We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tahoe Vistana Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
6549 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148 (Formerly Charmey Chalet Resort)
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tahoe Vistana Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We checked in and settled the children with the intention of checking out around 4:30-5am in order to avoid traffic when we left Tahoe. The front desk leaves at 8pm and said they could be contacted using the phone number in the room. The sheet on the bed had a blood stain on it. Around midnight the guests in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank B H
TahoeVistaPR, Public Relations Manager at Tahoe Vistana Inn, responded to this review

Hello BH, Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review of the Tahoe Vistana. We are sorry to hear that you had such a frustrating stay at the Inn. We do our best to ensure that our guests have a great visit in Tahoe and wish that you had brought your concerns to the staff. We... More 

El Sobrante, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

The room was about as basic as could be. Might be okay if you stay here in summer and are out from dawn to bedtime because you wouldn't want to spend down time in the room I rented. It had two, too soft beds, a toilet, shower (rusty metal elements), a small analog TV with digital adaptor, microwave, small fridge,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pam M
Manager Vistana P, Manager at Tahoe Vistana Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience. This unit is the most affordable accommodation offered and it's unfortunate that it did not satisfy your needs. The property is consistently undergoing improvements and your feedback will be taken into consideration. Thanks for staying with us! More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

The room was actually warm - that is the only positive thing I can say. The Internet in the room was non existent. Connection was sometimes possible (after perservering for 30 minutes) but accessing sites or emails not possible had to sit in reception for internet. The hot tub was in a very scabby concrete area, surrounded by an orange,... More 

Helpful?
Thank debmck52
Manager Vistana P, Manager at Tahoe Vistana Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience. In terms of snow removal there is only so much that can be done since the driveways were plowed and salted, as were all the various staircases. This unit is the most affordable accommodation offered and it's unfortunate that it did not satisfy your needs. The property... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We went on a weekend that was snowing so the skiing was great. There was plenty of snow and North Star had all the lifts open. Hotel was adequate for a couple nights of stay to ski, but nothing really remarkable. I definitely stay here again for the skiing and convenience, but not the amenities.

Helpful?
Thank Angelina K
Manager Vistana P, Manager at Tahoe Vistana Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for staying with us this holiday season! Although we would have wanted it have been a remarkable stay, we appreciate your review nonetheless. Please try out the Squirrel House next time around! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon! More 

Trondheim, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

Was there during fall on a road trip with a buddie. We got a sweet room that had recently been renovated for half price. They had a pool and jacuzzi, but the pool is only open during the summer. Show was pretty decent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 644thorb
Manager Vistana P, Front Office Manager at Tahoe Vistana Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your business and hope that you'll visit again next time your on the North Shore! More 

Livermore, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

We made plans to stay here mostly because everything around was booked up. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. Although the hotel is older, it has been remodeled and it is is a great location (right across the street from the lake!). There were some "quirky" things with the room and the heat controls were broken but we were still... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mel S
Manager Vistana P, Front Office Manager at Tahoe Vistana Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We do apologize that the heater controls were problematic. This should have been addressed prior to your checking in. Thank you for being so understanding. It's great to hear that our staff made you feel welcomed and we would love to have you again! More 

Merced, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

Positive Notes: Desk staff were very friendly and welcoming. Check-in and -out were a breeze. While not fancy, the room WAS clean. Room came with a nice sized fridge and a microwave - wish I had known that prior to coming. They also have BBQ's just outside the door - again, I was unaware of that fact - so it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Leenie1965
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

I stayed her over the the weekend for a wedding nearby and was very disappointed in the difference between the reviews/description and the reality of what the hotel was like. All over the hotel it is obvious the hotel owners don't care much about the guest experience. CONS 1. The bed- A thin mattress on top of of a flat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
Manager Vistana P, Front Office Manager at Tahoe Vistana Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. As it so happens the King mattress is new as is the custom crafted platform bed frame, so the level of comfort would depend on the individual. It is unacceptable that the unit was not properly cleaned. This information should have been shared with staff in a relevant... More 

George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Three of us stayed for several nights in room 139, the room featured on their website. In an area full of tired old motels, they are clearly focussed on raising the standard. Also very much of note was the desire to serve the guests of Ashley and her team. Far above the typical standard of motel style accommodations. Very happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank TomCayman
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

My review is colored by the fact that we booked an upstairs room with a lakeview but were given a downstairs room with peeak-a-boo views of the lake. This was in the Squirrel building at the very back of the property. Also, the website states there is beach access across the street; however, a new owner at that property states... More 

Helpful?
Thank cindyathome
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
21.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#3 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#4 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay