We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel La Rose

Certificate of Excellence
308 Wilson St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Rose
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel La Rose
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    136
    132
    31
    19
    10
See reviews for
45
164
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (328)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

For a hotel over 100 years old, it met our expectations as we visited the area. Older televisions were probably the biggest drawback. The continental breakfast makes the value worth it. Centrally located in downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review

Dear Derbylover, Thank you for choosing the Hotel La Rose during your visit to Santa Rosa. I am pleased that we met your expectations and hope that we may have the opportunity to host you again. We are currently working on replacing all of our televisions with flatscreen models. Thank you again for your stay and for your review. Best... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Carriage House for two nights when visiting Santa Rosa. The hotel has two buildings - the historic hotel and the Carriage House, which is newer. Parking is in a lot across the street and you need to obtain a parking pass from the front desk to display on your dash board. The hotel is located in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review

Dear Vinturi, Thank you for your recent stay and thanks, too, for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your guest room in our Carriage House. We are in the process of upgrading our televisons to 42" flatscreens, which will make your next visit more enjoyable. Thank you for your detailed description of our neighborhood. Though it is quite... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed a week and was treated with courtesy and warmth in a clean, comfortable, historic hotel. I occupied a King suite in the main building. The bedroom, sitting room and bathroom were immaculate. CableTV, coffee machine and free wifi all excellent. As a lone traveller, I felt safe and cared for. Breakfasts were not haute cuisine but they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review

Dear Oetula-0, thank you for spending a week with us during your recent visit to Santa Rosa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your guest room and the amenities in our historic hotel. I am also pleased that you felt well cared for during your stay, and took advantage of our convenient location. I hope to have the opportunity to... More 

Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very disappointed in our stay at Hotel La Rose. We were in the 'courtyard section' of the hotel and our room was tired/old, MUSTY and dirty. The curtain(s) backing was falling apart, the furniture was very tired (I realize this is a hostoric hotel, but the furniture was simply very worn out), and the the room was dirty.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review

Dear Frank G., Thank you for your recent stay and for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your guest room. There is no excuse for a room that is not properly cleaned. I will share this review with our housekeeping supervisor, so that we will not disappoint future guests. We regularly review our linen and terry inventory,... More 

Copenhagen
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great night here. Hotel La Rose consists of two buildings - the main hotel building and rooms across the small street called the Carriage House. We stayed at the Carriage House. It is a small gated area with flowers and a cute little bubbly fountain. We had a ground floor room with a small little terrace area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review

Dear MissHale, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hotel La Rose. Thank you, as well, for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your guest room in our Carriage House. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our front desk staff and took advantage of our convenient downtown location. I look forward to hosting you... More 

PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just returned from a three night stay at the Hotel La Rose and I have to say I am confused. Before I left I saw a lot of positive reviews for the hotel, but having just returned, I can now say that those reviews were pretty far off. The hotel is older, I get that. They don’t try to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review

Dear Carribtraveller, Thank you for your recent visit and thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our hotel. I am embarrassed by our failure to provide the level of quality you expected and deserved. I only wish that I had had had the opportunity to to speak with you... More 

Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a very old building on the Historic Register and have been renovated inside. The decor reminds you of late 1800's but it is very comfortable. We had a deluxe king suite and requested this because I asked for a very quiet room. We laughed when we were handed an actual key to open the room door.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review

Dear luvtravel88, Thank you for your stay with us and thanks, too, for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your guest room and our complimentary continental breakfast. I am sorry that your were disturbed by the late night sounds from the neighboring business. Thank you for mentioning your experience at check in and your more favorable experience with... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in hotel la rose for one night, we booked it last minute through HotelTonight. The room was very spacious, clean and decorated nicely. The building is beautiful. They could improve the breakfast area, the space is beautiful, but the food is so so and the set up is not matching the rest of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review

Dear Merel W., Thank you for your stay with us and your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your input concerning our complimentary continental breakfast. We will use your comments to help improve this amenitity. I hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Best regards, Jeff Whitehead General Manager More 

Twain Harte
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a room for two night with my husband. Our room was very nice. Area was great for walking around. Local bars, wine bars, eateries, gift stores, antique stores, etc. Nice park across the street. There were a few homeless in the park, our window face it. Did not notice any problems with them. We have difficulty with TV... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review

Dear mtfish, Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel La Rose over the past weekend. I hope that you enjoyed the music festival in Depot Park. I am pleased that you enjoyed your guest room and that you took advantage of our convenient downtown location. There are a number of homeless people that frequent our neighborhood, but we... More 

Spring Creek, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Big cute hotel. It's an adorable boutique hotel next to a great coffee shop and Italian place to eat. The only down is its an hour to Napa. We would stay here again but next time we will stay closer. Also free breakfast!! The coffee shop has good breakfast too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review

Dear Beth E., I am happy that we had the opportunity to host you during your recent visit. Though we are a bit of a distance from Napa, we are well-located for a wealth of activites in Sonoma County. Perhaps you can experience them on your next visit to Santa Rosa and the Hotel La Rose. Thank you for staying... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay