We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lamp Liter Inn

Certificate of Excellence
3300 W. Mineral King Ave, Off Highway 198, Visalia, CA 93291
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamp Liter Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lamp Liter Inn
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    98
    48
    12
    10
See reviews for
75
104
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (272)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was looking for a place that was close to my business appointment and easy to access. Found this motel to be very clean, great location and bonus - beautiful grounds. Left my glass sliding doors overlooking the grounds open until late at night just to feel the breeze. Bed was comfortable, great price and was able to park right outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northwood, N.h.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for only 0ne night will stay again in the future. Nice, clean and comfortable. What more does one need. Plenty of parking and a nice little restaurant that serves a great breakfast. The grounds are well kept and the price is reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A little bit outdated, poor breakfast, nice comfy beds, nice pool, right next to highway and shops. Perfect stop before Sequoia & Kings Parks. Tv all right, clean large room, bathroom. Friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jan l, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Lamp Liter is an older property so to say we are "outdated" may be somewhat correct but not entirely. As you stated our rooms are large and comfortable and our gardens are so special..no property in Visalia can offer the lovely views and huge swimming pool that we have..so I feel what we lack... More 

Hockley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We were looking for a hotel for an overnight stop during a driving tour of California and came upon Visalia by chance. My wife saw the Lamp Liter Inn from the freeway so we stopped by with only a small budget for a room. The hotel looked far too nice to fit our budget but we were very pleasantly surprised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

It looked nice from the road. It was clean and very affordable, I paid $60.00. The first room I had, the tub/shower drain was plugged. The room was dated but clean.They didn't act surprised when I told them about the drain, and promptly offered another room in a different building. The new room was also dated, but clean. The electrical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jan l, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us. I am sorry you experienced problems. You mention the room as being "outdated".. We are currently working on upgrading some rooms but as you stated you paid $60.00 dollars which is a rate for our standard rooms that may have seemed "outdated" to you. Perhaps paying a higher price at a newer hotel... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Stayed here for two nights with my mom for a visit to Sequoia National Park/Forest. This property has been around since the late 60's and feels that way......in a good way. Its not a chain hotel and it has held onto its personality through the years. The room was comfortable. Loved the fact that there are sliding doors going out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gnetta, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our property. Your statements are spot on and I appreciate your opinion. The Lamp Liter is an "older" property and privately owned. We do not claim we are 'state of the art"..we are a very clean and family oriented property. Many folks love our beautiful grounds and family like hospitality! More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I stayed there for two nights but because I was not certain I would end up in Visalia at the end of my second day of sales calls had to re-book and got a different room. The room on my first night was nicer than my second. The bathroom and shower fixtures seemed newer and did not leak. I also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gnetta, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at the Lamp Liter. All the rooms at the Lamp Liter have air conditioning and heater. The colder months we keep our system strictly on heat without the option of air since the temperatures stay consistently in the low 50's during the day and into the mid 30's at night. During the "transitional months" February... More 

Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

The hotel was cool and the customer service was great. The down sided was that the rooms were a little outdated. The bathrooms were clean but needed an update and the TV seemed like it was 15 years old. Nice pool deck and decent affordable restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gnetta, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is apparent that you stayed in our "standard" section of the Inn which is normally generated by the price point for travelers. The standard rooms are clean and comfortable and we are working on updating this section of the Inn in the very near future. More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We arrived here around 9pm, after a tiring day touring King's Canyon and Sequoia. Room was basic and a bit dated, but ok. Old style TV, no fridge or microwave. Outside pool which we didn't try, but the gardens looked nice. The hotel restaurant closed just as we arrived, so can't comment on that either, and ended up in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gnetta, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Arriving at 9p.m. you would find our Grille closed in the month of January we close earlier due to a lack of business..in the summer months we stay open until 10 p.m. It is apparent you stayed in one of our standard rooms which is a choice by the guest based upon pricing. We at... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I stayed here while visiting a friend in Visalia this past September and was looking for a nice (but cheap) place to stay. We'd been staying in Motel 6 for the past week and this was the most welcome change. Front desk staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was on the first level with a door opening to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gnetta, Manager at Lamp Liter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! The Lamp Liter is consistently upgrading accommodations and we appreciate your noticing! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question