We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1400 Del Monte Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    49
    133
    139
    54
    17
See reviews for
146
118
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (392)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (135)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was small and shower area smaller. We had just come from Disneyland and stayed at a resort hotel for 4 nights. This hotel was about 25% more expensive for much less room and less breakfast. But the desk staff was very pleasant and said we got a very good rate for the room (after being quoted over $400... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is a short drive or 45 minute walk from Fishermans wharf and nearer an hour to Cannery road. We walked in one evening and found it quite pleasant along the separate bike and foot path. Hotel rooms are clean and as you would expect. Free wifi and the breakfast was good quality food but in all honesty the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

very clean, LOVED the bed! staff was super friendly and the breakfast was DELICIOUS! i will definitely keep coming back every time i'm in the area for work, or even leisure. although there was minor construction going on, I loved staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice location, under renovations but the great room is finished and very nice. Will be much nicer when renos are done. Rooms are pretty small but clean. Lots of staff bustling around. The wifi was absolutely deplorable and after the first hour or two, we couldn't connect again. Very disappointing when you want to check emails etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us! As you mentioned we are going through a modernization which will make the hotel even better. Including the internet. We are glad that you like the our location and cleanliness of room. We all here at the Holiday Inn express Monterey bay hope to see you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Seaside hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights. We were charged $329 + tax on Sunday night. I guess it is supply and demand and maybe it was busy, but this hotel should not charge 'over inflated prices' for a shoddy room in a hotel that is undergoing renovations. When we booked, we were not told that the gym was closed for renovation either! Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We do appreciate all the feedback we get as it helps us improve our hotel operations. I am sorry that you did not like the older hotel or price. Our rates do fluctuate to the higher range, as to all hotels in the Monterey Bay area during the Monterey Bay car... More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lobby under renovation when i visited; appears as though the rooms were recently renovated. This is a motel-style property with rooms accessible from outside. There is a pond or something with a small path around it next to the property. Seaside is not the scenic part of monterey; this is on the side of a very busy road in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We do appreciate all the feedback we get as it helps us improve our hotel operations. I am sorry that you did not like the older hotel. As you know we are currently remodeling and hope that the hotel will be more to your liking when fully completed! We are currently... More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing else to say but this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in!!! $400 for a compete dump that feels like a prison camp or borstal! What a shame that IHG does this to loyal customers. We now have to try and sleep with the M4 running by the window!! We are English but I have to say that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am truly sorry that you did not like the hotel or price that you paid.. Our prices do go up due to the demand on the Monterey area during Pebble Beach car week that is held one week a year in August. This effects all hotels big... More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not far from Monterrey Bay, however lobby and parts of hotel are under construction. Place is kind of tacky. Air conditioner was very noisy. We made sure we only stayed one night. Staff didn't seem to care much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We all here at the Holiday Inn Express Monterey Bay do appreciate the feedback and I assure you do very much care about our guests! I am sorry you left feeling otherwise! We do have plastic flowers that some guests do not like, We as you are no... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel lobby in renovation this week so it is a little messy in the area. Rooms are decent, but smaller. I think they've done as good a job with this older building as can be done. Rooms are accessed from the outside, not an inside hallway. Breakfast setup was good. This hotel won't be on my list of favorite places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the review! I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel especially the front side.. we hope you had a view of the ocean! The back of the hotel also has a view but it is of the nature reserve/lake. We are actually remodeling now as you know to... More 

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needs a total refurbishment, not just the foyer. Breakfast was a zoo, with poor quality food and drinks. Aweful, would never stay there again. Place is like a prison camp with it's concrete walkways ... yuk

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We do appreciate all the feedback we get as it helps us improve our hotel operations. I am sorry that you did not like our hotel and our breakfast arrangement. We are currently remodeling and hope that the hotel will be more to your liking when fully completed! Feel free to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside
1.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 12 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Unscripted Monterey Bay
Unscripted Monterey Bay
#38 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
2.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay