We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Solvang B&Bs / inns

Solvang Gardens

293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Beautiful English Gardens
Save Saved
You added Solvang Gardens to your Saves list
Solvang Gardens
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
84%
Ranked #4 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
10071stevep Orange, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (149)
  • Photos (53)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    51
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Solvang Gardens has definitely improved since our last stay three years ago. Most notably the garden area is much more inviting with comfortable sitting areas and a cleaner, neater look. We had a very comfortable king room in the front and others in our party had queen rooms which adjoined the garden. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie V, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you chose to come back and stay with us and were able to enjoy our beautiful new gardens. We have been working diligently on several property enhancements and it's nice to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We look forward to seeing you again! More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last weekend and it was a beautiful hotel. The room was nicely decorated but there were little quirks with the doors opening into each other. The room had a nice sitting area with a mini kitchenette. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was off of the busy area but still a close walk to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie V, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that our staff took good care of you during your visit as we always strive to exceed our guests expectations in every way possible. It seems as though you stayed in our only king suites that does have an inner connecting door to another king suite. This is a... More

Saratoga, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved this hotel as it had very nice garden and was very clean and unique. We had our own parking space by our room so that was nice. We were able to walk to the small town for eating and shopping. We liked this place because it is different from all the regular hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie V, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I agree that we do have a unique property which sets us apart from the others here in Solvang especially with our beautiful english gardens. We look forward to seeing you again! More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just finished a one-night stay in room 21 as a couple but will definitely come back with our kid. The rooms are inexpensive, clean, charming, and we even have an extra "sitting" room we aren't using which could totally fit our child or a friend. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie V, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be returning with the rest of your family. We hope to see you soon. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The room was a bit on the small side, trying to look more luxurious than it was.(This is a converted motel, so no inherent luxury here.) The bathroom was very nice, and not at all small and with a marble walk-in shower. But the best part was the garden, cooler and shaded which was very helpful in this inland town.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie V, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in one of our garden queen rooms. The patio door opens to our private back English Garden and is always a nice welcome. We have just recently done an extensive renovation of our front and back gardens and it is nice to hear the feedback... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I love Solvang so I go often. I like trying different hotels. I really thought I would love to stay here. Well I was given a room right behind the front office. I was very disapointed. Besides the room was so so small like staying in a converted garage aircond was loud. Front desk person (owner) laughed oh I'm parked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie V, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We have had a change in management as well as several property improvements since your visit last year and would love to have you reconsider coming back to stay with us again. You mentioned that you are in Solvang often and with that being said, we hope you will give... More

Pemberton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The brochure and website photos looked good and so my wife and I booked and stayed here in November 2012. But we found the rooms small and grossly overpriced. We were upgraded to a 'deluxe suite' which had dirty carpets, part of an extension plug hanging out of an electrical outlet, a broken toilet seat and a strange mechanical hum... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie V, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations during your last visit. I am pleased to announce that we have made several property improvements to our rooms and our gardens since you have stayed with us last. We would welcome the opportunity for you to consider coming... More

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed last year & enjoyed the beautiful garden. This year we got the larger king bougainvillea suite. Our room had a little electric fireplace that we didn't use for heat but enjoyed the ambiance of the look of a lit fire without the heat. It really was lovely. Super deep bathtub for a bathers paradise. But again the gardens... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie V, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience in one of our king suites as they do offer some nice amenities. I am glad that you had a chance to enjoy our beautiful new gardens as we are just completing an entire makeover of all... More

Stillwater
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The property is well located and out of the main drag hustle and bustle. Our room was very large and well appointed and comfortable. Although the property is older than many Solvang comparables everything worked including the large fireplace in the room. Because there was some exterior renovation work underway we were not able to take advantage of their spacious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Debbie V, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your kind review and I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I agree that we are located in a great spot just down the street from the busy crowds in Solvang yet close enough to be only a five minute walk to all of the restaurants, shops... More

Southern Calif.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We came in to town mid-afternoon and needed a place to stay for one night. The Solvang Gardens are off the main road, but an easy walk to the downtown area. The staff at the SG were super friendly and helpful. We decided on a room in the back, off the road, as I am a light sleeper. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Solvang Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Solvang Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Gardens

Address: 293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Solvang Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Gardens Hotel Solvang

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Solvang with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boutique country inn with 24 individually decorated rooms. Unique, elegant and comfortable property. Secluded in a quiet residential area in the heart of Solvang. At walking distance to restaurants, shops and wine tasting rooms.In the wine country of Santa Ynez, Santa Barbara County. The property is within beautiful gardens, fruit trees and fountains. A true escape from the hustle of big cities. Rooms vary in sizes, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes and beautiful marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Solvang Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer