We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Carmel

201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel amenities
Hotel Carmel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
DanielHoogs Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Rate this Hotel

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    153
    166
    105
    94
See reviews for
104
208
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (564)
  • Mar-May only
    (126)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (190)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (156)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The best thing about the hotel is its location, right next to the Santa Monica Promenade. The staff is nice, but not outstanding. But what most surprised me at the hotel, no doubt, was the fact that for two days straight I find cockroaches in the bathroom. In an attempt to compensate me for the incident, they changed my room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. I’m very sorry you encountered cockroaches in the bathroom. That is really not acceptable and I assure you that we have regular professional pest control services as most hotels do. Although, I might not be able to convince you that it is an isolated occurrence, there have not been any TripAdvisor... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best location in Santa Monica! I think that management are aware that the Hotel needs a bit of an upgrade but the location cannot be beaten. (I assume it was built in the 1920s too which I think is pretty cool and quirky) It's close to the pier,shops and great restaurants. The complimentary treats in the morning were cute and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel and posting a review. We are glad that our hotel met your expectations and you enjoyed our great location. Yes, we were built in the 1920s era and we are on the list of historic places in Santa Monica. Safe travels always! More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

PROS Great Location Very comfy beds Cons old rooms, very dated, horrible shower, keep refilling every 10 mins very noisy street traffic Included Breakfast on my booking well a danish and bad coffee PS manager will reply "we never advertise breakfast" well maybe he needs to contact trip adviser as its on there page and last Price Because of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. You obviously did not have a very good experience at our hotel. I apologize for leaving you with a poor impression of our hotel and team. I appreciate you pointing out to me that our TripAdvisor listing stated that we offered a free breakfast. That has been corrected. I understand that you were upset that... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You get what you pay for. During my stay found bugs in the room, and the aircon did not work. When management was informed, they upgraded. Breakfast was dry sweet pastries, and terrible coffee. Elevator broke down on departure day, so had to drag own suitcases down three flights of stairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. I was happy to learn that you were upgraded from a room with some issues. I was sorry to learn the elevator was not working during your departure. Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered. I did want to clarify that we don’t serve a breakfast. We... More 

Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel address was iffy. Small foyer staff were not over friendly. Hotel is old. First room we were given was small pokey and stunk of cigarettes, also toilet was blocked. We complained, after awhile we were given another room. It was a little larger. It looked reasonably clean but didn't feel clean. The motel is very dated, has an unpleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, From your review it is evident that you were not very happy with Hotel Carmel. I’m sorry that was the case. I respect and acknowledge your observations with one exception. We do not advertise or offer a breakfast. We simply have some complimentary coffee and rolls each morning in out lobby. I also wish my team would have... More 

Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here in February 2015 for three nights. The hotel is in a great location in Santa Monica, around the corner from the main shopping street, a few minutes walk to the beach and pier and fantastic restaurants and bus routes for tours. The hotel looks quite nice and clean from the outside and the reception area is small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. I appreciate you mentioning our great location. I’m sorry you encountered some issues with a smell in the hallway. I’m not familiar with the term “cheap shake and vac” so I’m not quite sure what it was that was causing the issue. We do have hairdryers available at the front reception... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in April 2014 on our honeymoon. The hotel is in a great location, close to beach and shops. The hotel is dated and needs updating. We had a number of issues when checking in, the security guard/ valet was extremely helpful though ( we were checking late at night). First room TV didn't work, we were offered straightaway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for staying with us. Congratulations to you both as well. I’m delighted that you were here for such a special occasion. I wish things would have gone a little smoother for you and you didn’t need to be moved twice. I’m very sorry for that and the fact that you considered the hotel dated. I do... More 

Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I picked to stay here based on location and price and i got a great location for a really good price in the area! But this hotel is tired and older. the rooms could use some updates, better lighting etc... the bathroom was small but the shower was outstanding! great water pressure! there is only 1 elevator and its slow.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review of Hotel Carmel. We really appreciate your business and your recognition of our location and great price. We try and market our hotel as a very good hotel with an excellent location and the best room value in Santa Monica. It is fair to say that we could use some better lighting and... More 

Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival to Hotel Carmel the front desk staff member acknowledged that we had requested a wheelchair accessible room for my wife. Upon entering the room we noticed the doorway to the bathroom was too narrow for a wheelchair, there were no safety grab bars on the wall around the toilet or in the shower, no shower chair, and no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m more than embarrassed and disappointed by your experience at Hotel Carmel and I can’t begin make up for all our missteps with an apology but you are certainly deserving of heartfelt and sincere one. First and foremost, the minute the room was not acceptable or workable for you with wheelchair needs, we should have immediately found you... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

During a recent trip to the Los Angeles area I wanted to stay in the Santa Monica area, which was familiar to me. For some reason, all my favorite hotels in the area were sold out. (Found out later it was Oscar weekend.) As a result I tried a hotel at which I had never stayed. The Hotel Carmel name... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. I respect your opinions and was sorry to learn that noise was an issue during your stay. We do provide complimentary disposable earplugs when our guests need them. While I would agree the hotel’s historic state sometimes results in a perception that it is a tired hotel, I would disagree that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighborhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question