We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Donner Lake Village

Certificate of Excellence
15695 Donner Pass Road, Truckee, CA 96161
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Donner Lake Village
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Castro Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented one of the Town homes on the Lake. AMAZING view. The place was perfect for a mother and FOUR teenage boys ready for some snowboarding at North Star. I had the upstairs all to myself. Super comfortable bed. The boys had the downstairs and loved it. The kitchen was fully equipped. I have not complaints. However, the only... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shellie T
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I feel sorry about giving this a one-star, because all the staff we interacted with were exceptionally nice and helpful. But the facility is literally a dump. Most of the electrical outlets in our room did not work. The overhead light flicked on and off. The bed made us sore. It was shockingly bad. I'm not a grump - I've... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MoAnderson
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your complements about our staff in your review. They work hard to take care of all our guest's needs. We were sorry to read the rest of your comments about your room and wish that you had contacted us during your stay to fix the lighting issues. We are in the process of room and furniture upgrades... More 

San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

The location is nice but the hotel lacks any character. With all the other charming hotels in Tahoe and air bnb, I won't choose Donner Lake Village again unless everything else is booked. Be wary of making a reservation here if there is any chance at all you might not be able to keep it - their 'policy' is to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a poor customer service experience at Donner Lake Village. While we understand that plans change and sympathize with your frustration, our 7 day cancellation policy is communicated clearly throughout the reservation and confirmation process. When plans do change, we do make efforts to rebook the room however in this case, during the holiday season and... More 

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

I went skiing and needed a last minute hotel, so I booked a room at Donner Lake Village via hotels.com and got an excellent rate. The rooms were clean and had plenty of space for 2 or 3 people (1 Queen bed and a sofa-bed) and were setup for a ski audience. A small kitchenette allows you to make your... More 

Helpful?
Thank ThomasHome
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

I went with my family just a few days ago. It was snowing outside, and the view of the lake was stunning. The service was nice; we said we needed something, they gave it to us by the end of the day. Also, the room had heating, so everyone stayed warm throughout the night.

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Stayed here for one night on a road trip around America. The location is amazing, in the middle of the forest on a lake, the scenery is stunning! We checked in very late at night and had to use an outdoor phone to gain access to the building - would have been better to have someone on a desk or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura_S_D_11
Auburn, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Very beautiful property and the view has spectacular. I liked that they had water toys(paddle boards, kayaking...) to rent on sight. We got a value, but the unit we stayed in was very dated. They upgrade from furniture to window panes. At least change out the drapery to room darkening. Other than that is was a great place to stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank LaVonne H
Tuolumne City, California, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here and liked it allot, clean room, good kitchen, comfy bed, loved the couch to relax on, i have 0 complaints, and we enjoyed our stay, wish there was a hot tub but oh well, the lake view was great, the staff were very nice and helpful

Helpful?
Thank UNCLEJARHEAD
DTGPM, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your Donner Lake Village review and thank you for complimenting the staff and wonderful Donner Lake. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Dan Tester Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

The location is wonderful but it's worn down. Looks like it was built in the 60s and never done any work to it. We got the lake view sure you can see the lake from the balcony. The carpet is older I didn't take off my shoes. We tried to checkout a day early and they said no refunds. I... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher M
DTGPM, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Donner Lake Village's lake front location is certainly one of the attributes our guests enjoy. There are a variety of different views at the property, and I hope your choice was properly explained to you. We are in the process of replacing several elements of the unit interiors at the Property. Judging by the picture... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

I brought my boys up for Mother's Day weekend. It was so quiet and peaceful. The hotel is right on the lake. It was beautiful. I wish it had a pool, hot tub and a lounge to hang out in and watch the beautiful views. The staff is incredibly kind and always willing to help. I absolutely loved them! The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MyTahoe13
DTGPM, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your time at Donner Lake Village. It really is a beautiful property, and our staff take pride in providing excellent service. Our only wish is that you would have called us to take care of the noisy neighbors! We are always willing to speak with neighbors who are being unnecessarily loud. We hope you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#10 of 14 in Truckee
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
9.4 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
9.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay