze. Bed was comfortable, great price and was able to park right outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northwood, N.h.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for only 0ne night will stay again in the future. Nice, clean and comfortable. What more does one need. Plenty of parking and a nice little restaurant that serves a great breakfast. The grounds are well kept and the price is reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

A little bit outdated, poor breakfast, nice comfy beds, nice pool, right next to highway and shops. Perfect stop before Sequoia & Kings Parks. Tv all right, clean large room, bathroom. Friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jan l, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Lamp Liter is an older property so to say we are "outdated" may be somewhat correct but not entirely. As you stated our rooms are large and comfortable and our gardens are so special..no property in Visalia can offer the lovely views and huge swimming pool that we have..so I feel what we lack... More 

Hockley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We were looking for a hotel for an overnight stop during a driving tour of California and came upon Visalia by chance. My wife saw the Lamp Liter Inn from the freeway so we stopped by with only a small budget for a room. The hotel looked far too nice to fit our budget but we were very pleasantly surprised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

It looked nice from the road. It was clean and very affordable, I paid $60.00. The first room I had, the tub/shower drain was plugged. The room was dated but clean.They didn't act surprised when I told them about the drain, and promptly offered another room in a different building. The new room was also dated, but clean. The electrical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jan l, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us. I am sorry you experienced problems. You mention the room as being "outdated".. We are currently working on upgrading some rooms but as you stated you paid $60.00 dollars which is a rate for our standard rooms that may have seemed "outdated" to you. Perhaps paying a higher price at a newer hotel... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Stayed here for two nights with my mom for a visit to Sequoia National Park/Forest. This property has been around since the late 60's and feels that way......in a good way. Its not a chain hotel and it has held onto its personality through the years. The room was comfortable. Loved the fact that there are sliding doors going out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gnetta, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our property. Your statements are spot on and I appreciate your opinion. The Lamp Liter is an "older" property and privately owned. We do not claim we are 'state of the art"..we are a very clean and family oriented property. Many folks love our beautiful grounds and family like hospitality! More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I stayed there for two nights but because I was not certain I would end up in Visalia at the end of my second day of sales calls had to re-book and got a different room. The room on my first night was nicer than my second. The bathroom and shower fixtures seemed newer and did not leak. I also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gnetta, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at the Lamp Liter. All the rooms at the Lamp Liter have air conditioning and heater. The colder months we keep our system strictly on heat without the option of air since the temperatures stay consistently in the low 50's during the day and into the mid 30's at night. During the "transitional months" February... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities