We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Torrance

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3673 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Torrance
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Torrance
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013
Galynn P Waimanalo
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    87
    113
    81
    17
    24
See reviews for
135
65
36
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (322)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Torrance
See the most recent reviews
Antelope Acres
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is about my 5th stay here in the last couple years! I always ask for 2 things, an early check in and a room nearer the front of the property ( tried to explain to the staff that while staying there by myself I would feel safer up front) there is NEVER a room available toward the front. Since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review

Dear Brteyes1: I was the manager you spoke during your check-in. I'm saddened to see you skewed the angle of the situation, but I appreciate the opportunity to respond. You requested an early check-in, but like in many hotels, early check-ins are not guaranteed. Though we can never fully guarantee an early check-in, when we are able, we are more... More 

Pittsburgh
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

fine ok not great but fine for the money I would stay there again that is all I have to say good bye

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review

Dear Barbara R: Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! I'm glad you found your overall stay enjoyable. Here, at Howard Johnson, we strive to be your "home away from home," with our personalized service, clean rooms, free parking and breakfast. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again very soon. Inessa Udovchenko More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend with my girlfriend.Very conveniently located close to the beach.Upon arrival the receptionist was very friendly and showed good customer service.The room was nice and clean.The shower and bath were excellent, good breakfast and really convenient parking.Great service and charming staff! We obsolutely enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back here again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review

Dear Bryan287: Thank you so much for such a detailed and wonderful review about your stay! We know that you have many choices when it comes to hotels, and we are thrilled to know you chose Howard Johnson. Our location, clean rooms and great staff are the three biggest highlights of our hotel that make us so special. I'm delighted... More 

cambridge nz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed two nights on 21 July 2013. First night 10-20 youths, some booked in partied until 5.30 in the morning between rooms and in the corridors. This was despite two complaints to management. Had to step around mess left in the corridor till late afternoon. While the place was acceptable in relation to cleanleness and breakfast would not recommend on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review

Dear rob l: Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I'm truly sorry to hear that you weren't able to enjoy your stay due to the noise from other guests. Please be assured that we read each and every review, as they give us opportunities to learn and improve our service. Please know your review is... More 

Travelers are raving about these Torrance hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The staff was friendly as usual. The room was cleaned everyday. The only thing was the breakfast room which was not as clean as it was the last time I had been there.The hotel is quiet and the parking lot is large.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review

Dear Cilene303631: Thank you so much for not only writing a review on TripAdvisor but also for staying with us the second time! We always hope every guest has a unique and memorable experience, and I apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding the continental breakfast. Your comments have been discussed with the breakfast attendants. We hope to welcome you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay