We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Certificate of Excellence
1436 2nd Street, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostelling International - Los Angeles\/Santa Monica
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    147
    197
    56
    20
    13
See reviews for
13
32
214
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (433)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (158)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Paid over $50 a night for a terrible bunk in a massive hostel that has no air con (and it's in LA!!!!) and the bedroom feels like it's 100 Fahrenheit. If you get a top bunk, none of the VERY NOISY fans even reach to help relieve the heat. Very poor effort for a HI hostel, I thought that HI... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hostel is in a perfect location to explore Santa Monica, just a couple of blocks from both the sea front and the shops. There are lots of bars and restaurants nearby to choose from and next door is a travel company to plan trips to explore the rest of LA with pick ups from right outside. The hostel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location of this hostel is excellent, right in the middle of Santa Monica. However, for the price the lodging wasn't great. Rooms were hot with no real cooling, the beds were poor even for hostel standards and the showers were normally lukewarm. The WiFi was a joke, tough to get on and extremely slow. Santa Monica has free street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The management at this hostel were very indifferent and rude. The quality of food and services declined from late summer to present. Property--from myself were stolen and the management made no effort to recover it. They were a guitar and cowboy hat. A number of street addicts (hemo and the like) whilst basically of no harm, congregate in front of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a week when I was solo traveller visiting California for the first time on a budget and was pleasantly surprised with this hostel. Very clean, very modern, great food options and when on a tight budget I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mainplace, Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review! We are glad to hear you had a great stay. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had previously stated 2 years ago in a shared room. This stay was in a private room Pros overall the room was decent and clean. Staff are friendly & helpful , breakfast was easy and enjoyable. Location is great for exploring which parking across the road being reasonable Cons t.v didn't work after asking reception 3 times to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mainplace, Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear you had a great stay with us even though there was some issues that needed to be addressed properly. Our staff usually notifies our maintenance department if there are any issues with the rooms. We are sorry to hear your issue with the T.V was not fixed properly. We will notify... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I originally booked this hostel due to its' location and based on that alone it was a good pick. Close to the beach and all the action of Santa Monica. It has 24/7 reception which was handy because I arrived in the early hours of the morning. I had booked two nights accommodation. On arrival I was told that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mainplace, Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are very sorry to hear you had several issues with your stay. Our staff tries their best to accommodate guests according to the number of nights they have reserved. Sometimes we have big large groups that stay with us and they reserve most of our availability and take up most of our room space which... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The common areas are really nice, clean and have AC. But the rooms are old, not at all clean and REALLY hot. Only 1 fan for a room with 6 people and even with the window opened it was 40 degrees celsius inside. The wi-fi is very bad in the rooms! Bathrooms are always crowded and dirty. I made a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mainplace, Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are very sorry to hear you had an unpleasant stay with us. When making a reservation our staff tries their best to accommodate guests special requests, however it is not guaranteed due to availability and check in time. Also our rooms do not come with air conditioning and because it is summer time the rooms... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hostelling International is located just close to santa monica beach. The rooms are clean and comfortable. You have you own light and powerplug and a big lock to store yout stuff. Beakfast is alright. Showers are clean aswell. And you can refill your waterbottle for free. So a very nice place to stay. I would definately do it again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mainplace, Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review! We are happy to hear you had a nice comfortable stay with us. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon! More 

Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel has a great atmosphere and public spaces. It was easy to meet people there and the staff was friendly. Walking distance from the walking street, restaurants, farmers market and Venice beach. Perfect for solo travellers & actually all others also!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#14 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#23 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#6 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighborhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay