We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Solvang

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Solvang
See the most recent reviews
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I recently had a big birthday and chose to celebrate with in Santa Ynez. My husband and I are big Pinot and love going wine tasting. Solvang is relatively close to us therefore we go every couple of months for a wine weekend with our friends. When we go we always stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Solvang. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wirral13
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear wirral13, Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought of our hotel. We really do appreciate it! We are glad you always enjoy your time in Solvang and feel that our rooms are comfortable and clean! Please do give me a call when you decide to schedule another trip to the Valley, as there is... More 

Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is fine for a short stay. Room was clean and comfortable and room enough to move around. There was no cover on the air vent, and we were a little uncomfortable about particles blowing out of the unit. The halls and room had a peculiar smell. It was nice to have a micro wave and refrigerator; however the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana B
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Diana B, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and felt that our spacious rooms were clean and comfortable. I did take note of your comments about the air vents not having covers or that you had no towels at your arrival. We take these... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We came to the Santa Ynez Valley for a quick getaway wine tasting trip. The Holiday Inn Express had the most reasonable rate for the weekened we went, and I liked that breakfast was included. Upon checking in, we noticed that our roon was directly next to a very large bachelorette party where it seemed 6+ people were staying in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank turtle9012
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Turtle9012, Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel and the staff! We pride ourselves in making sure each guest is comfortable and taken care of. I believe that from your response we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Solvang. More 

Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Short two night stay but loved it! Location: Amazing - 2 minute walk to tasting rooms and brewery. Pool and hot tub: Spotless - not even a leaf in the pool or a spec of dirt, very impressive! Heated pool was warm enough to swim at night - swam both nights in February. Room: Large, extremely clean, comfy bed, big... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RealTraveler111
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear RealTraveller111, Thank you very much for your amazing review of our hotel! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and our heated swimming pool and jacuzzi. Thank you also for recognizing the many amenities in our room. Hopefully we will be your destination the next time you travel to Solvang. More 

SoCal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is right on the main street in Solvang and you can easily walk anywhere to enjoy all of the fantastic bakeries, restaurants and wine tasting rooms. This is a great option for wine tasting, the wineries have storefronts and you don't have to worry about getting back in your car. The hotel itself is interesting, it would be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BizTravellers
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear BizTravellers, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We are happy you and your partner were able to enjoy our hotel and the location. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area. Thank you, Lisa... More 

Los Altos Ca.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

In the area for a memorial service and was very pleased with all aspects of our one day stay. Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, and the room was clean and met all our needs. An added bonus was the extensive breakfast buffet. It had everything one would need to fuel up for the day ahead. I would not hesitate... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BillyrayLosAltosCa_
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear BillyRayLosAltosCa, Thanks for staying with us, and for the excellent review. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again. Thank you! Lisa Walter More 

California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We attended a school event in Santa Ynez. This hotel was very close to our destination. It's located in a safe area. Many people can be seen walking. The streets are lined with trees strung with Christmas lights (very pretty). The room was comfortable and clean. They offered a free hot breakfast. My son ate pancakes. My husband had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Packersfan1990
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Hello Packersfan1990, We appreciate your great review of our hotel and are glad you were able to enjoy our hot complimentary breakfast with your family. We will see you again next time you travel to Solvang. Thank you, Kamesh Nookala More 

newport beach, ca
Level Contributor
204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hotel was clean and fairly efficient. They seem to follow a manual and do not want to differ from it for any reason, for example, we tried to check in ten minutes early and were told that it wasn't check-in time. Nevertheless, it was a comfortable stay, convenient location and we would stay here again if need be.

Helpful?
1 Thank poggy2002
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Hello poggy2002, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel in Solvang. We appreciate the positive feedback and will do our best to exceed your expectations on your next visit. Thank you, Kamesh Nookala More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked a night and paid fully through hotwire, but I still get charged extra with no description on the bill. I called both parties, hotwire and the motel. The answer I got was, the staff was on holiday. To date still not resolved.

Helpful?
2 Thank wsunarko
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear wsunarko, Please do contact me at the hotel directly to solve this issue, if it has not yet been resolved. Kamesh Nookala 805-688-2018 Thank you, More 

Travelers are raving about these Solvang hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was very disappointed in the customer "service" at this hotel. First off, I'll admit it was my mistake - I inadvertently made reservatons at two hotels for the same night. When I arrived at the Holiday Inn in Solvang it was quickly discovered that my reservation was for the night before - PREPAID - $354.00 for two rooms. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Ron R, We are truly sorry that you were dissapointed. Unfortunately your reservation was prepaid, non-cancelable. You have arrived at the hotel on a wrong date. Unfortunately we could not accommodate you with the forfeited deposit. Happy Holidays Kamesh Nookala More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#8 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#4 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay