We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Solvang

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012
CRM13 Los Angeles
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    70
    140
    70
    25
    24
See reviews for
100
132
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (329)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (119)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Solvang
See the most recent reviews
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I am a Priority club member so stay in HIE or one of the family of hotels whenever I travel. This hotel was perhaps a little tired in the decor department but was quite clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room,facing away from the road, was quiet. Breakfast is included and there was quite a good choice of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear CRM13, Thank you for being a Priority Club Member, we appreciate your loyalty and are happy we were able to meet your expectations during your last visit. We appreciate your business. More 

Sun City, California, United States
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
35 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very Nice Holiday Express. Backs up to a small stream out back. It is well kept up & has friendly staff. This hotel has a neat set of rooms with lofts that our daughter loves. The breakfast is good (eggs, bacon, fruits, breads, pancake maker cereal juice etc) They have a nice heated pool & jacuzzi outside. Covered parking with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Christopher W, Thank you for being a loyal Holiday Inn Express guest, we are thrilled that you liked our amenities including the pool and jacuzzi. We appreciate your understanding and encouraging other guests to sign up for Priority Club, which is a great and very unique loyalty program. We appreciate your business. More 

mousemommy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went on a family trip to Solvang early August. My parents stayed at the Holiday inn express and we stayed at an inn just around the city center. We paid $40 more per night for our inn, and were kinda jealous of the room, amenities and breakfast that my parents received during their stay. I am not sure about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear mousemommy, Thank you for recognizing our hotel as one of the best in Solvang. That is exactly how me and my team feel. Next time, please do bring your parents and stay at our hotel. We are always happy to create great memories for our guests. Thank you, More 

Emmendingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel deserves only praise. It is very clean, comfortable and feels brand new. The indian management couple were friendly and helpful. The price for our double-bed room was good and including American breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear BengtHUIm, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are happy to have met your expectations. We are looking forward to have you as our guest in the future. More 

Lakewood, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I arrived at the hotel at 1030. I requested the room be ready for an early check inn. They said try at 1400. I returned at 1445 and it was not ready. Another guest went to check inn at 1450. The lady at the counter was very pleasant with him stating yes sir your room is ready. I waited to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kamesh N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Susan B., Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its... More 

Travelers are raving about these Solvang hotels

Morro Bay, California, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel is on the west side of town, close to everything. The facilities are nice enough but a little dated. the A.C. didn't cool and the fan was loud. Super loud. Needed a lot of help. They talked about updating the a.c. so hope it happens soon. There is a very nice hot breakfast available. They have an instant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamesh N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Johntrak, We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Solvang. We are extremly pleased that you have enjoyed our breakfast. We apologize for the inconvenience the A/C has caused during your stay and we have already fixed the issue. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

After reading reviews we chose this hotel for just one night in Solvang. This is the worst hotel ever. So called suite placed in basement was just terrible. Had to move to another hotel across the street. The worst was the guy working in the lobby at check in. So rude, and was really enoid at us because his family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Cami69, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about the hotel. I am sorry that your review is not a positive one. It is our goal at the hotel for our guest to experience a good customer service and a problem free stay. Our management team has reviewed your comments and will take your feedback very... More 

Burbank, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Holiday Inn Solvang is in a good location it puts you in the heart of the village. The front desk staff was pleasant. The room itself was overpriced, but it was decent. The issue was the air conditioner unit it was not functioning properly, it blew extreme cold air and could not be adjusted, when the unit was turned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Kim H, Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area. More 

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I recently had a business trip to Solvang CA for 2 weeks and made reservations at this hotel for the entire stay. However at the end of week one I became very ill and had to return home. The manager refused to refund any of the money! This is outrageous! Thats over $1000! I have other upcoming business and pleasure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear beverlydc, Thank you for your review. You have chosen Other Travel Agency to make your reservation and paid the Travel Agency for your entire stay. It is unfortunate you had to depart early. It is an industry wide policy not to refund the unused portion of your stay when you make your reservations through a Travel Agency and pay... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is certainly not new (or even recently-renovated), but having stayed in 3 different places in Solvang over the past few years, I can say that it provides the best value for the money. The rooms, while basic, are pretty large--and if you get a balcony, you might get a decent view of the surrounding mountains. Underground parking helps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear jlau327 Thanks for staying with us, and for the great review. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay