We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hadsten House

3.5 of 5 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hadsten House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hadsten House
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    235
    62
    22
    15
See reviews for
104
396
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (695)
  • Mar-May only
    (140)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (209)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (192)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (154)
All months
Southern California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We only stayed one night at Hadsten house, over a Saturday and it was perfect. We did some wine tasting during the day, checked in around 4:30pm and strolled Solvang from there. Their location was great being on the end of town so you could do a giant loop of Solvang stopping at the convenience store next door if needed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Custer, South Dakota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice room with Danish flair couch and comfortable bed good free breakfast including fresh fruit eggs toast cereal juice and coffee, ice not handy unless you get a room by the street. Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed this hotel, very clean and nice. We found the location to be perfect if you want to walk around Solvang because it is just on the far side of all the shops, so you can make a walking loop around town and not have to back track a bunch to get back the your room. The included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Temecula, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a business trip and since my Queen is Danish, decided to head over to Solvang for the night. The rooms are fantastic, not to small, not to big but just right. Great place to stay. The restaurant is also very tasty, the ribeye was perfectly cooked and seasoned just right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belmont
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was stay #6 High's: consistency/The Bedding-linens xlnt. Covered& heated main pool = can swim,even in heat/hot sun. The Spa area is open to the sun and moon and has nice fireplaces. Breakfast is pleasant without wait(not gourmet or "farm-to-table" but adequate) Hotel location is "walking close" to improved/improving culinary & wine taste scene. The plentiful Bicycle routes are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a pleasant find. We enjoyed our stay. The breakfast (included) was more - way more - than we expected. The pool is nice, the hot tub too. It was clean, updated, and fairly close to downtown. The pool is indoors, but we, frankly didn't use it. We were more attracted to the jacuzzi area which is enclosed, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fillmore, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wanted to give this hotel a good review, I really did. But unfortunately, I can't do that. The pictures gave the allure of a nice, upscale room when in reality, the rooms are motel rooms. The fireplace is just a light in a fireplace facade. The art on the wall was creepy, we had to put a hand towel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelgmSolvang, Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this review

I am very sorry you still are so unhappy with our service here. As I told you in the one conversation we had, yes there was an error made the night you had dinner, but according to all our paperwork everything was corrected properly on our end and sent to the credit card companies in a timely manner for processing.... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I are on our last night of a ten night stay at Hadsten House in Solvang. Some of the previous reviews have suggested that Hadsten House (HH) is really just a motel and is overpriced, while others have suggested that HH is a luxury hotel. We feel there is some truth to both opinions. Hadsten House is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Channel Islands Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

My husband and I travel a lot. Will definitely stay here again. The room was huge, vey upscale, had everything...fireplace, refrigerator, sofa and extremely comfortable king size bed with fabulous down comforter. The breakfast was wonderful...a complete hot breakfast in their beautiful restaurant. Keith & Arlene

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelgmSolvang, Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope you get back to visit us again soon! More 

Melbourne Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Great hotel with clean, nicely decorated rooms and a wonderful free, full breakfast that included everything you could want. Stayed there twice when visiting wine country - rooms are very comfortable and in a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#2 Business Hotel in Solvang

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Room/suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay