We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High Country Inn

Certificate of Excellence
3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
High Country Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    61
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
57
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We needed a room for 6 at approximately 1 am. The front desk clerk (very nice guy) gave us their family room that easily slept the 6 of us at very reasonable rate! The room was in great shape! We got a late start the next day and didn't get to breakfast until a few minutes before it was closing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the outside, this hotel looks like really nice apartment homes. They are nicely appointed, very clean, comfortable and quiet. The room we rented was a two queen and it was huge, the bathroom was really large as well. Breakfast (when we got there at around 8) consisted of oatmeal, fruit and/or a waffle... so that kinda sucked.... maybe we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Victorianna_P... Gosh, we have sausage and biscuits along with all the other items you mention; sorry you didn't see those! That said, we really appreciate the great TripAdvisor review for our High Country Inn and for adding us to your cache of comments. We wish you blessings and travel mercies wherever you travel and hope we have the pleasure... More 

Petaluma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent one night here on an overnight motorcycle trip. I had a queen room that was clean and convenient to the parking lot and pool. The staff was friendly and helpful with dinner suggestions. There is a restaurant across the parking lot. I would rate it as fair. It was primarily pizza, but they had sandwiches, salad and wings.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Zsnugz! Thanks for the TripAdvisor review and positive comments about our Hotel. WiFi is something we continually harangue our provider (ISP) to bring more bandwidth to our area. We actually upgraded late last year and have the fastest speed they offer. We know that it will improve shortly - at least we're more than twice as fast as we... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No question this is the best place to stay in Susanville. We stayed here before picking up our son from sleep away camp nearby. The rooms are clean & spacious, everything is relatively new, the staff is nice, and as far as I can tell it's the only hotel in town that has interior hallways (added safety). I would request... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Maria B. Thanks so much for taking a moment to share your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate our guests sharing the good news of a clean, comfortable and friendly stay. Your profile doesn't say from where you came, but we wish you happy trails and goodness until we see you again. :-) More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
233 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On our way from Lassen Volcanic Park to Reno we stayed for one night and had a great stay. The rooms are big so are the bathrooms. The one we had was with view to the mountains. The notice from the road wasn't to hear at all. Breakfast was fine, but without bread with cereals which we prefer. The service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Irene H.... Thanks for the great TripAdvisor review today! We noticed that you've amassed quite a travel resume from Copenhagen and we're honored to be among your favorite places. The Lassen Park is an amazing place to visit and we hope your time here in Northeast California was rewarding and uplifting. Safe travels to you and your family as... More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Usually, when I book on a website, there is a variety of rates to choose from. Not on this website. There is only one, and it doesn't look bad for what you get (clean room, nice people, breakfast, wifi)---$92 for a single queen with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker. But then it turns out that the AAA rate is lower, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, sockmunky. Sorry for the rate confusion with booking through our website. We usually have purview to adjust rates before a guest checks in; however, once checked in, we can not adjust the rate. In the future, please let us know in advance if you qualify for discount programs not shown on the booking section of our website. We are... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wanting a clean,inexpensive,comfortable stay on our way back home from Monument Valley Utah. We achieved this at High Country Inn. Plus we had a wonderful breakfast that included: waffles,eggs,hot and cold cereals,toast,yogurt,pastries,coffee and juice. Did our best to try it all :-). Staff was wonderful,even though we arrived after midnight and slept in our hostess at breakfast let us enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Howdy, lindasveggies! Thanks for letting your recent visit to the High Country Inn be the one to prompt you to writing your first TripAdvisor review. We rely on guests to share their experiences with us so others will know we're worth the stop. Nothing says "Job well done" better than someone who has experienced us first-hand. Your profile didn't mention... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We were overnighting at Susanville on our way up to Oregon from Yosemite (as we were on holiday, we were avoiding the interstates as much as possible). I certainly wouldn't pick the town as a holiday destination!... but the High Country Inn is a good no-nonsense motel that does the job! The room was a good size with a comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, aspdav2015. Thank you for visiting us during your holiday in the States. We appreciate our visitors from the UK as well as you taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Sounds as though we were just a stopping off point on a very long journey; however, we'd love to have you back to explore our... More 

Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

There are plenty of options in susanville that are less expensive but not as nice. We decided to stop over here and all the standard rooms were taken. We were offered a jacuzzi suite so we took it. The suite had two very large rooms with a king sized bed. The jacuzzi was really just a tub with jets in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Ray. Thanks for the great send-up to TripAdvisor! You being a seasoned traveler certainly frames your review from a very qualified stance. We are pleased to have passed muster under your watch. We hope to see you again when you travel to Susanville from Minden, Nevada. Until we do, safe travels be yours always. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Beautiful Inn...Lovely Room for the price...Cute and Quaint BUT... VERY NOISY. A few notes before the review: 1. Dont stay next to the Vending Machine or you will be woken all night to the folks who have to EAT Junk Food at 3am....munchies? Crack Heads? I dont know who needs sugar all night but you will find those folks at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Menozz. Just read your review and, goodness, we sure do apologize that our up-down communication policies, from staff to management, seemed to stall over the course of your stay. First, let me assure you, we don't have, nor tolerate, any type of drug usage on our property; henceforth, you never need to equate another guest's late-night eating habits to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
#4 of 10 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
1.0 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#5 of 10 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
2.1 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#3 of 10 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay