We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grand Hotel

865 W El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94086
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Grand Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    42
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
12
2
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is my favourite hotel when I come for business in the neighbourhood. Stayed here several times already. Very nice and spacious rooms. Breakfast is excellent and pool/spa area is very nice. Staff has always been friendly and helpfull. Location is right on El Camino so easy to reach many places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cbono2, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire team at The Grand Hotel, thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit to our hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you for the 5 star ratings on location! Safe journey to Germany! We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future. Warm regards, Claudio Bono General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great location for work. Room was very large a bit outdated but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Price was far below the average in the area. The complimentary happy hour is a nice touch. BUT the food from room service was disgusting. Tried it twice, terrible each time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cbono2, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Following your recent visit here at The Grand Hotel, I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to see you enjoyed our comfortable beds as well as bathroom, weekend prices and happy hour food & cocktails. We regret to learn you did not get to fully enjoy your room... More 

3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was large, bed comfortable, price was right and the location was good. Complimentary happy hour was a bonus. Now the bad...room service was disgusting. Overly spiced small ckicken wing served over instant rice a roni. It was terrible!

Was this review helpful? Yes
cbono2, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the Management team at The Grand, we would like to thank you for completing your review on TripAdvisor. Our hotel prides itself on providing five star service, yet in some cases, mistakes can occur. Rest assure, we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up with our staff to ensure that issues such as... More 

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First things first, I hate when hotels add onto your bill unadvertised 'resort fees'. This one did just that. It was only $20 and I would have booked this hotel even if I would have known about it because it was still good value with the resort fee. However, I hate 'bait and switch'. Be honest with me, do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cbono2, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the Management team at The Grand, we would like to thank you for completing your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for the 5 star service on cleanliness! Please note that the Grand does not charge any resort fees. You booked your reservation through a third party and by reserving through them, you agreed on the resort... More 

Kvissleby, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff is really nice and meets you with a smile. The only real "complaint" is the water in the shower.. They use a water softener which makes the water feel like soap. The rooms are excellent size, TV with plenty of channels. Enough space for over a weeks stay without the feel of being cramped. Easy free parking. Happy hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cbono2, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are so grateful for your feedback! Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor and thank you for the 5 star ratings! We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Claudio Bono General Manager More 

Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My review is based on my most current experience. I have stayed at The Grand several times and raved about it before, but this time I was put into one of the bungalows. I did not like it nearly as well as the hotel rooms. It didn't feel as posh and polished. And I was very disappointed in the breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cbono2, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We regret to learn of the challenges you experienced following your recent visit to our Villa. At The Grand, we continuously strive to offer exceptional levels of service, which in this case it appears we have failed to deliver. Please note that Breakfast has not changed with daily made to order eggs as well as... More 

Boulder
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So I arrived at the hotel around midnight after my flight was delayed. The lobby is beautiful and the woman checking me in was friendly and helpful. My room however was not great. I was put in one of the bungalows outside the main building. I would recommend not staying in one of these. Although spacious and kind of like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cbono2, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the Management team at The Grand, we would like to thank you for completing your review on TripAdvisor. Our hotel prides itself on providing five star service, yet in some cases, errors can occur. Rest assure, we took immediate action and made sure to replace the broken curtain. An internal follow up with our staff was made... More 

Milan, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place looks nice on the outside. The inside is old and outdated. Feels more like a Red Roof Inn. I stayed at one of the Suites in the back. The curtains inside were old. The TV in the sitting area was in an odd spot

Was this review helpful? Yes
cbono2, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are so grateful for your feedback, and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy to inform you that The Grand is undergoing a $3 million dollars refurbishment, project will complete by July 2016. All rooms will be redone, including our Villas. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards,... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

I want to give a big shout out to Raul, Chris, Adrian, Matt, and the rest of the gang in Guest Services at the Grand Hotel. They went above and beyond in helping me pull off a surprise for my wife from 3000 miles away while she was out in California for a business trip. Their helpfulness, thoughtfulness, and patience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cbono2, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time, and for recognizing our mission to provide the best service and pampering experience to each of our guests. We are very pleased to learn that our team provided you with exceptional service. We hope you will stay with us soon, at The Grand! Warm regards, Claudio Bono General Manager More 

Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times. The convenience of the villas (kitchenette) is enhanced by the closeness of Safeway, Sprouts and Trader Joes. The hotel facilities need an upgrade. The 3rd floor hallway needs stretching to get rid of a dangerous lifting of the carpet. The TVs in the villas are ancient analog and the flat screens... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cbono2, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Following your recent visit here at The Grand, I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to inform you that The Grand is undergoing a $3 million dollar refurbishment. All carpets and rooms will be changed (hallways included), TV's and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.6 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#2 of 35 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Sunnyvale Mountain View
1.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
#4 of 35 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay