We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Santa Monica accommodations

Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

1436 2nd Street, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica to your Saves list
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Elizayne
  • Overview
  • Reviews (288)
  • Photos (79)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    130
    44
    16
    8
See reviews for
11
22
131
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel was in a perfect location, between the beach and the main busy city areas. The rooms were a good size and the hostel put on a good number of different activities to take part in. The downside of this hostel was that there was only 1 bathroom per floor (and they are big floors) and also in my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only stayed one night so can't say I got a proper feel of the hostel. The rooms are clean and tidy with plenty of storage. The bathrooms are separate, could do with an update as they are quite old and the water not hot, and the hair dryers don't work. Wifi works everywhere Staff helpful and friendly You can leave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The location of this hostel is perfect literally one block over from the beach and in the other direction one block over from a street mall. The rooms are tidy with lockers, bathrooms are massive, tidy and easy to use. There is an information centre next door which makes life easy. All of the free tours offered by the hostel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Recife, PE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed there with some friends and liked it very much. Is close to the beach and other nice locations in Santa Monica...Staff is friendly and the place is very clean...check it out....We only stayed for one night but were impress by the place...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gennadi, Greece
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I'm sure this place could be a paradise but... The location is great! The staff is very kind but when a problem occurs... My experience was disappointing because when I faced a problem with a (drunk) guy, in a male dorm with his girlfriend (!), the management failed to fulfill my hopes to solve the problem. The reception gave another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a disappointing stay at the hostel. It sounds like the staff did respond by giving you another room but then it got confusing....did you want to move again after that? We do have a non alcohol policy that is very difficult to enforce. It was unfortunate that someone created such a disturbance by throwing a cigarette... More

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I spent 4 nights at HI Santa Monica and enjoyed my stay overall. I had a slight shock on arrival with the added extras to the price....non HI member and city tax. They were in the small print on Hostel world, but I don't see why at least the city tax couldn't be included or state how much it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I had a great time at HI- Santa Monica. It felt a very safe area to be in, including the streets around always seemed safe. Being so close to the beach was an added bonus, plus being so close to the shopping area (3rd street) Around the Hostel was always clean, and always being checked. It is such a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great, safe central location for housing in the heart of a very popular beach city--Santa Monica, in West Los Angeles. Hostel is modern, spacious, and well maintained with friendly knowledgeable staff. It is within steps of all the excitement of boutique shopping, malls, restaurants, movies, side walk cafés and street performers. Additional location bonus: Hostel is in a great spot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here with a friend and was so impressed with the location. So close to the pier and 3rd st promenade - what more could you want. Stayed in a 10bed dorm with it's own bathroom, which was very handy. I forgot to bring a lock but was able to buy one from reception for a few dollars. Plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in March 2014 for 4 nights in a private room on level 4. The room was big enough for what we needed and was clean. The hostel itself is set up well. Plenty of common areas plus free breakfast in the morning is great! Our key card stopped working of a morning twice but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Private room(5)
  • Free breakfast(3)
  • Common area(3)

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Address: 1436 2nd Street, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
260

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer