We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High Country Inn

Certificate of Excellence
3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
High Country Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
High Country Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    59
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
56
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Usually, when I book on a website, there is a variety of rates to choose from. Not on this website. There is only one, and it doesn't look bad for what you get (clean room, nice people, breakfast, wifi)---$92 for a single queen with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker. But then it turns out that the AAA rate is lower, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, sockmunky. Sorry for the rate confusion with booking through our website. We usually have purview to adjust rates before a guest checks in; however, once checked in, we can not adjust the rate. In the future, please let us know in advance if you qualify for discount programs not shown on the booking section of our website. We are... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wanting a clean,inexpensive,comfortable stay on our way back home from Monument Valley Utah. We achieved this at High Country Inn. Plus we had a wonderful breakfast that included: waffles,eggs,hot and cold cereals,toast,yogurt,pastries,coffee and juice. Did our best to try it all :-). Staff was wonderful,even though we arrived after midnight and slept in our hostess at breakfast let us enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Howdy, lindasveggies! Thanks for letting your recent visit to the High Country Inn be the one to prompt you to writing your first TripAdvisor review. We rely on guests to share their experiences with us so others will know we're worth the stop. Nothing says "Job well done" better than someone who has experienced us first-hand. Your profile didn't mention... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were overnighting at Susanville on our way up to Oregon from Yosemite (as we were on holiday, we were avoiding the interstates as much as possible). I certainly wouldn't pick the town as a holiday destination!... but the High Country Inn is a good no-nonsense motel that does the job! The room was a good size with a comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, aspdav2015. Thank you for visiting us during your holiday in the States. We appreciate our visitors from the UK as well as you taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Sounds as though we were just a stopping off point on a very long journey; however, we'd love to have you back to explore our... More 

Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are plenty of options in susanville that are less expensive but not as nice. We decided to stop over here and all the standard rooms were taken. We were offered a jacuzzi suite so we took it. The suite had two very large rooms with a king sized bed. The jacuzzi was really just a tub with jets in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Ray. Thanks for the great send-up to TripAdvisor! You being a seasoned traveler certainly frames your review from a very qualified stance. We are pleased to have passed muster under your watch. We hope to see you again when you travel to Susanville from Minden, Nevada. Until we do, safe travels be yours always. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful Inn...Lovely Room for the price...Cute and Quaint BUT... VERY NOISY. A few notes before the review: 1. Dont stay next to the Vending Machine or you will be woken all night to the folks who have to EAT Junk Food at 3am....munchies? Crack Heads? I dont know who needs sugar all night but you will find those folks at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Menozz. Just read your review and, goodness, we sure do apologize that our up-down communication policies, from staff to management, seemed to stall over the course of your stay. First, let me assure you, we don't have, nor tolerate, any type of drug usage on our property; henceforth, you never need to equate another guest's late-night eating habits to... More 

California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good place to stay in Susanville. Doors to each room are inside versus the motels in the area with outside facing doors. Key cards to enter the hallways which made it feel safer. Large clean rooms. Free WiFi. Regular toiletries in the bathroom. I wasn't a fan of the shower head but it got the job done. Bed was comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi, flyawayCA! We appreciate your TripAdvisor review today. It means a lot to us when guests take the time to share their experience with others. After all, it is not important what we think of ourselves; rather, it is what our guests think about us that matters most. You've amassed quite a TripAdvisor travel resume and we are glad to... More 

Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice motel, clean and quiet, despite being an older establishment. I stayed for 3 days and was comfortable. However, I felt that accessibility for mobility impaired patrons had not been adapted very well to today's standards. Handicap parking is sparse considering the number of rooms and handicap ramps are not available at all entrances. I found a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi, gotmyque. Thank you for staying with us and for giving us a review on TripAdvisor. Most folks don't notice all the considerations we made for our guests that need special access. In addition to having 4 ADA rooms (3 - King Beds & 1 - Double Queen Bed) we have a total of six ADA parking spaces; each located... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Impromptu stay in Susanville @ High Country Inn was one of our best decisions ever! Wonderful, clean, spacious place; staff friendly; nice enough hot breakfast. Would beat several "chain" hotels where we have stayed. Our room (comfortable 2Q) was large enough for both of our bicycles to fit without our having to climb anywhere near them to get around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear, SBG32112, What a great review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor world. You can probably tell we take very comment to heart and make every effort to replicate your experience with each guest. We'll look forward to having you back again when you travel our way. Not sure if you knew about the... More 

Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I always stay here when returning for reunions which is quite often. Bill and his staff are wonderful and very thoughtful. I always ask for a room upstairs in the back and this time I had a room that overlooked a small creek. I enjoyed a peaceful and comfortable stay. If you stay, you can easily see why they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Misseastcoast! Your review was wonderfully received and much appreciated! Morgan is our team member you referenced, and we passed along your kudos. We are committed to duplicating your experience and thank you for letting us know we exceeded your expectations on all accounts. We look forward to your return and wish you safe travels until we do! :-) More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

The High Country Inn is conveniently located on the south end of town, across the street from KFC, McDonalds, and Safeway. Prices are a little higher than some of the other motels in the area but inexpensive compared to motels of equal quality in larger towns. Our room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Good complimentary breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Don. We appreciate your honest review of the High Country Inn. Guest comfort and convenience are our nunber one priority and we are glad that your stay with us lived up to that commitment. We look for your return when you come back to Susanville. Until then, peace be yours as you travel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay