We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Santa Monica accommodations

Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

1436 2nd Street, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica to your Saves list
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
76%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Rebecca W Hobart, Australia
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    118
    43
    15
    10
See reviews for
10
22
124
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here in March 2014 for 4 nights in a private room on level 4. The room was big enough for what we needed and was clean. The hostel itself is set up well. Plenty of common areas plus free breakfast in the morning is great! Our key card stopped working of a morning twice but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a week in March 2014. The hostel is a good location from the airport and won't take you long to navigate your way there. A great location for all activities Santa Monica area and only an hour from Venice beach. Getting into downtown LA does take longer so plan ahead if you are heading that way. Stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at HI Santa Monica for 5 nights in March 2014. As a solo traveler, I opted for the 6 bed dorm. The location was the seller - a stones throw from Santa Monica Pier and an awesome base for tours. Easy to find if you're arriving from LAX - blue bus stop only around the corner. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location was stellar ; a walkers dream to area offerings and bus pick-ups. I had reservations for 4 nights which turned into a "moving debacle". First night stay was in female dorm of 6; 404-bed 3,unacceptable to remain as young women already had trashed the floor and had their personal belongings scattered about creating an unsafe walking atmosphere. To be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were so disappointed while staying with us. It's true - we had a valve problem on the fourth floor which made the water in the showers uncomfortable. You'll be pleased to know that the problem has been fixed. You'll also be pleased to know that we are planning on revamping the breakfast soon. Thank you for letting... More

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The location of HI Santa Monica was perfect for my intended purpose -- a solid base camp for my American adventures in Santa Monica, and a departure hub for all forms of activities and social events. Tours, pub crawls and excellent access to 3rd Street Promenade -- an amazing shopping pedestrian strip -- nothing negative could be said about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Location of this hostel was very ideal. Minutes away from Santa Monica Pier and boardwalk and to shopping areas and several restaurants.. Located in a safe area. Never felt unsafe anywhere I walked around in the area. Travel agency attached to hostel to help plan any excursions and options for bike rentals. I stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm. Nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

location is great and at a safe surronding as faI've encounteredr as I could tell. staff were efficient but most of them weren't friendly. I've stayed at a 4 beds doorm room which was very clean ant tight. the shared bathroom was a bit dissapointing because there was no doors only curtains and not enough shelfs, though it was clean.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Really good location, 2 minutes from 3rd street promenade and less than 5 minutes from Santa Monica pier. Hostel is good with the dorm rooms with good beds, lots of room, and personal power sockets and lights. Only slight downside is that there's no bar and you can't bring alcohol inside which detracts from the social aspect a bit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

i stayed in this hotel 3 jan. night and we just slept there. after this stay i had many lesion on my body and i was terrible wounds. i suffered it 10 days. be careful it can really be dangerous. there is something dangerous at beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mainplace, Owner at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

We are so sorry for your experience with bed bugs and all of your suffering. As soon as we knew that your bed had a problem, we called in our pest control company to treat the room and closed the room for several days until we were sure that the problem was eliminated. We hope that you are fully recovered... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I would recommend staying here for the location alone. My husband and I stayed in a private room. It was comfortable, a reasonable size and had a TV. It was a bit noisy due to an air con vent (we think). The shared bathrooms are clean but the showers only have one tap and it is hot, to hot to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Private room(5)
  • Common area(3)
  • Free breakfast(3)

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Address: 1436 2nd Street, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.