We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pepper Tree Inn

2.0 of 5 645 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pepper Tree Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pepper Tree Inn
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    27
    11
    15
See reviews for
34
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
There are newer reviews for Pepper Tree Inn
See the most recent reviews
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

My fiance & I selected this hotel due to the proximity to Squaw and Alpine meadow ski ressort. (about 5-10 min drive). We wanted to travel on a cheap budget whitout sacrifying comfort. +Hotel Location: Very well located: accross from a ski shop - so that you can have your skis waxed overnight ($20) or rent a whole ski equipment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PTI-Managers, General Manager at Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear "Tweety"- Thank you for your honest evaluation. We are doing all we can to improve our guests "stay-experience." It is because of people like you who take the time to tell us what we are doing- "right & wrong" - that we can continue to improve our service. Thank you SO Much- Lee & Marika Cherry- Inn Keepers More

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Our first time staying in Tahoe City was made very pleasant by the Pepper Tree Inn staff. We originally called to check their availability since I didn't know if I could make it over the weekend because of work. The owner assured me that if I had to cancel last minute we wouldn't have to pay the cancellation fee. Luckily,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PTI-Managers, General Manager at Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review

Hello "Great Advice"- We deeply appreciate that you took time to share your experience with TripAdvisor and wish to Thank You for the kind words. As the new Managers of the Pepper Tree Inn, we are doing everything in our power to make every guest feel a warm welcome, see a pleasant smile, give helpful advice, and offer the best... More

San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Two night stay. Very friendly, helpful staff, easy, timely check in on MLK ski weekend. Room was clean if very dated -lousy TV for example- and the included breakfast was so so at best. On the other hand, room was clean, bed comfortable and it wasn't too loud. I would stay here again if I had to, but $150/night pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PTI-Managers, General Manager at Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear "Nice Stay" We wish to Thank You for your kind & honest review of the Pepper Tree Inn. As the New Managers, Marika and I are doing everything possible to insure that our guests enjoy their "stay-experience" to the MAX. We try to remain competitive in the Lake Tahoe area and are constantly striving to improve our guests experience.... More

San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

The bed was so uncomfortable we couldn't sleep, hard as the floor, unventilated rooms, no airconditioning, for $155 for a queen "handicapped" room. For $120 the same night our friends stayed in a 5 star room in Squaw Valley. Terrible and rude service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PTI-Managers, General Manager at Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review

To: "Uncomfortable bed, rude staff, overpriced" - To Mary- We deeply regret you had an unpleasant experience. We are so sorry you did not bring these matters to our attention when you checked out, or before. These were the "Holiday Weekend" prices. We gave you the only room we had available (after we had closed). Had you brought your dis-satisfaction... More

Oakland, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

This place is ugly, poorly ventilated, loud, musty, basically uncared for... seemingly collecting rent until the place falls down and it's getting close. Embarrassing and surprising the city has not put pressure on the owners to correct obvious defects inside and out. The lake IS across the street but even that beauty just wasn't enough reason to stay. We could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PTI-Managers, Manager at Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review

To "Sorry- No" - Had you brought your unpleasant experience to the attention of the management and/or Staff, we would have offered you a free upgrade to a room, more to your liking (a Deluxe or Superior) or we would have gladly refunded the price of your stay. If you would be kind enough to write me personally at the... More

Fernley, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

What a deal and great hospitality!! My wife and I live in Reno and often go to the lake for weekends. This is such a great little find that I almost hesitate to write the review... (Our little secret) From the moment that we walked in the office door we were greated with big smiles and the most graceous managers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Came here after only staying at Cal Neva Resort for only one night (when I made reservations for 5 nights, read my review on Cal Neva Resort to see what happened there.) The guy at the counter was very nice. The hotel is right across from the lake and a shopping mall. The beds were a little uncomfortable. This hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010 via mobile

We got rooms for $90 so the rooms were worth the price. They are small, but clean and fairly updated. There is some traffic noise, but not bad. It is close to the lake and some good restaraunts. Quiet part of Tahoe. The matress was newer, but a bit firm for my liking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bay Area CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Had an internet ski package deal with a final cost. Learned that tax was not included. Package was advertised as any ski resort, well they only had tickets for one resort. Too bad for us. WiFi did not work. Rudeness of the manager kept me from asking to have it fixed. The Motel was practically empty, I booked the 7th... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MD, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

I stayed here while skiing in the Tahoe area. I have no complaints about this hotel. The rooms were clean and adequate in size. It was nice to have a fridge in the room. Breakfast was good and had a nice variety of items. And the view of the lake really is a nice bonus. The hotel is also walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 645 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pepper Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Hotel Tahoe City
Pepper Tree Motel

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay